Growing by His grace

“but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”

I Peter 3:4 (ESV)

My previous post brought to mind how during this season everything is growing so green and lush and wonderfully. But what about me ~ am I growing and allowing the Lord to change me day by day?

My outward person is pretty much quiet and reserved ~ but what about the “hidden person of the heart”? Do I have the “gentle and quiet spirit” that the Lord is looking for? This is an area where I have much more growing to do! The Lord brought this scripture to my remembrance today. Sometimes it is so easy to just float along and think I am doing quite fine ~ but the Lord sees a much bigger picture of things than I do…

“for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.”

I Samuel 16:7 (KJV)

I am so thankful that the Lord is patient and kind and that every day His mercy is new!! Today is a new day ~ a day to allow Him to do the work He needs to do in me to grow me into who He wants me to be!

May your day be filled with His grace and goodness!

12 thoughts on “Growing by His grace

  1. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Your post makes me stop and think! I too want to have
    a ~ gentle and quiet spirit. ~ I have much growing to do
    in this area also. Such special scriptures to ponder over.

    Thank you for your thoughts and special blessings.

    You have become a very special friend to me and I so
    look forward to all of your encouragement and inspiration.

    God bless you and your family.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Sharon,
    Thank you for your visit to my “very” new blog. I am a beginner. Because you visited and left a comment it lead me to your site. A sense of peace is felt here. Your photography has inspired me to take some photos of my own gardens. I just wished I had done so before all the heat and humidity set in. My Azaleas,magnolias,glads, lilies, irises and such are spent but I have others and hope to share. I have some “sweet Williams” also. hugs Deborah

  3. Dear Teri,

    Good morning!!

    Thank you for your thoughts ~ I think they are very good scriptures for me to ponder too ~ ones I need to be reminded of daily!!

    You are so sweet ~ you have become such a dear friend to me as well ~ I always look forward to hearing from you and getting to know you more by all the wonderful things you share! It is such a blessing to me!! I appreciate you so much!!

    I hope you have a wonderful day,

    Hugs to you ~

    Sharon

  4. Dear Deborah,

    I am so glad that you could visit me!! I am always so blessed when someone drops by and leaves a comment ~ it is so exciting to meet you!! I do hope that you can visit again!

    I think you are doing a wonderful job on your blog ~ I will look forward to visiting there and I would love to see the pictures of your gardens ~ the one you posted of your perennial garden was very pretty!!

    I hope that you are having an enjoyable time blogging so far! It has been such a rewarding experience for me ~ I really enjoy it and I love being able to take pictures of things and put them on. It has really increased my love for photography, although I still have so much to learn in that area!!

    I hope you have a blessed day!

    Hugs ~

    Sharon

  5. Dear Sharon,

    Thank you for sharing your sweet thoughts. I desire to have a meek and quite spirit as well. Have you read the book The Quest for Meekness and Quietness of Spirit by Matthew Henry? It is a beautiful book and such a blessing. I highly recommend it. I am about to read it again!

    I love the verses you shared and your beautiful photo! You are so encouraging and such a blessing to me! I am so thankful the Lord is so merciful and patient and kind! I pray He will bless you and your dear family!

    Thank you for sharing your heart and home! You are such a sweet friend and a godly women. A real inspiration to all of us that visit you here at The Shepherd’s House!

    Have a lovely Friday and weekend with your precious family!
    Paula

  6. I wish I had a quiet and gentle spirit and I’m striving for one but to be honest, it tends to be not so quiet and not so gentle at times! 😦 Thank you for your words today, Sharon!

    Love,
    Terri

  7. Dear Paula,

    I haven’t read the book you mentioned but it sounds like one I would be interested in reading! Thank you so much for mentioning it to me!

    The verses are ones that I will be meditating on some more ~ I am so glad the Lord is so gracious to point out areas that I need to work on! Of course, in my own strength it would be impossible ~ but if I yield to Him, He can do the work that He needs to do!!

    I receive so much inspiration from you as you lovingly share your thoughts and your home, and in your comments here as well! It really means so much!!

    May the Lord bless you & your family too!

    Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

  8. Sharon

    “Sometimes it is so easy to just float along and think I am doing quite fine ~ but the Lord sees a much bigger picture of things than I do”

    Wow! This post really hit home with me as I am reminded that the Lord sees my heart while those around me see the *outside*.

    The desire of my heart is to have a meek and quiet spirit within but if you knew me, you’d realize that often, I’m quite the opposite :o(

    Blessings to you and your family for a lovely day tomorrow and weekend ahead!

    Dallas

  9. Dear Terri,

    I am striving for that gentle and quiet spirit too ~ but I have a lot of growing to do!

    But what a wonderful thing it is to be able to share with one another and to be able to encourage one other to press on to be all that the Lord would have us to be!

    I am very blessed by all the godly encouragement that you share!

    Have a wonderful Friday and weekend!

    Hugs and blessings to you!!

    Sharon

  10. Dear Dallas,

    I think because I am pretty quiet on the outside and especially outside my own home, I often forget that that doesn’t always equal a gentle and quiet spirit!

    How good it is that the Lord comes and shows us where we need to grow and doesn’t just leave us to go our own way!

    We can be encouraged, though, because He will complete the good work that He has started in us!!

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Friday and weekend as well!

    Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

  11. This too is something I work on and need to lead to yield to the Lord on.
    I by nature am a outgoing person, yet I pray that no roughness or unkindness shows through. I know that when I spend more time in the WORD, in Godly pursuits and dwell on scripture in my thought life it really does help.
    Deby

  12. Dear Deby,

    Thank you so much for all of your thoughts! All of those things are so necessary each and every day!!!

    It is so easy to go along in my own strength but oh, how I daily need to yield to Him!

    I so appreciate you sharing your godly encouragement ~ it is such blessing to hear from other women who love and desire to follow the Lord and His ways.

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

