Did you hear His voice today?

quiet-spot-004.jpg“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me” John 10:27 (KJV)

The other night after we went to bed, my husband said to me, “Did you hear His voice today?” Instantly, my thoughts wandered back over the course of my day and I had to wonder if I had really heard His voice. Jesus said, “My sheep hear my voice”. How can I really follow Him in the course of my day if I am not really hearing Him speak to me; if I am not quieting myself down and taking the time to hear from Him. My daughter and I have been singing hymns in the morning before we start our homeschooling and it has been such a blessing to us. Later on I may hear her humming one of the songs that we have sung that day. I love these words from Have Thine Own Way, Lord, by Adelaide A. Pollard:

“Have Thine own way, Lord!

Have Thine own way!

Hold o’er my being absolute sway!

Fill with Thy Spirit till all shall see

Christ only, always, living in me!”

I have been encouraged by these words for myself, that Christ would be seen in my life and in all that I say and do. That it would be Him and not me. But as much as I desire this, it will not just happen. I must come away with Him. I need to find that quiet spot where I can quiet my heart from all of life’s distractions and listen, and hear, and follow Him today…tomorrow…and everyday. I want to seek Him until I find Him.

Have you heard His voice today?

Leave a Reply

