A morning in town

It has been a busy but enjoyable day! Bill took Abigail for her annual achievement test for homeschoolers while I took Rachel for her homeschool extension classes. As both locations were too far to leave them and come back, we both had to wait for about 3 hours while the girls were there. Since I was out by myself this morning, I decided to spend some time browsing in the antique shops. I love old things from the past and this is a wonderful small town with many little places filled with treasures!

The flower baskets all along the Main street were beautiful!

I love this little town even on a dreary rainy day!

It has been raining all day today and it looks like there is rain in the forecast for at least the next 9 days!

The stairs down to the riverfront trail!

I did enjoy a lovely view of the river even on a rainy day!

And I thought this old washer filled with flowers and a lovely plate was so sweet! It was just outside one of the shops!

I love old churches so much and this little town has a number of them!

I really had a wonderful morning out today just browsing! I didn’t purchase any special treasures while visiting here in town, but it was fun just the same!

I hope all of you are enjoying a lovely day ~ blessings to you!

10 thoughts on “A morning in town

  1. Sharon ~

    It is so nice to have a few hours to just browse and enjoy
    special little things.

    I love little towns. Since the price of gasolene has gone
    so high, we are visiting many of the little towns in our
    area. There is so much to do and see and not have to
    travel that far. These are the places that we have passed
    by before to go on much longer trips.

    I love the old washing machine. We have loaned my
    mother~in~laws Speed Queen to our quilt shop and they
    display quilts in it. When my mother~in~law passed
    away, we just couldn’t part with it and didn’t have space
    for it, so we are sharing it with the quilt shop.

    I am so happy to hear about your special day.

    I love old churches also. They are so quaint and it always
    reminds me of the old hymns.

    Have a blessed day ~
    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Sharon,

    You are such an encouragement to me! You are a godly example for me and I am so thankful for you! Thank you so much for all the kind words you say to me, thank you for always being so cheerful and full of love. You bless me and everyone you encounter. Your love for the Lord just flows over to bless others around you!

    Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful pictures of your day in town. You live in such a pretty area. My dear husband, on special occasions, takes us to an old town in Texas with historic homes, bed and breakfast inns, horse-drawn carriage rides, train rides and my favorite, antique stores! It is wonderful to see such beautiful homes, churches and buildings built long ago!

    I love that old washer filled with flowers and the old plate. That is such a lovely idea! I have an large metal square container that my hollyhock it growing in and I think I will pretty it up by adding an old plate!

    Thank you again, dear Sharon, for all you share and for being such a blessing, allowing the Lord to use you to encourage others!

    The Lord richly bless you!
    Paula

  3. What a lovely town ~ so picturesque!!
    Sometimes it’s just fun to wonder around and enjoy all the beauty around, a rainy day holds a certain charm, and then it is so nice to return back to our home!
    I love the picture of the old church, they don’t seem to make them like that anymore, I love a white steeple. Every new church they put up here is so modern in design, not my taste at all!!

    Many blessings to you and have a lovely day!!

  4. Dear Teri,

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day!
    I did have an enjoyable time just browsing at all of the wonderful treasures. I am going to be trying to stay much closer to home too with the price of gasoline increasing so much. I am so glad that I enjoy being at home!
    The Speed Queen displaying quilts must look so lovely!! A little over a week ago someone was holding an outdoor sale across the parking lot from our church and they were selling an old wood cookstove from the 1890’s! I love the simple beauty of old-fashioned pieces like that so much ~ if only I had a spot for it!

    Thank you for your sweet visit today!

    Hugs,

    Sharon

  5. Dear Paula,

    I am so glad that in some small way I might be able to encourage you! I have so much for the Lord to teach me and so much yet to learn in so many areas! The Lord is so good and patient with me!
    You are such a lovely woman of God and I have been so blessed and encouraged by you!
    The town in Texas that your husband takes you to visit sounds so delightful ~ isn’t that so much fun? I too love all the old-fashioned houses and churches ~ there is just so much charm in small towns!
    I would love to see what you do with your planter. The lovely plates that I saw while in town did make me think of you! You have used plates in such a lovely way in your decorating!
    I do hope you have a blessed and sweet day!

    Sharon

  6. Dear Lady Laurie,
    It really was an enjoyable time browsing at the treasures even if it was raining outside. You are so right, though, it is so nice to return back home again! What a wonderful refuge our homes are! And what a blessing and joy we have as homemakers to create our own special resting place for those we love!

    The old-fashioned churches really are so charming and beautiful!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely and blessed day!

    Sharon

  7. Even with the rain so obvious wherever you went, the town’s loveliness shines through!

    The old washing-machine filled with flowers was beautiful ~ I wish I could think of things like that.

    I love ‘old things’, whether antique or not … they hold so much history … and I just love “treasure hunting”, as I call it.

    Have a wonderful week :o)

  8. Isn’t that Snohomish? I spent many hours there antiquing and enjoying the atmosphere. I just talked to my dad on Camano Island and he says the rain seems to be there to stay! Thank you for the lovely pictures and great flower planter idea.

    Kris

  9. Dear Kris,

    Yes it is ~isn’t it just one of the loveliest small towns? I always enjoy antique shopping there when I have a chance!
    I’m starting to think the rain really is here to stay!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

