Remembering my priorities


“A child must know that time spent together for answering his or her questions and for explaining the Bible, reading Bible stores, or studying in some way together is considered by you as important as any of the other things you do”. What Is A Family? by Edith Schaeffer

This morning my youngest daughter showed me her card out of her box of things to do, entitled “Bible study with Mom”. I told her we would do it after lunch time. But this afternoon I allowed busyness to creep in…I became preoccupied with other things…and then I had some errands to do as Bill was going to be late in coming home. When I got home, dinner would need to be prepared…and I would have forgotten. But she didn’t ~ she was waiting for her Bible study time with me. So I told her we could do it right then and she quickly got the Bible study book and our Bibles and a pencil and took them to our favorite spot where we like to do our Bible study. And what a precious time we had together…and what a precious time I could have so easily missed!

I’m so glad that I slowed down for what was really important!

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.” Colossians 3:16 (KJV)

Wishing you a simple, slow-paced day filled with the peace and blessings of God!

10 thoughts on “Remembering my priorities

  1. I hear you loud and clear! Some days I am so busy I forget what is really important. Thanks for the reminder. I am glad you were able to spend time together.

    Kris

  2. This is my first visit to you, and I love the calm serenity of your writing.
    Edith Schaeffer is one of my favourite authors. I first found her at L’Abri, and went on from there, such a wise lady.
    I hope to come back soon!

  3. Good Morning Sharon ~

    We are having a morning shower. It smells so fresh.
    We spent time mowing and working in the garden and
    got everything in order outside yesterday.

    So today it is a good day to relax and putter inside.

    I do plan to go to our library and pick up a book that
    was ordered. ~ browse around awhile~

    I also have a few errands to tend to while I’m out.

    Otherwise, just going to spend one of those simple,
    slow-paced days ~as you say~ with hubby and sit on
    the porch with a glass of iced tea and a good book!

    Wishing you many blessings and a peace filled day
    also.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  4. Dear Sharon,

    This is such a beautiful and important post! It is so easy to be busy doing things in our homes all day that we need to slow down and enjoy the precious time we have with our children, they grow so fast. How wonderful that you stopped what you were doing to sit down with your dear daughter and how wonderful it is that she has a desire to do Bible study with her momma! That must bless and encourage you a great deal, knowing that you have made God’s word a priority in your life, and seeing that your little girl is doing the same!

    Thank you for humbly sharing this and reminding me of the most important reason for being a homekeeper, raising my son for the Lord Jesus!

    May the Lord bless you today as you serve him, your family and those you are blessing here at The Shepherds House, truly a peaceful resting place!
    Paula

  5. Sharon, this is the very subject we studied today at our Ladies’ Fellowship Morning! It’s so easy to get caught up with duties and not take time for the important things….this was a great post, and I’m so glad you had a blessed time with your daughter…those times are precious.

    Love, Tina xx

  6. Dear Elizabeth,

    Welcome! I am so happy that you have found your way here! I too, enjoy the writings of Edith Schaeffer. L’Abri was the first book that I read. I just recently purchased “With Love, Edith” ~ The L’Abri Family Letters from 1948 – 1960 for $1 at a homeschool resale shop but I haven’t had the opportunity to read it yet!

    I do hope that you are able to visit again ~ come again anytime!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Teri,

    It does sound like you will be able to enjoy a lovely slow-paced day ~ those are my favorites! It is a little busier than normal for me today as my husband had to make a trip to the airport first thing this morning and he asked if I would ride along for company. Tomorrow will be our day to get some projects done outside.

    I do hope you have a relaxing day puttering about and reading ~ and enjoy that time sitting on the porch with your husband ~ what a blessing that is!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Paula,

    Yes, the years with our children do go by so fast! It really is such a precious but short time that we have with them! What a blessing to be able to influence them in the ways of the Lord! We enjoyed a wonderful time together and it does give such encouragement to my heart ~ I’m so glad that I didn’t miss this opportunity!

    Thank you once again for your sweet words ~ they give me much encouragement! May the Lord bless and encourage you today as you delight in caring for your home and family!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Tina,

    Yes, it was such a precious time we had together. It seems that it is so easy to get caught up in busyness sometimes and I’m sure many times I’ve missed out on what is really important. I’m so thankful that the Lord is so faithful and patient and continues to show us what is important and what can wait for another time.

    Hugs to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

