Summertime pleasures

I hope you all have had a lovely and restful weekend! We have had a lovely and busy one! Saturday we went to the lavender festival! I enjoyed it very much! There were vendors selling some pretty things, the gift shop filled with little treasures, special harp music, lavender flavored lemonade and ice cream, u-cut lavender ~ and quite a few people enjoying the day there!

We sat on a bench just above the rows of U-cut lavender and watched the people cutting their lovely bouquets! I wonder what plans they have for them!

After we came home, we spent time working in our own garden areas! It is fun to have some time out viewing other gardens, but there is such satisfaction in the accomplishment of things around your own home! I enjoyed working in my little cottage garden!

Yesterday we had company over for lunch after church and then later, Bill, Rachel, Abbie and I went down to the lighthouse for a short time!

It was so very pretty here by the water but a little breezy! Our weather has been sunny and beautiful ~ it is so good to be enjoying these blessed summer days! In the evening coolness the four of us played a little badminton ~ what good exercise that was!

My husband is off on Mondays and so we have plans to take a small ferry to a man made island in the area. It is a lovely spot that we first went to last year. We can take a picnic lunch and some books and enjoy a restful visit! I’m so thankful for another sunny day with lovely blue skies!

What simple pleasures did you enjoy this weekend?

May the Lord bless you richly today!

16 thoughts on “Summertime pleasures

  1. I enjoyed reading about your weekend. It sounded like you have had both an enjoyable one and a productive one.

    The view of the little light house was so remarkable. Very cute! I imagine that the water is just lovely to look at this time of year.

    I am still getting caught up with some things around the house from our vacation so haven’t had too many moments to enjoy the simple pleasures but I do hope to do so soon.

    The lavender flowers are spectacular. Thanks for sharing.

    hugs,

    Dianne

  2. Good Morning Sharon ~

    Such a nice weekend for you and your family! Your pictures
    are so pretty. It is so nice to be home after you have
    enjoyed such a pleasant time out and seeing so many
    pretty things.

    I would love to see your cottage garden! Our black-eyed
    susans are blooming and they are such a pretty background
    on our little rustic fence that borders our patio. Our herbs
    are doing very well.

    My marigolds that I planted from seed ~ in the washtub ~
    are doing well.

    We had a quiet weekend. Our weather was very nice also.
    It has been very cool at night and early morning ~ perfect
    for sitting out with a cup of coffee and a good book.

    We do most of our day trips during the week. My husband
    retired 5 years ago after 35 years in law enforcement. It
    is usually a little quieter during the week.

    Have a wonderful day ~ an island, picnic lunch, a good
    book and family ~ who could ask for more.

    I truly enjoy each and every one of your posts!

    Enjoy your day!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Thank you for the pretty pictures! I remember that area so well…the lavender is gorgeous and the smell is heavenly. What a blessing to have the warm weather and some time off to enjoy it!

    Kris

  4. Dear Sharon,

    I am enjoying all your lovely posts. The cards are so pretty and I know you enjoyed making those to add to your blessing basket! The photo and verse you shared in your previous post was such a blessing!

    I loved these photos as well!I am so glad you enjoyed the lavender festival. It sounds like such fun! I do love working in our cottage garden too! It is fun to see other gardens and get ideas and inspiration, but it is rewarding to work in your very own garden.

    The lighthouse is so pretty and I am glad to hear you are having nice weather! I hope you all have delightful time today on your picnic and ferry ride. Oh, what fun!

    We celebrated Justin’s 13th birthday today! My dear husband has taken him out fishing and he was so happy with his gifts; lures, fishing line, a worm bag and such. All the things a fisherman needs.

    Thank you for sharing your summertime pleasures with me!

    You are always an encouragement and blessing!

    The Lord richly bless you and your family!
    Paula

  5. A lavender festival ~ what a treat and what a beautiful fragrance!

    It sounds and looks as if you all had a fabulous weekend, as pictures are worth thousands of words :o)

    Trust that the week ahead is a good one for you and your family!

