Learning contentment


It appears that there are so many things the Lord seems to be working on in my heart these days! But it is a very good thing! One night at church as I was waiting for worship to start, I happened to hear a couple of people talking and all of a sudden I could feel discontent creeping into my heart! How quickly I can allow discontent to come when I start looking around and comparing myself to others! The Lord used this time to show me how easy it is for discontentment to take root! The CD Peace All Over Me by Serene Allison and Pearl Barnett has a song with a chorus on it that I particularly like. It does my heart good to sing these words ~ they are such lovely words of encouragement:

“My heart is full, my heart is full,

Why would I want for more

When my cup overflows?

My heart is full, my heart is full,

This much I know.”

Oh, I have so many lessons to learn with the Lord! I guess my schooling continues on!! In a world filled with distractions, it’s a growing process of learning to keep my eyes on Jesus!

Today I am finding a sense of contentment in the blessing of being able to pick a bouquet of flowers from my own yard! Such simple joy it brings!

Of course, my real contentment needs to be in the Lord Himself ~ even if I have no flowers to pick! My heart is full because of Him!

Is your heart full?

May your heart be filled with peace and contentment as you reflect on the Lord and His many blessings!

14 thoughts on “Learning contentment

  1. Yes, it definitely is full! I certainly have to work hard though at not letting discontentment creep in. However, I find as time goes on it gets a bit easier.

    Terri

  2. Dear Terri,

    I think it does get a bit easier ~ I think that’s why I was surprised that I was starting to feel discontent all of a sudden and over something insignificant too!!

    The Lord is so good ~ we have so many blessings to enjoy each day!!

    Hugs to you,

    Sharon

  3. Good Evening Sharon ~

    I look forward to your post each day! You are such an
    inspiration to me. The words to the song are so nice and
    your bouquet from your garden is really pretty.

    Your are such a sweet friend and have been a blessing
    to me in so many ways.

    I ask the Lord to bless you, as I pray for you today.
    To guide you and protect you, as you go along your way.
    God’s love is always with you.
    God’s promises are true.
    And when you give God all your cares.
    You know God will see you through.

    This was sent to me by a dear friend and I just want to
    pass it along to you.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  4. It is something I have to work on in more than one area of my life….
    I think it is something that is so prevalent in these days, the WANT OF MORE….whatever it is..or better, or different..we are a throw away society, wanting the latest and greatest..yes…as you read in my last blog post. I do struggle with this….and have to rest in the Lord and stay in HIS WORD.
    Deby

  5. Dear Teri,

    You are so sweet! Your words of kindness mean so much!! And thank you for the gift of that lovely poem! You have totally blessed my day!

    Hugs to you ~

    Sharon

  6. Dear Deby,

    I think contentment is something most of us have to keep working on. I know that when I start to look around and compare myself to others, I start going down the wrong road! I know it helps me so much to cultivate a grateful heart for even the smallest blessings and above all to keep my eyes on Jesus!! Isn’t it so wonderful that the Lord is patient with us and keeps leading us in His ways!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Meredith,

    Thank you so much for your sweet encouragement ~ it means so much!

    I am so blessed by the lovely inspiration you share on your blog!!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Kalianne,

    Thank you so much for visiting me and for your sweet comment! I agree with what you said ~ “To be content is to be truly rich!”

    There are so many little things to fill our hearts with gratitude each day!

    Please come and visit again!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Sharon,
    Such a lovely and encouraging post as always! I am still learning contentment but I have found the more I abide in Him, reading His word and praying and asking for a grateful and content heart, I can see what a difference it makes. I am sure I will be discontent again, but I will be more quick to repent and thank Him for all He has blessed me with.

    Yes, my heart is full because of Him too! I know the only place to find real contentment is in the Lord.

    Thank you for your encouragement!

    The Lord bless you!
    Paula

    Your flowers are so pretty!

  10. Dear Paula,

    Thank you so much for sharing all of your lovely thoughts ~ they are so true and so encouraging! It think it is a growing process to becoming more and more content! It is a good thing when we recognize the discontent and can be quick to repent like you say!

    You are always such a blessing Paula!

    Thank you for encouraging me!

    Blessings my friend,

    Sharon

  11. I love the flowers and I love the gingham tablecloth!
    I have to remind myself often about my blessings and to be content where God has placed me.
    Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

