The perfect start to summertime

It turned out to be an absolutely lovely day today! We had a few errands to do but most of the day was spent working outside around our home. Bill made up the syrup and then hung up the hummingbird feeder that Stephanie and Rachel gave me for Mother’s Day.

I can hardly wait for some hummingbirds to come and visit!

This tree is just starting to bloom and it is probably my all time favorite ~ it is just splendid when it is covered with blossoms!

I started working on what I hope to make into my little cottage garden ~ it is looking so much better already!

And we brought the picnic tables out for the summer!

We enjoyed a wonderful picnic dinner out here this evening!

Wishing you all could stop by for lemonade

May your Sunday be blessed!

6 thoughts on “The perfect start to summertime

  1. Sharon ~

    I have a hanging basket very much like yours that was
    given to me for Mother’s Day by our son and “daughter.”
    I am planning to put our hummingbird feeder just above
    it.

    I think we share much in common. My little garden just
    off of our patio is very similar to yours. We have the
    stepping stones and then our son and “daughter” gave
    me a set of decorative heart shaped stones to add to
    it. We put a small bench in one corner and we put a pot
    of Johnny-Jump-Ups on it. This is where my herbs are
    also. I have some iris and blackeyed susans that are
    at the back along a rustic fence that make our patio just
    a bit more private.

    We also have our patio table, umbrella and chairs out and
    they are just like yours.

    It looks like you and your family had a very enjoyable day!

    Have a blessed Sunday!
    Teri

  2. Dear Teri,

    Yes, it was such a lovely and productive day here!

    Your garden sounds so lovely ~ I wish I could see all that you have done! It sounds like a very restful place you have made.
    I really like the idea of the decorative heart shaped stones in the garden. I need to add some more stepping stones in my cottage garden area ~ maybe I can find something like that as I think it would add just the right touch! I have some blackeyed susans in there too ~ I love that sweet flower. I have an English lavender plant in one corner and yesterday as I was weeding I so enjoyed the fragrance of it! Oh, the joy of flowers!

    I hope you have a wonderful day today!

    Hugs ~

    Sharon

  3. Dear Sharon,

    I am sure you will have lots of hummingbirds visiting your feeder soon! We have counted three at our feeder so far! They are so beautiful and I thank the Lord for blessing us with His beautiful creation.

    We are always working on our cottage garden and our vegetable garden, adding lots of flowers to it! Gardening is such fun, isn’t it? Your window boxes and hanging basket are so very pretty! I need to put some hanging baskets on our porch. I love the spot with the fence for your cottage garden! So sweet!

    My sweet peas are still blooming and smell wonderful! Today my husband found that the hollyhock I planted last year had bloomed, I look forward to when all the flowers I planted from seed begin to bloom. It is so exciting!

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day!
    Paula

  4. I need to get a new hummingbird feeder…I had one last year but none showed up that I know of…maybe my nectar recipe was off….

    Anyhow…pass me a glass of lemonade ☺

    Have a great holiday weekend!♥

  5. Dear Paula,

    We are so hoping to have some hummingbirds visit ~ they are so much fun to watch. My husband filled the feeder up with nectar and this morning it was all gone ~ it had slowly been dripping out and now the feeding tube won’t stay in! I’m not quite sure what we are doing wrong!

    Gardening is so much fun ~ I am enjoying it more and more I think! Our vegetable garden is coming along nicely ~ we do want to get some more tomatoes and also some spinach seeds to plant.

    I don’t have any sweet peas but they are one of the loveliest flowers and their fragrance is so wonderful.

    It is such a blessing to have a garden!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Ya Ya,

    I hope you are enjoying a blessed weekend. Hopefully you can get a feeder so that you can enjoy some hummingbirds. They are so cute!

    The lemonade is ready! 🙂

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

