A fresh focus

Do you ever feel like you are just floating along and not being as focused and purposeful as you would like to be? My heart is feeling a bit discouraged in this area today.

I took out the rough draft of my purposeful living outline where I had written down things to work on and goals and dreams that I would like to accomplish…things that I value and that I want to be priorities. Things relating to my relationship with the Lord… being a wife and mother…a homemaker…projects to work on…financial goals…blessing others…personal character goals, etc. The fact that I have these things written down here doesn’t make them a reality or bring them to fruition! So many times I seem to get sidetracked!

However, my heart was encouraged this morning as well!

I was inspired by the chapter I read called A Pattern for the Household ~ Her Discipline ~ in the book Beautiful in God’s Eyes. It is encouragement to me to really make the most of the early morning hours!

I find that there is always hope and instruction in God’s word! Verses such as Proverbs 16:3 “Commit your work to the LORD and your plans will be established.” (ESV)

Prayer and planning and a fresh look at purposeful living are on the agenda here at The Shepherd’s House! Today is a new day to press on to be who God wants me to be and work towards all He has planned for my life!

Wishing you a day filled with His blessings and grace!

14 thoughts on “A fresh focus

  1. Dear Sharon,

    I really appreciated this post because these are things that I have been troubled about recently as well.

    I am so glad that God’s promises are new every morning and that He never gives up on me, even when sometimes I am tempted to give up on myself :o)

    Have a wonderful week ahead!

  2. Dear Dallas,

    How I need to make the most of my time! I am pretty good about making lists of goals and such but I am often neglectful in actually scheduling time out and then implementing things. But God is so faithful!! He doesn’t give up on us!

    And today is a new day! It was a beautiful sunny day today and we spent a little time at the beach today. I brought my notebook along!

    I hope you have a lovely week ahead and that you will be encouraged in the Lord!

    Sharon

  3. Me too, me too! I need to make better use of my time as well. I have been trying though, and I thank you Sharon for the nice reminder from Proverbs. God’s word is always so much easier for me to take than the guilt trips I lay on myself when I don’t do as well as I had hoped.

    Kris

  4. Sharon, I often feel like this. I find myself “reacting” to life instead of being “proactive”. I feel like I’m just running to catch-up. I like the saying, “How do you eat an elephant?” One bite at a time!

    Anyway, thank you for sharing this today.

    Love,
    Terri

  5. Good Morning Sharon ~

    As I read over the comments on this post ~ I think that
    each one could have been written by me.

    Thank you for this post ~ I need to take time and just
    try to get back on track. It seems as if everything is going
    so smoothly and then in seconds I feel so unorganized and
    just not so calm and relaxed.

    I think prayer and planning are what I need.

    God bless each of you.

    Hugs to all ~
    Teri

  6. Dear Sharon,

    What a good idea to ‘take stock’ from time to time. It can be all too easy to lose sight of our goals, dreams and hopes.

    Hope you are feeling better now, have a happy and Blessed day!

    Love, Tina xx

  7. Dear Kris,

    The Word of God does bring such encouragement and hope! We can just keep pressing on and let Him lead and guide our days!

    Hugs & Blessings to you Kris,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Terri,

    Thank you for the encouragement!! I like the saying you shared! One bite at a time isn’t so hard! It helps to look at it that way!

    Thank you Terri!

    Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Teri,

    Isn’t it interesting how we all seem to go through the same things from time to time? We really are not alone in our struggles! It is so nice to find encouragement from one another!

    Yes, prayer and planning it is for me too!

    Hugs Teri!

    Sharon

  10. Dear Tina,

    Yes, it is good to take stock of our lives to help us keep on tract. I am a goal oriented person but I just get a little side tracked sometimes and I think that’s what makes me discouraged at myself. I enjoyed a little pondering time at the beach yesterday and that helped immensely!

    Blessings and hugs,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Sharon,
    Thank you so much for sharing your struggles. This is so timely as I have felt the same way. The book you mentioned sounds wonderful and I love the verse you shared. I know the Lord will bless all your efforts there at your dear Shepherds House! Thank you for the encouragement you always give me. I am so thankful for God’s grace and that He is always willing to help us if we just ask.

    May the Lord bless you sweet friend!
    Paula

  12. Dear Paula,

    It seems that many of us seem to be experiencing some of the same things. And it is so wonderful that we can encourage one another and also find encouragement from the Lord. Yes, He is always so willing to help us when we ask! I have so many lessons to learn and He is a gentle and patient teacher. What a blessing that is!

    I hope you have a lovely day in your home and that the Lord will bless your day and all the works of your hands!

    I’m thankful for your sweet friendship,

    Sharon

  13. Dear Sharon,

    You are right, I have noticed that many of us are experiencing some of the same things. It is a blessing to encourage one another and from the Lord! Thank you for always directing us to Him. I have much to learn too and I am thankful for His patience and gentleness as well.

    I am thankful for your sweet friendship!!! I pray the Lord will bless the works of your hands! Thank you!
    Paula

Leave a Reply

