Pleasant times at home

Pleasant times…pleasant days..working at home.

swimming-006.jpg

My husband is meeting our son at a friend’s house to watch the Seahawks game today and so I have the opportunity to do some things at home. I am going to try and tackle some decluttering…removing things we don’t use and making room for things we do. As I work, I will try and be mindful of this quote by English poet William Morris- “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”I am trying to so arrange my life to make it easy to do the things that are important to me. I want to be able to accomplish my priorities and not have things in my way that would hinder that, as well as having the things that I need to work with readily accessible.

simple-life-012.jpgI think having less does help me keep a more focused life. And I really find much more peace and contentment when there is more order to my home. I am working diligently at living a more simple lifestyle and bringing less things into our home, but I still have the task of dealing with all of the things that have already found their way in here! It does seem from the blogs I read that there is a longing of people wanting to get back to a more simple, less consumeristic life and I find it encouraging. It encourages me to keep pressing on myself and I am encouraged by learning from them on how they are living this out in their own homes and lives.

simple-life-010.jpgSimple blessings to you

2 thoughts on “Pleasant times at home

  1. Nice post. I am always interested in decluttering myself. I like your quote and will keep it in my journal – English poet William Morris- “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.” Thank you, Linda

Leave a Reply

