Birthday celebration and the joys of summer

We celebrated a birthday here today! Abigail turned 11!! Our youngest is growing up much too fast ~ oh, where do the years seem to go!!

We have had a tradition for many years of making up a breakfast tray and serving the one celebrating a birthday breakfast in bed!

We awoke to a lovely sunny day today ~ it seems like summer has finally come! What a blessing it is! Rachel and Abigail and I went for a bike ride this morning. I was hoping for a nice leisurely ride, but there were too many hills for that ~ it was more like a workout!! It was beautiful though and was very enjoyable! Going for bike rides is one of my favorite things!

With the exception of the beans that seem to have been overtaken by slugs and our one lone carrot that came up, we do have lots of things that are growing pretty well that I am excited about!!

We have lettuce in the garden!

My Sweet Williams are starting to bloom!

The geranium starts that I purchased for 25¢ each have their first bud!

And the fuchsia starts have a few blooms as well ~ how exciting! So many blessings here at home!

We played a little badminton this evening and enjoyed some birthday cupcakes!

So many simple pleasures to enjoy on a summer day ~ so many little things to be thankful for!

Blessings to you!

14 thoughts on “Birthday celebration and the joys of summer

  1. Good Morning Sharon ~

    Happy Birthday to Abigail. Such a nice idea ~ the birthday
    breakfast tray.

    Your plants all look so healthy!

    It has been very warm and humid here. We try to get our
    outdoor work done in the mornings when it is cooler.

    It has been rather quiet aroung here ~ we have been
    working on our family history project. We are working on
    both sides of my husbands parents and also both sides
    of my parents. Therefore, we have been in contact with
    some relatives that we don’t visit with very often. We
    always enjoy that.

    We are planning to go to a nearby city Saturday ~ they are
    having their Old West Cowboy Days Festival. We enjoy
    their antique shops and other specialty shops.

    Enjoy your day!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Teri,

    Good morning!

    Thank you for your birthday wishes to Abigail!
    The family history project sounds really interesting ~ I would love to learn more about our families as well. My dad’s mother died in the hospital after he was born and his dad, having 5 other children, didn’t feel he could take care of him so he adopted him to some friends ~ an older couple with no children of their own. So there was still some interaction among the families but it really would be fun to learn more about both families.

    Your upcoming Saturday sounds wonderful! I hope you can share all about it!
    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

  3. Dear Sharon,

    It is always so nice to visit you! Please tell Abigail that I wish her the happiest of birthdays. Oh, they do grow so quickly! I am so thankful for all the time I have with my son. I can hardly believe he will be 13 in a couple of weeks. He is a sweet boy!

    I am sure Abigail was delighted with her gifts. Has she begun a sketch in her nature journal? Abigail’s birthday tray is so pretty and cheerful and I love the Peter Rabbit candle holder you placed in the cupcake. So sweet! You are a good momma!

    I am so glad you all enjoyed your bike ride, or should I say work out! I know you enjoyed it just the same, being with your dear daughters.

    Your flowers and lettuce are just beautiful! I am so glad summer has arrived there for you! I hope you have a wonderful summer and enjoy all your gardening! Purple coneflowers are so easy to grow from seed, and as you mentioned the birds, hummingbirds, bees and butterflies love them. I just love to plant things that attract all these wonderful sweet garden friends!

    Yes, there are so many things to be thankful for. I am thankful for your kind friendship!

    The Lord bless you!
    Paula

  4. What a beautiful tradition. Happy Birthday to Abigail!

    I am so thrilled with my tiny garden that I feel like throwing a party everytime I see a little bud or something…LOL!

    I loooooove fushia’s!!♥

  5. Dear Paula,

    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes! I shared all of the “happy birthdays” with her!!

    She hasn’t started a sketch in her nature journal yet! Our son and daughter-in-law gave her a pair of binoculars, so today she has been looking for birds! We went on a walk and she took them with her! She loved all of her supplies and I know she will have so much enjoyment with it.

    The weather was a little cooler today but still nice and we were able to do some weeding in the front. It seems there is so much to do ~ but it looked much better in just the short time we were out working. It feels so nice to be able to enjoy some warm and sunny days.
    I have some Black Eyed Susan seeds to plant so I think I will look for some Purple coneflower seeds as well. I just need to clear out a spot for them. It is nice to be able to plant from seed. Ever since we went to the classes this past weekend, it is funny because we are paying attention to yards and whether they are ones that will attract the birds!
    I hope you have had an enjoyable day there at home!
    Many blessings to you,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Ya Ya,

    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes for Abigail ~ that was so sweet of you!

    Congratulations on your garden! Are you able to keep the gophers away? I am finding so much enjoyment in the garden this year ~ much more so than in years past!!

    I love fuchsias too ~ we have never purchased the starts before and so I am really excited that there are some blooms on them!! The plants themselves look a little unruly but I think when they bloom it will be beautiful!

    I hope you have a lovely day ~ the Lord bless you!!

    Sharon

  7. Happy Birthday to your daughter, Sharon! The tray looks scrumptious and that is a great tradition. The plants look like they really are doing well. My garden is an absolute mess. We’ve had so much rain that I can’t get out there to weed and things are looking extremely unruly.

  8. Dear Terri,

    Thank you for the birthday greetings!

    Our lettuce and tomato plants seem to be doing well, but I think our beans are a total loss! I doubt we will have any at all ~ Bill planted the rest of the seeds that we had so we’ll see! I can understand how you feel about not being able to get out and weed things ~ most of our yard looks extremely unruly! I am now trying to do bits at a time as I can to at least make it a little more presentable!!

    I hope you have a great day!

    Hugs ~

    Sharon

  9. A very happy birthday to Abigail :o)

    Your flowers and plants are thriving and your bike ride sounds invigorating!

    What a wonderful birthday tradition with the breakfast tray ~ I see Abigail had strawberries but I can’t figure out what the other *treat* was?

  10. Dear Dallas,

    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes ~ I have shared all of them with her! How fun!!

    We have enjoyed doing the birthday breakfast tray! The other treat is called “Sputniks” which is a drop donut. Very easy to make but since it is a batter fried in oil, it is not something that we make too often! More of a special occasion treat!! 🙂

    Blessings to you!!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

