Fun gift idea

annas-birthday-011.jpgA week of fun!

Many years ago I received a gift from my secret sister at church. It was a “gift a day” for a week. Just little things like stickers, a magnet, etc. but it was so much fun–a day brightener for a whole week! After receiving it, I did it a couple of times as a birthday gift, but I had pretty much forgotten about it until my daughter did it for my birthday.

I think it is such a blessing for both the giver and the receiver. There are so many things that you can do with this idea. You can come up with creative packaging for each little gift, you can add scriptures for each day, or you can make a little tag to go along with what’s inside the package for each day, like some candy with a tag that says something like “have a sweet day”.

The gifts can be as simple as you would like or more elaborate as your budget allows. For me, I think small inexpensive gifts are just as treasured as if a lot of money was spent. It really is “the thought that counts” with this gift.

I hope this is an idea that you can use and be creative with! Everyone needs to be encouraged and this is such a fun way to do this–not just at birthdays or on other gift giving occasions, but it can be done without much cost any time of the year!

Since my daughter reminded of me of the fun, I decided to do this as one of her birthday gifts last week. I used a basket to hold the small gifts and added a primrose, but there are probably so many more creative ways to package it up as well.

If you have any ideas on packaging or small gifts that would be good for this, I would love to hear them! There is a tutorial for making your own gift bags at Home Living and I think it would work really good for this!

Wishing you a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

