Around the house today

spudniks-001.jpgSputniks (Donuts) — One of our “special occasion” breakfast treats ā™„

It was a busy day yesterday! As dinner was cooking, Abigail and I made up a batch of Sputniks for an evening snack. Bill and I had to take Rachel to her Bible Quiz team practice, and since it is just too far away to drop her off and come back home, we have to spend the evening around the area. I thought it would be nice to have a treat to take along with us. We ended up spending our time at the local library, but it is always nice to have some time out together. And we did have our snack! Didn’t I just post on getting back to more healthy eating?! šŸ™‚ Our oldest daughter, Annaleah, has made these a couple of times recently for her husband and I guess they just sounded good! ā™„

Today the morning will be spent at home with household jobs, homeschooling and baking bread. After lunch Rachel has an orthodontist appointment that will take us out of the house, but after we get back home, I look forward to doing a little sewing. I am going to be making another birthday bag.

birthday-bag-004.jpgThe “birthday bag” is one of our birthday traditions that my husband came up with. One of our favorite things at Christmas is our stockings, so my husband thought it would be fun to have something similar for our birthdays. We went to the fabric store and found this perfect material with balloons and party hats! Annaleah sewed up the bag for us, and our ” birthday bag” tradition was born! ā™„

birthday-bag-008.jpgThis is the material and ribbon for the birthday bag that I am making for Stephanie. She will probably put it in her hope chest for when she has a family of her own to bless. ā™„

ā™„ Blessings on your day! ā™„

3 thoughts on “Around the house today

  1. What a great idea! I’m going to show my daughters the birthday bag. And those sputniks look delish! is there a recipe….should I even ask for it????? :O

  2. That’s okay, Annaleah, I’m glad you’re getting a copy of the Tightwad Gazette! I had thought about ordering it when I did my order from Amazon at Christmas time and putting it away for your birthday so it was good that I didn’t! I’ll have to come up with a new idea now! šŸ™‚

    Love you,

    Mom

Leave a Reply

