Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Teri was asking about this recipe so I wanted to share it.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

1 Tablespoon oil

1 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 – 1lb. can diced tomatoes

1 – 10 oz. can enchilada sauce

1 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

6 flour tortillas, cut into thirds

3 cups cooked cut up chicken

1 1/2 cups shredded Jack cheese

1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

Heat oil and add onion and garlic. Sauté 4 minutes. Add tomatoes, enchilada sauce, oregano, and cumin. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring frequently. Add pieces of tortilla to sauce. Let sit 5 minutes to soften. Remove tortillas with tongs to a 9 x 13 inch pan. Top with chicken and cover with sauce. Combine 2 cheeses and sprinkle on top. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Casserole

  1. Sharon ~

    Thank you so much for the recipe. I sure enjoy reading
    all of your posts. I sure appreciate you taking the time
    to send it this evening.

    I hope you have a wonderful week and get to work in your
    garden.

    We have a very small vegetable garden. We have two
    tomato plants, a pepper plant and cucumber plants.

    Thanks again.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Teri,

    You are welcome!! You are always such an encouragement to me! I receive so much blessing through the comments that are left here ~ it really is a joy to me, and brightens up my day so much ~ so really I want to thank you!

    It is so much fun to grow some vegetables in the garden and everything tastes so good! Thanks for sharing about what you are growing!

    P.S. Tuesdays are such a busy day for me but I did get to spend a little time out in the garden and accomplished quite a bit I think!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  3. Thank you for posting this Sharon–I will be making it for sure. A friend of mine used to make something similar that I always enjoyed but I never did get the recipe from her.

    I love your garden photos too! Cottage gardens have always been my favorites as well.

    Kris

Leave a Reply

