A shining star

“A woman who is satisfied and doesn’t complain shines out in the world like a star in the sky (Philippians 2:14-15), and is refreshing to all those around her. Satisfaction involves accepting ourselves and the situations we are in. It is also the result of being concerned primarily with people rather than things.”

Quote taken from HOMEMAKING ~ A Bible Study for Women at Home by Baukje Doornenbal and Tjitske Lemstra

Don’t you want to shine for the Lord like this? ♥

Have a lovely day! ♥

14 thoughts on “A shining star

  1. Dear Sharon

    This speaks to my heart. What beautiful thoughts. I’m learning that ‘things’ aren’t as important as I once thought. It’s friends, family and community which bring wealth to this life.

    Thank you so much for visiting me – it was a blessing to read your sweet comments today.

    ~Kalianne

  2. Dear Sharon,
    Indeed I do want to shine for the Lord Jesus like that!
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful quote with us! I am going to record that in my journal.

    Your flowers are beautiful!
    Have a lovely weekend there at The Shepherds House, filled with God’s love and grace!
    The Lord bless you!
    Paula

  3. What a beautiful quote, thank you so much for sharing. You have a gift for choosing the most edifying and helpful things to post about Sharon!

    Have a Blessed day!

    Love, Tina xxx

  4. What a wonderful quote ~ something like that is always challenging and encouraging!

    I am looking forward to seeing some of your daughter’s crochet projects when she’s completed them Lo)

    Have a blessed weekend with your loved ones.

  5. Dear Paula,

    I have had the Bible study book on homemaking for a long time and that quote always spoke to me! I, too, want to shine for Him!

    I wish I could take credit for those lovely flowers ~ I actually saw them when we were out at the wildlife sanctuary and took a picture!

    I hope your weekend at Rose Cottage is lovely!

    Blessings to you and your family,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Tina,

    Thank you! That quote has always spoken to my heart ~ I am happy to know it is a blessing to others as well.

    I hope your weekend is filled with happy times!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Dallas,

    Yes, I think it is both challenging and encouraging! I do want to shine for the Lord each day.

    It is my 11 year old that has been crocheting ~ she has learned single and double crochet so far and has been working on doll blankets!

    I hope you and your family have a very blessed weekend,

    Sharon

  8. Sharon,

    When your 11 yr old has finished one of her delightful little doll blankets, take a picture so we can all comment on it for her :o)

    I think it’s wonderful that she has learned as much as she has.
    I was sorry that when my daughter wanted to learn a couple of years ago, I was of little help because I am left-handed while she is right-handed ~ it made for great confusion when I was trying to show her :o(

    She decided to give up and I only hope that someone who knows how to do it comes along in her future and shares the right-handed way with her. She picked up a bit of knitting when she was 9-11 yrs old from her paternal grandmother who was a great knitter but passed away in 2004.

    Unfortunately my daughter hasn’t kept it up but hopefully it’s a skill you can pick up easily again sometime in the future … I know crocheting is like that for me!

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day!

  9. Dear Dallas,

    That would be so nice if someone could help your daughter with the crocheting. I have never tried knitting before but crocheting is enjoyable. I did learn how to do the granny square with help at a class but I didn’t keep up with it so I don’t know if I found a pattern if I could figure it out on my own or not! I think it is a lovely pattern. I enjoy seeing all of the pretty dishcloths that you make!!

    Abigail enjoys crocheting and she is getting better as she has more practice!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

