The Blessing of Home

“Ah! There is nothing like staying at home for real comfort.” Jane Austen

Oh, the blessing of home! There is no place that I would rather be! However humble our homes are, what a comforting place they can be for us and for our families. Our home should be a place of comfort to us when we are sick, or discouraged, or hurting. Our home should be a place of comfort to us when things are going well. Our home should be a refuge to us, the place that we want to spend our time. How sad that we so often have to “get away” to relax or have a vacation. What special moments have I missed when I have spent my time running around to the stores just to get out? Our best times should be right here in our own homes. One of my goals is to make my home (simply and inexpensively, of course) like what I picture a lovely retreat or bed and breakfast to be like. To make it a place that I just want to cozy up and sip some tea or hot chocolate while enjoying the fire or maybe a good book, or even playing a game or talking with my family. To make it a place where the presence of the Lord is pleased to dwell.

fireplace-2-001.jpg

“There is no place more delightful than one’s own fireside.” Marcus Tullins Cicero

Leave a Reply