  6. Dear Dianne,

    Thanks so much for visiting today ~ it is so good to hear from you! I missed you while you were gone on vacation but I hope that you had a lovely and refreshing time! I loved seeing the pictures of you and your husband when you spent time with Terri! I’m sure you had a wonderful visit with them.

    Our weather has been beautiful and warm and we have been enjoying it so much ~ such lovely summer days!

    I hope that you get everything caught up there so that you can enjoy some simple days!

    Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Sharon

    What a lovely weekend! The Lavender Festival sounded wonderful! I love lavender and emonade and icecream and harp music! It must have been a near perfect day!

    The light house is pretty and the weather looks so sunny and beautiful. It’s winter here. We’ve been having a good deal of rain, which is a blessing as we desperately need it.

    Enjoy your picnic on Monday, it sounds delightful!

    Blessings,
    Kalianne

  8. Dear Teri,

    We have been enjoying blessed days! Now tomorrow I have lots of homemaking to do to catch up a little.

    I would love to see your gardens too! It sounds like things are growing well for you! My cottage garden really is a very humble looking little garden but I do enjoy it. I have some black-eyed Susans too right along the little picket fence in the cottage garden. Mine are not blooming yet but it won’t be long now! They are such a pretty flower!

    I am glad that you are enjoying some nice weather too and are taking time out for your coffee and a book ~ so nice! It is nice that you and your husband can take day trips during the week ~ it really is much less crowed then. We can do that on Mondays too when my husband is home. What a blessing that your husband is retired and you can enjoy doing things together!

    I hope your day has been lovely!

    Hugs,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Kris,

    I just love lavender plants and the smell is so wonderful! We have a shed in our backyard that needs to be removed and I am hoping to use the area to start my own cutting garden. I think that it would be nice to have a couple of rows of lavender to use for cutting!

    It seems we waited so long for this warm weather to come but how nice it is now!

    I hope your day has been blessed!

    Hugs,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Paula,

    I hope you had a wonderful celebration for Justin’s 13th birthday! Happy Birthday Justin!! It sounds like the fishing supplies were the perfect gift for him! I hope that the two of them had a wonderful time together fishing. It is so nice that they can enjoy this special father/son time!

    Thank you so much for all of your kind words! You always encourage me so!!

    We have been enjoying some wonderful summertime pleasures! I hope that you and your family are enjoying blessed days as well at your lovely cottage on the lake!

    Blessings Paula,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Dallas,

    The lavender festival was very enjoyable. It was fun watching the people cutting their bouquets to brighten up their homes ~ the fragrance is so wonderful!

    We have been enjoying some lovely summer days which I am so thankful for! I hope that you and your family are enjoying some lovely summer days too!

    May the Lord encourage you and bless all the works of your hands this week!

    Have a sweet Tuesday,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Kailanne,

    Thank you for your sweet comment!

    It has been a lovely weekend but busy too! I love lavender too ~ it smells so delightful! I have a few plants here at home and enjoy them. I would like to plant a couple of rows in a cutting garden so that I can make bouquets. That would be so much fun!

    As I was posting on these summertime pleasures I was thinking about you and the fact that it is not summer everywhere! I am so glad that you are receiving the rain that you need. That really is a blessing!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  13. oh..I can just smell the lavender from here…can I be a bit jealous….. I know the *S* festival is also this weekend..and it is a possibilty depending on a few things….
    The lighthouse picture is great….
    Deby

  14. Dear Deby,

    If it works out for you to go to the festival ~ I hope you have a wonderful time!! We waited so long for this beautiful weather ~ isn’t it so wonderful?!!

    I hope you have a very blessed day filled with the simple things you enjoy,

    Sharon

  15. hello my dear:

    As always the photos which you have posted were splendid.
    The lighthouse view in the photo was simply warm.
    Have a nice day and thanks for making me smile.

  16. Hello Mages!

    Thank you so much for brightening up my day today! You always are such an encouragement to me!

    I hope your day is filled with blessings and that your weekend is lovely!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

