Sweet simplicity

“I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.”

Laura Ingalls Wilder

I am so excited to have a clothesline once again ~ and also excited that it is finally nice enough to be able to hang things out to dry. For the last few years my husband has hung some clothesline rope across our deck from the house to a small outbuilding  ~ and that is what I have once again. It is nothing fancy at all ~ but it works!! I can see it from my kitchen sink and I love seeing things blowing in the summer breeze! And isn’t the smell of things dried on the line so wonderful?

It’s just a little taste of old fashioned living for me ~ sweet and simple

Have a lovely weekend!

16 thoughts on “Sweet simplicity

  1. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such a nice picture!

    I have a picture of a lightweight quilt that I had on my
    clothesline. ~ very similar pattern ~ Of course I was
    taking pictures of everything with our new digital camera
    that my husband had bought for us earlier this year.

    I am so glad that you find such pleasure in the very simple
    and old fashioned ways. I feel the very same way.

    Hope you have a sweet and simple weekend!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. I love hanging clothes out. Unfortunately, we don’t have a clothesline here and my landlord doesn’t want one. However, it’s a great way to save money!

  3. I agree – I absolutely love hanging out the washing! I even like bringing it back in. It smells so lovely and is easier to iron. Having washing on the line makes me feel contented – strange isn’t it?

  4. I too love this feeling…and the simplicity of it…
    the smell of sundried clothes…
    enjoyed your picture.
    Deby

  5. Dear Sharon,

    What a lovely picture! Your quilt is so beautiful! I love the quote you shared, and I love reading Laura Ingalls Wilder. She had such an incredible life, but it was really a simple life, don’t you think? She just recorded her daily life with her family and later her husband and daughter describing all their wonderful adventures. Oh, how I love and admire that pioneer spirit!

    I am so glad you have a clothesline and can see it from your kitchen window. I would love to have a window in my kitchen, but this is something I must learn to be content with!!! 🙂

    Have a sweet home-keeping day!
    Bless you, sweet friend!
    Paula

    P.S. I love old-fashioned living and how you described it… sweet and simple!!!

  6. Dear Sharon,

    I am so like you! I absolutely love hanging out the laundry…I can see it from the kitchen window and I could actually just stand and watch it!

    Your quilt is so beautiful!

    Thank the Lord for our love of simple pleasures!

    Love, Tina xx

  7. I feel exactly the same way!

    I had the joy of hanging clothes on *our* 1st clothesline about 18 months after our marriage, when we rented a small mini home :o)

    Ever since that wonderful experience, I’ve never wanted to be without one!

    I love seeing the items on the line flapping in the breeze and there’s nothing like the fragrance of sheets and things that are dried in the sun :o)

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. Dear Senkyoshi,

    Thank you for visiting today ~ the smell of line dried clothes is so delightful! It is such a simple pleasure and I am so happy to be able to hang things out once again! I’m glad that you’re able to enjoy it too!

    Have a blessed weekend,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Teri,

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely Saturday!

    I am so glad that you are enjoying your new camera ~ how fun! I love to take pictures as well!

    The fabric hanging on my clothesline is a sheet that I have had since I was a teenager. We usually use it now as our picnic tablecloth. What you said about your quilt got me thinking that maybe I could make a quilt out of this old sheet. Wouldn’t that be fun to turn something that I’ve had from childhood into a keepsake? I think I will have to do some thinking and planning on this! Thank you for your inspiration!!

    The simple and old fashioned ways appeal to me so much! I am always looking for ways to bring that simple enjoyment into my home and life!

    Have a wonderful weekend,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Terri,

    I have only had a clothesline for the last few years, hopefully I can save some money! There are no rules here about having clotheslines, but you really don’t see too many up in this area.

    I always enjoy your sweet visits ~ you are such an encouragement.

    I hope you have a wonderful time while your family is visiting!!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Phoebe,

    I so agree with your feeling of contentment!! The funny thing is ~ it is probably a little more work to take the clothes and hang them all up rather than just putting them in the dryer ~ but it brings so much more pleasure and enjoyment!! And the fresh smell is so worth it all!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day ~ and have a blessed Lord’s day tomorrow,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Deby,

    Thank you so much for your sweet visit!

    The simple pleasure of seeing the clothes hanging on the line and the smell of the freshly dried clothes ~ what a blessing it is!
    Isn’t the weather beautiful today? We had a wedding to go to today so I haven’t been able to take advantage of hanging any clothes out yet today. I hope you are enjoying the warmth and sunshine we’re having!

    Simple pleasures are indeed the best!

    Have a blessed Sunday,

    Sharon

  13. Dear Paula,

    Thank you so much for your sweet comments! What a blessing you are!

    The fabric hanging on my line is actually a sheet that I have had since I was a young teenager. I loved anything that was patchwork and so my mom found this sheet set for me. The flat sheet is all I have now and we usually just use it as our picnic tablecloth ~ however, Teri mentioned a quilt she had that looked similar, and it got me thinking that maybe I could make a quilt out of this old sheet. And then you mentioned “quilt”, and so I am even more inspired to do this! I think it would be a lovely quilt and a way to keep something from my childhood! How fun!!

    I too, love books about Laura Ingalls Wilder ~ we have a number of them here at home. Yes, I think they enjoyed such a simple life ~ not always easy I’m sure, but I think they enjoyed simple pleasures. I love things from the pioneer days!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day there in your home with your family!

    Many blessings to you Paula!

    Sharon

  14. Dear Tina,

    I am so glad that you can see your clothesline from your kitchen window too! How lovely it is! We are so blessed!!

    Like I mentioned to Paula above, as of now that is a sheet you see hanging on my clothesline in the picture. I have had it since my teenage years and you all have inspired me that maybe I could make a quilt out of it! I’ll have to give that a try.
    There are always so many fun projects to work on!

    Yes, thank you Lord for all the simple pleasures that we can enjoy!

    May your weekend be filled with many simple things to enjoy Tina!

    Sharon

  15. Dear Dallas,

    How wonderful that you have enjoyed using a clothesline for so many years! I have only had a clothesline for a few years now ~ I didn’t know what I was missing out on all those previous years!

    It is such a delight to be able to look out my kitchen window and see the hummingbirds at the feeder and now things hanging on the line too! The smell of freshly dried clothes is so delightful!

    Hope your weekend is delightful as well,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

