More inspiration from the garden

We had a refreshing weekend both at home in our own gardens, and visiting other gardens. On Monday we enjoyed a picnic lunch and then strolled along the paths of an arboretum and gardens of a park in a nearby city. This was a different garden and park from the one that we visited on Sunday; but once again, I so enjoyed seeing all the lovely flowers and the way that they were so carefully arranged to make a beautiful display.

What an amazing variety of different and yet beautiful flowers that the Lord has created for our pleasure and enjoyment!

Here are some pictures from this city arboretum and garden:

As homemakers, I think we have such wonderful opportunities to beautify our own homes and gardens. We can bless our families by the loving and careful work we do inside and outside our homes! Even if you are like me, and don’t have a large budget, we can take what the Lord has blessed us with and work on making a peaceful resting place for our families. I think there are so many lovely and exciting ways to do this in whatever style that we enjoy. My home and gardens are definitely a work in progress, but it is such a fulfilling journey that I am on!

Edith Schaeffer writes this in The Hidden Art of Homemaking:

“…some kind of a spot in the world is the place we each call ‘home‘, no matter how temporary that place might be…Here, wherever it is, is your spot. This place should be expressing something of yourself. It should be communicating something of you to your visitors, but it should also satisfy something within you. You should feel ‘at home’ here, because you have made it home with something of yourself.”

May the Lord bless you as you make your own little spot into that special place for those you love


8 thoughts on “More inspiration from the garden

  1. Sharon ~

    You have had such a special holiday weekend!

    Thank you for sharing all the pretty pictures!

    Also, I was wanting to know if you have the recipe for
    your chicken enchilada casserole and if it is one that
    you would share.

    Blessings ~
    Teri

  2. What a lovely post, Sharon. I agree, that even on a shoestring budget, there are things that you can do to beautify your home.

  3. Dear Sharon,

    Thank you for sharing these lovely photos! I am so glad you and your dear ones had such a wonderful weekend!

    I am reading The Hidden Art of Homemaking, and I am enjoying it very much. Thank you for all your encouraging and uplifting words!

    The Lord bless you!
    Paula

  4. I’ve never read or seen “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” and I’m wondering if it’s a book worth purchasing for keeps?

    Thanks for any input …

  5. Thank you Terri! Many times I think it has been a blessing for me to live on a tight budget ~ I think I appreciate things far more when I have to wait for them and it also encourages creativity, both of which are good things ~ although I’m not sure I always recognize it at the time!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Paula,

    The garden is such a beautiful place this time of year ~ it is such a delight to see all the lovely flowers blooming. I have just been looking again at my copy of “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” ~ I’m glad you are enjoying it!

    Have a wonderful day,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Dallas,

    One possibility for you is to see if they have a copy to borrow in your local library. It is helpful to me to borrow something first and then decide if it is a book I want to purchase for my small at home library. I do enjoy the writings of Edith Schaeffer. She has been an encouragement to me in my homemaking as well as in following the Lord.

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

