A lovely day

I hope you all enjoyed a special day yesterday. Since Bill’s mom lives in another state and my mom was gone on an overnight trip across the state with my sister, we enjoyed a day together at home as a family. My daughters prepared a wonderful breakfast of homemade waffles and strawberries, and then we had a simple lunch at home together after church.

With a little bit of my help, Abbie was able to make these treats for our dessert. I had seen them on The Sparrows Nest blog and thought that they were so pretty! We followed the picture and instructions as a guide, but we used our own homemade brownie and buttercream frosting recipe to make them. There were no leftovers, so I think they were a hit!

There was no where that we had to go and nothing pressing to do ~ just a relaxing afternoon gathered around visiting. Annaleah and Seth were here right after church, and then our son came just as they had to leave to spend some time with Seth’s parents. Things do become a little more complicated as our children get married and have other obligations, but I am learning to enjoy whatever time we have together even if it is not like it used to be! What a blessing my children are to me and I am so thankful for each of them! They treated me with some wonderful gifts, but just the time we are able to spend together is a delight to this mother’s heart!

Blessings

10 thoughts on “A lovely day

  1. I laughed when I saw your picture and description of your Mother’s Day…we had the same day, you and I, even down to the daughter’s making waffles with strawberries! Believe it or not I even received the same purple Calla Lillies. I am glad your day was special.

  2. Sharon ~

    I am so happy that you had such a special Mother’s Day.
    Our son and daughter-in-love took us out for dinner
    Saturday evening and then we came back to our home
    and had a nice evening sharing dessert and coffee and
    a wonderful visit.

    As you say the time spent together is the most important
    part.

    Blessings ~
    Teri

  3. Teri,

    I am so glad you had this special time with your son and daughter-in-love! It sounds like you all enjoyed a lovely evening together. Thanks so much for sharing!
    Your comments have been such a blessing to me!

    Sharon

  4. It sounds as though you had treasured time together with your family on Mother’s Day …. what a blessing that is!

    I had the same kind of day and was doubly blessed as my daughter was home for a short visit from across the country :o)

    Blessings,
    Dallas

  5. Hi Dallas,

    I am so glad that your daughter was able to be home and that you could enjoy this time together! It is indeed such a blessing! I so enjoy hearing about the Lord’s blessings in other’s lives! Thank you for sharing!

    Sharon

  6. I am glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! Everyone seems to be having strawberries ~ and who could resist such a yummy berry?! That dessert looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

