Homemade tomato soup

I have had a request for this recipe so I wanted to share it with you! The original recipe for this soup is from the book Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappé. I have adjusted the recipe slightly.

I found this book on the library book sale shelf, and as I was browsing through it, I saw a recipe for tomato soup. I purchased the book as I had been hoping to find a recipe like this that I could make from scratch.

My family really enjoys it, and I like it because it can be made up really quickly!   Here is the way I make it:

Hearty Tomato Soup

In heavy pot sauté until onion is golden:

Oil as needed

1 clove garlic, minced

1 onion, chopped

1- 2 stalks of celery, chopped (optional)

2 carrots, chopped

Add:

1 28-oz. can unsalted tomatoes (I mash with a potato masher)

1 1/2 tsp. salt

sprinkle of pepper

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon each oregano and basil

Add in to above mixture:

3 cups milk, hot

1 Tablespoon butter

Stir and enjoy!!

The original recipe adds in rice as well, which you can add if you would like. I think it also makes a great base for other soups. We have added in chicken and green beans and it was delicious too!

13 thoughts on “Homemade tomato soup

  1. This sounds delicious and easy Sharon and since all my family like tomtato soup and I have to watch my sodium intake, I could adjust the salt content in my own and then add it to theirs as you have it here ~ we’ll all be happy :o)

  2. Dear Sharon,
    Your recipe sounds and looks so delicious! Thank you for sharing!

    Thank you for visiting me and for all your kind comments! Your blog is very lovely and inspiring too!

    Blessings,
    Paula

  3. My hubby and I love tomato soup especially with a grilled cheese sandwich. I am ashamed to say it mostly comes from a can. I will try to make this recipe it look delicous!

  4. Good Morning ~

    We also will try your recipe for the tomato soup. Tomato
    soup is one of my husbands favorites.

    Thank you for your recipe.

    We also made the pretzel turtles this weekend and
    enjoyed them with a cup of organic coffee and organic
    cream. ~YUM YUM~

    Sure want to hear about your special weekend!

    Blessings ~
    Teri

  5. my dearest:

    thank you for the receipe .
    i have been away, but i have seen all the wonderful posts along the way.

    God will bless you heavenly.

    Am grateful.

  6. Tried it last night, added 1/2 cup of heavy cream right before serving, had it with sour dough bread and cheddar melted on top. Everyone loved it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

