I’m here to do the will of God!

I came across a beautiful blog yesterday. This woman’s home was awesome! It was truly beautiful and in a decorating style that I love. It was warm and welcoming. She had done an excellent job. But it didn’t take me long to realize how quickly my mind can get distracted. I can go from being so thankful and feeling so blessed and content to something totally different in just a matter of seconds, and without even leaving my home! Now, this really had nothing to do with her blog, but it did have all to do with me and my heart! I realized how focused I need to be. I need to remember how the Lord has blessed me so, I need to remember not to compare what I have to others, I need to remember what I am here for…my purpose. Oh, how I need to “turn my eyes upon Jesus” as the song says.

My husband had shared these verses with me recently and I re-read them again this morning.

“Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world — the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions — is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.” I John 2:15-17 (ESV)
Oh, how encouraging and correcting the word of God is! ♥ I am truly thankful for that! I am here to accomplish the will of God with my life!

I do want to be about the will of God. What a blessing it is to be able to decorate our homes and surround ourselves with things that uplift and inspire. Things that will help us in this pursuit. Not only can they be beautiful things, but they can serve as reminders for the things that we feel the Lord has called us and our families to be about. Daily I need encouragement to keep pressing on in this! Here are just a couple of things from my home that are a blessing to me in this way.

october-2007-127.jpgThis small quilt was made by my oldest daughter as a Christmas gift a couple of years ago. She designed it herself and sewed away on it in her bedroom without me even knowing. It was a total surprise and delight to me when I opened it and is for sure one of my all time favorite gifts! ♥ It was even more special to me because she knew what would be meaningful and made something to express that. It is a treasure… an inspiration to me! ♥

october-2007-078.jpgMy husband found this picture many years ago and it spoke to him about a scripture that the Lord had put upon my heart some time before. I wasn’t instantly attracted to the picture but he really wanted it so we purchased it. I can’t tell you how glad I am that we did! I love this print so much and it gives such inspiration and vision! ♥ What a blessing!

Lord, help me to stay focused on you and your will today!

Leave a Reply

