Peace

Doesn’t this look like a quiet resting place? I took this picture while we were out on a hike the other day ~ I think it looks like such a lovely and peaceful spot ~ but the one thing you can’t see from this view is that it is right next to a major roadway with much noise and cars rushing to and fro!

I think that’s the wonderful thing about the peace of God ~ it extends beyond the circumstances going on around us!

“My people will abide in a peaceful habitation,

in secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places.”

Isaiah 32:18 (ESV)

The other day the words to the chorus of Wonderful Peace by W.D. Cornell came to mind ~ it’s one that we used to sing in church many years ago! Maybe you will recognize the words.

“Peace, peace, wonderful peace,

Coming down from the Father above!

Sweep over my spirit forever, I pray

In fathomless billows of love!”

The peace of God ~ oh, there are so many wonderful scriptures to encourage our hearts! I thought I would share a few of them with you!

Isaiah 26:3 (KJV) “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

Philippians 4:7 (KJV) “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Colossians 3:15 (ESV) “And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful.”

Psalm 29:11 (KJV) “The LORD will give strength unto his people; the LORD will bless his people with peace.”

John 14:27 (ESV) “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

John 16:33 (KJV) “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

2 Corinthians 13:11 (ESV) “Finally, brothers, rejoice. Aim for restoration, comfort one another, agree with one another, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you.”

I really love that last part ~ “and the God of love and peace will be with you” ~ isn’t that so encouraging ~ what more could I want?

Praying that you will know His peace today and that it will encourage your heart!

10 thoughts on “Peace

  1. Dear Senkyoshi,

    I only knew the chorus from this hymn ~ I don’t
    know if we’ve ever sung the words before! I have
    come to love hymns so much! Thanks for visiting me
    today ~ I think of you often!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

  2. Dear sweet Sharon,

    What a beautiful post! I felt peace flood my soul while reading your thoughtful words, the wonderful hymn and the beautiful scripture you shared. How very comforting God’s word is! The photo you took is just lovely, it is hard to imagine there was a busy and noisy highway right next to it! I love what you said, “I think that’s the wonderful thing about the peace of God ~ it extends beyond the circumstances going on around us!” Beautifully said and so very true. That kind of peace is the kind only God can give. I am so encouraged and uplifted by these verses you shared. The Lord uses you to bless and encourage me. I am always so thankful to find a note from you at my Rose Cottage, and the ones you leave here at The Shepherds House! You are such a sweet friend and such a godly woman. I feel peace when I visit you! You have a peaceful heart and home life because you live for the One that provides that and it comes through in your written entries and your photos that you share.

    I am so glad you purchased Abigail two sketch books, a large one for home and a smaller one for outings. She will enjoy that so much! The Pleasures of Tea sounds like a delightful book. Victoria always published such pretty and inspiring books!

    Thank you for all the kind words you left for me in my comments. Yes, I am so very, very blessed! I have not done a thing to deserve it, I know it is all God’s grace. You and I both have wonderful husbands that love the Lord, and take good care of us. What a blessing that is, and our precious children are wonderful as well!!! So many blessings from the Lord. I am ashamed when I complain about anything, and I have been praying for the Lord to give me a heart full of gratitude and thankfulness!!!

    Enjoy your day filled with all of the Lord’s blessings.
    I, too, am very thankful for you and your sweet friendship! Thank you for the kindness you show me.
    Bless you!
    Paula

  3. Sharon, thank you so much for this post. I needed every single one of those scriptures tonight. God Bless you.

    Love, Tina xx

  4. Dear Paula,

    Yes, what a wonderful gift the scriptures are! God’s word is filled with such encouragement and comfort.
    The Lord is so faithful and has filled my life with so many blessings. I too want to have a heart and life filled with thankfulness and gratitude. The Lord has so much work to do in me! I fall short in so many ways and yet He is so patient and has such mercy and grace! I am so happy that He keeps working and changing me and doesn’t give up!!

    I showed Abigail the two bird drawings that you did ~ I’m sure they will inspire her when she receives her sketchbooks! She will have such an enjoyable time working on this!

    Oh, I wanted to tell you that we have tried the Rapadura sugar! Abigail made us a batch of brownies and today I made some granola bars! To me it seems like it has a slightly more mellow flavor than the Sucanat and I like it very much!

    Thank you for all of your encouragement!!

    I do hope you have a lovely day there at home today!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  5. Dear Tina,

    Isn’t it wonderful that we can find comfort and encouragement in God’s word? I know how much these verses meant to me just as I typed them up and then read them over and over!! In the days we live in, we need the peace only He can give!

    May He fill you with His peace and encouragement today.

    Thank you for being the sweet blessing that you are!

    Sharon

  6. I thoroughly enjoyed today’s post. It made me think of Peter walking on the water …. as long as his eyes were on the Lord, he had no problems. But, as soon as he got taken up with his surroundings, he began to sink!

    That is like me sometimes ~ so thank you for sharing what the Lord laid on your heart …. I know I needed to hear these promises and to rest in them :o)

  7. Thank you for the beautiful scriptures Sharon. No matter where you open the bible you will find encouragement in all areas of your life. How awesome God knew that and preserved it for so long so we all could have His word with us at all times.

    I tried the Whole Wheat Bread recipe and it is a keeper! I have 2 others that I really like–one makes 4 loaves, so I don’t always use that because I don’t always need that much bread at once. The other one makes the bread just a little sweeter than yours. I will keep all 3 in my binder now, but I think yours may be the one I make the most. Thank you for posting the link–I may link back to you if I do a post about the bread on my blog.

    Kris

  8. Dear Dallas,

    Yes, that is so true about Peter! Like him, it is so easy to get caught up in our surroundings ~ but oh, how we need to keep our eyes on Jesus!

    So much is going on in the world we live in today and how we need the peace that only He can give!

    God’s word is such an encouragement! I know these verses on peace ministered to my heart so much. God is so good to give us the comfort and peace we need.

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Kris,

    Thank you for the encouragement! Yes, that is so true what you wrote about the Bible!

    I’m glad you liked the bread! I do hope you do a post about bread on your blog ~ I would love to have the recipe for the 4 loaves! It sounds like you should be able to enjoy all that wheat you received!

    Have a blessed day!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

