Remembering the Shepherd

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:

he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths

of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear

no evil: for thou art with me;

thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.”

Psalm 23:1-4 (KJV)

The UPS man stopped at our house today with a package! It was this lovely shepherd’s staff ~ a Father’s Day gift for my husband from our son and daughter-in-law! I told my husband I thought it would look really nice here in the Shepherd’s House!

He has wanted a shepherd’s staff to put in his office ~ which is where it will go tomorrow. So I will enjoy it for today while I can! What a wonderful blessing it is to have a husband who desires to follow Jesus ~ our Shepherd ~ and who wants to surround himself with things that remind him of the Lord ~ just as we desire here at home!

SAVIOR, LIKE A SHEPHERD LEAD US

Words by Dorothy A Thrupp

“Saviour, like a shepherd lead us, Much we need Thy tender care;

In Thy pleasant pastures feed us, For our use Thy folds prepare:

We are Thine; do Thou befriend us, Be the Guardian of our way;

Keep Thy flock, from sin defend us, Seek us when we go astray:

Thou has promised to receive us, Poor and sinful though we be;

Thou has mercy to relieve us, Grace to cleanse, and pow’r to free:”

Wishing you a day filled with the love of the Shepherd!

9 thoughts on “Remembering the Shepherd

  1. oh what a *perfect* gift and where you have it standing looks so great….
    thanks for sharing the scripture and the hymn as well, both favorites.
    Deby

  2. Dear Ladies,

    Thank you! My oldest daughter made the wall hanging for me as a Christmas surprise a few years ago ~ working away on it in her room without me even knowing about it! It is a special treasure!

    I had never thought much about having a shepherd’s staff here at home until I saw it ~ then I saw how lovely it would be!

    My husband was very gracious to me! I noticed that he didn’t take it with him this morning and when I mentioned it to him, he told me I could enjoy it for a little bit before he took it ~ I thought that was so sweet! I’m sure it won’t be for too long, but I will enjoy it for sure until it goes to the office!

    I hope you all have a lovely summer day,

    Sharon

  3. Dear Sharon,
    I enjoyed your pretty photos, the wonderful verse and hymn!

    The shepherd’s hook is so beautiful and looks so pretty next to the wall hanging! Your daughter did a beautiful job making that for you. What a sweet surprise, and as you said, a special treasure!

    It was so sweet of your husband to let you enjoy the shepherd’s hook a little longer. It is such a blessing to have husbands that desire to follow Jesus!

    Your home is so lovely! What a blessing you are!

    Have a wonderful day!
    Paula

  4. Dear Paula,

    Thank you so much for your sweet words!!

    I am enjoying the shepherd’s staff ~ but I think he will enjoy it so much at his office too!

    Yes, what a blessing it is to have husbands who love and follow the Lord!

    Thank you for all of your encouragement! What a sweet friend you are!!

    I hope your day was filled with blessings,

    Sharon

  5. I’m looking for a Shepherd’s Rod for my pastor. Can you ask your son and daughter-in-law where they got it? Hopefully, online so I can order one.

    Thx Elwood

Leave a Reply

