How much is enough

This continues to be an ongoing struggle for me–that of working on making my home a lovely place to be, and that of being truly content. I’m sure these two things can go hand in hand in a wonderful balance, and yet somehow I don’t think I’ve always found the perfect blend of contented loveliness!

My husband and I will celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at the end of the month and one of my goals for awhile has been to work at making our bedroom more of a peaceful retreat place. I thought it would be nice to invest a little into making our room like the kind of bed and breakfast room that we would want to get away to! So I came up with a “to do”/”to buy” list of sorts and I have started to work in there…cleaning, organizing and decluttering. And it looks so much better already. I took some things out and rearranged others…and it really felt so freeing to have less!! So then I got to thinking about those things on my “to buy” list. Will they really bring the peace and rest and contentment to the room that I long for ~ or do I already have enough?

I guess there is some pondering and praying to do on my part. I suppose that maybe there is no simple answer. And what would be right for me might not be the same for someone else. It’s just something that I continue to think about as a homemaker and as a Christian and as a steward of all that the Lord has blessed me with.

Have a blessed weekend!

2 thoughts on “How much is enough

  1. This has always been a struggle for me. When we lost most of our things in Hurricane Katrina it was like starting over. Of course my first impulse was to buy, buy, buy! But remembering back to when my hubby and I were first married and when our children were little we had very few items for the home, yet I was happy and content. Sometimes all the “stuff” just clutters up our homes and our lives. I do have some lovely things now, but I am trying to keep things on the simple side and be content with less…
    Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary!!
    Hope you and yours have a lovely weekend!

    By the way, any pictures you have posted of your home always look beautiful!

  2. Dear Lady Laurie,

    Thank you for your encouraging comment ~ it is good to know that I am not alone in my efforts to create a life and home of simplicity and loveliness!

    Have a blessed weekend,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

