Lovely lavender

What a busy Saturday this has been! It started this morning with an appreciation brunch at church and then soon after that we headed out of town, about 45 minutes away, for a wedding. Don’t you just love weddings?

On the way back home we were able to enjoy a quick stop at a family run lavender farm! It is a place that we visited for the first time last year and it has become a favorite of mine! Last time we were there, we purchased a tin of loose leaf tea ~ it has touches of lavender, Earl Grey, and jasmine. It was a delightful tea which we enjoyed very much! So I was happy to be able to purchase some today!

I wanted to share a few snapshots of this lovely place with you! It is a very beautiful and peaceful spot!

You can click on the pictures to enlarge and get a better view!

I especially loved this little spot!

Some rows of lavender

They also had an herb garden

One of the herbs they were growing was rosemary ~ we are also growing this herb in our container at home and are really enjoying the taste of fresh rosemary much more than the dried variety from the store that we have been used to.

The red building at the top of the picture is the little gift shop filled with lots of delightful lavender items. It is where I picked up these items…

The two wooden fence style baskets were free ~ what a blessing ~ and the wicker basket was only 50¢! I was thinking that maybe washcloths would be nice in one of the wooden baskets and the other two I would like to use to make gift baskets with!

I hope you enjoyed this quick little trip to the lavender farm ~ thank you for coming along with me today!

I hope you all enjoy a blessed Sunday!

16 thoughts on “Lovely lavender

  1. How wonderful to be able to visit a lavender farm ~ I bet the smell was delightful!! I think lavender is my favorite herb. The tea sounds delicious too.
    Hoping you are having a lovely blessed Sunday!

  2. Oh I just love lavender. I was telling my husband yesterday I would like to get some and some rosemary plants….Would love to do basil too but don’t know if I get enough sunny, warm days for it ???
    Is it possible for you to email me where this lavender farm is?
    Well off to Sunday School and Church in a few minutes.
    Happy Father’s day to the men in your life.
    Deby

  3. Dear Sharon ~

    ~WOW~ Such a pretty place. I wonder if my lavendar
    plant will ever look like that. Someday maybe. Don’t
    you just love to meander through places like that. ~ so
    peaceful and fragrant ~

    I love the little herb garden sign.

    BASKETS! I have a collection of the Longaberger Baskets
    ~ mostly the small ones ~ We make good use of each and
    everyone of them. I think baskets make your home so
    warm and cozy. There are so many uses for them. I like
    your ideas for your new baskets.

    Your pictures are really pretty. I always love looking at
    them.

    Wishing a HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to your special ones!

    Blessings ~
    Teri

  4. What a pretty place! I’ve never seen fresh lavender and always wanted to try my hand at it. I love baskets so that would of made my day right there. 🙂 You got a great deal for .50!

  5. I absolutely love Earl Grey tea! I must look out for some with lavender over here. Free baskets too – sounds like a lovely afternoon!

  6. Dear Lady Laurie,

    It is a lovely place, however, only a small amount of the plants had flowers, apparently they are a couple of weeks behind because of the weather. The farm holds a festival in July and I am assuming that is probably when it is mostly in bloom. So I didn’t notice the fragrance other than in the gift shop ~ which smelled delightful!

    I hope you have enjoyed a lovely day,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Deby,

    We went to an herb class at the library and I think the woman leading the class said that it is better to buy basil plants in a pot at the store rather than trying to grow them in the garden.
    We are enjoying our rosemary plant ~ it is wonderful in cooking!
    Yes, I will send you an email with the information about the lavender farm!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Teri,

    I hope you have enjoyed a wonderful Sunday! It was sunny and warm here and we spent the afternoon outside as a family enjoying the beautiful day. My husband had set up the badminton set yesterday and today a croquet course was set up as well. Lots of fun!!
    I do love to meander through lovely spots like this farm. Lavender is one of my favorites. It will probably be beautiful next month when they have their festival.
    How fun to have a collection of Longaberger Baskets. They are lovely. I don’t have any of those ~ I saw a small one at the thrift store a while back that I thought about buying but I didn’t! I would love to hear about the ways that you use them!
    Happy Father’s Day to your husband too!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Terri,

    If you’re able to grow lavender in your area you should give it a try! I have 3 plants now and I love them!. I was
    very happy with the baskets ~ especially for only $.50!

    I hope you have had a wonderful Sunday and enjoyed Father’s Day with your husband!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Ya Ya,

    Most of the lavender wasn’t blooming yet, but the gift shop was filled with the lovely scent of lavender! When all of the plants are blooming, I’m sure it will be beautiful and fragrant there. My husband tried some of the lavender ice cream ~ a sample of three different kinds. It was quite good!

    Blessings to you ~ I hope you’ve enjoyed a restful weekend!!

    Sharon

  11. Dear Phoebe,

    Yes, it was a lovely afternoon ~ even though our time at the farm was limited. The tea is one of my favorites ~ I hope you can find some to try where you live! Getting such a good bargain on the baskets was quite a blessing for me!

    Have a blessed week!

    Sharon

  12. Oh Sharon, what a lovely place! The scent must have been wonderful! I absolutely love lavender…such a restful, calming smell.

    Loved your baskets too!

    Have a Blessed day,
    Love, Tina xx

  13. Dear Sharon,

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful trip to the Lavender farm! I love lavender and herbs! I enjoyed your photos so much! Doesn’t it give you such inspiration when you visit places like that? I am glad you had a nice time and came home with two free baskets and one for 50 cents! I think your idea to use one for washcloths and the others for gift baskets is wonderful!

    We have lavender growing in our garden and rosemary too. I started one of the rosemary plants from seed and last year in early spring and it was finally big enough to plant in the garden this year. I was so happy!!!

    Have a wonderful day!

    Bless you! Thank you so much for the kind words you leave for me on my blog and here on yours. You are so sweet to take time to leave us all sweet and encouraging replies. What a blessing you are!
    Paula

  14. Dear Tina,

    Yes, isn’t lavender just so sweet! It is really one of my favorites and I hope my plants do well in the garden this year. I would love to be able to have enough for cutting!

    I hope I can put the baskets to good use ~ I do like to make gift baskets for people!!

    Have a sweet day,

    Sharon

  15. Dear Paula,

    Thank you so much for your kind comment ~ you are always so sweet!

    That was one of the things that I was thinking about when I was at the lavender farm ~ how inspiring it was! We didn’t have very much time to spend there on Saturday but I would have liked to have stayed and been able to take in more of the lovely inspiration that I saw! It was wonderful! It wasn’t all in bloom yet, but I’m sure it must be delightful when it is! We would like to be able to go when they have the festival in July.
    The little gift shop smelled wonderful with the scent of lavender.
    I was very happy with my baskets ~ I am looking forward to putting them to use! Such a blessing it was!
    I am glad to hear that you have lavender and rosemary in your garden too ~ isn’t gardening so much fun?
    The book you mentioned “Natural Beauty at Home” is ready to picked up at the library and I am looking forward to getting it today!

    I do hope you have a lovely day today ~

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

