Easter Preparations

snapdragon-010.jpg

Lots of busyness here today getting ready for Easter tomorrow. I am looking forward to a simple Easter day starting with a special family breakfast at home, and then heading off to church. I am scheduled to work in the nursery during the first service so I will attend the second service. After church we will come home for lunch. To make things a little easier tomorrow, I will try and accomplish most of my jobs today.

In all of the busyness and preparations, I want to make sure to take the time to prepare my heart as well. I remember years ago singing a song at church and part of a line really stuck out to me. I don’t even remember the name of the song but it went “and I will prepare Him my heart”. I started thinking about that and all the preparations I might do around my house if I have company coming over, for example, but do I take the time to really prepare my heart for Him? Like with Martha, it is so easy to get wrapped up in the doing and serving that we can miss out on the best part!

“And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me. But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:39-42 (ESV)

I want to close with this hymn by Fanny Crosby called To God be the Glory.

The Lord has done so much for us!

Happy Easter!

Leave a comment