Over the backyard fence

My husband and I were talking the other morning and he mentioned that he thinks blogging is like a modern version of chatting over the backyard fence. I liked that! It blesses me to think of my visits with each of you in such a sweet old-fashioned way! And I think it is so true!!

Don’t we have so much to share with one another just like women in the past did over the fence with their neighbors? Things such as:

Homemade gift ideas

Recipes

Craft and sewing projects

Good books

Scriptures to encourage

Struggles and disappointments

Our sweet families

Flowers in our gardens

Vegetable gardens

Places we’ve visited

Joys and accomplishments

Do any of you have any other ideas to add of things women might have chatted about over the backyard fence? I would love to hear your thoughts!

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.”

Lucy Maud Montgomery in Anne of Green Gables

Have a lovely old-fashioned day!


16 thoughts on “Over the backyard fence

  1. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such a wonderful post! I had mentioned before that we
    live in the home that was built for my grandmother by my
    parents and my dads siblings. We, as kids lived next door.
    So after we were married and bought grandmas house,
    we lived next door to my parents. My mother had her
    clothesline and garden in their backyard and we had our
    clothesline and garden in our backyard and our son had
    his sandbox and swingset in the back. Our yard has a
    fence around it. So we had many good chats over the
    backyard fence. My parents passed on many years ago,
    but we have so many memories of those times.

    It would be so nice to be able to chat over the fence with
    you and the special ladies who comment on your website.
    We all have many ideas to share with one another.

    I also have to say that “Anne of Green Gables and Anne
    of Avonlea” are high on my list of favorites. I would love
    to buy the set of movies on DVD, but have priced them and
    they are very expensive ~ so I have checked them out from
    our library several times. Wonderful movies!

    I look so forward to each of your posts. You have such a
    nice, inspirational and homey way of sharing your thoughts
    and ideas.

    Have a nice evening.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Sharon

    What a very lovely thought! Yes, blogging is rather like chatting over the back fence! As we would say in Australia – I think your husband has hit the nail of the head!

    I remember backyard chats over the fence with neighbors when I was a young child growing up in the 70’s. I’d play with my sister and Dad or Mum would be chatting to neighbors sometimes. Our family were friends with all our neighbors. We have photos of many old neighbors in our old family albums.

    I think the ladies probably also chatted about family and friends, maybe even pets and up and coming events of interest?

    I like the idea that my blogging friends are ‘neighbors’ – and it’s been lovely ‘chatting over the back fence’ with you today! 😉

    Blessings
    Kalianne

  3. Hi Sharon. Blogging is definitely like that! I’ve enjoyed getting to know so many new friends from all over the world from the comfort of my own home. It’s definitely and interesting experience.

    Have a blessed day,
    Terri

  4. Dear Teri,

    Good morning! What wonderful backyard memories you have!

    Wouldn’t it be so lovely and fun to really be able to chat over the fence! I love learning bits and pieces of everyones lives. I learn so much and am always blessed!

    Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea are two of my favorites as well ~ I have them on VHS ~ a gift from my husband many years ago. Abbie and I just watched Anne of Green Gables a couple of weeks or so ago.

    Thanks for blessing me with your “backyard visit”! You always encourage me so!

    I hope you have a lovely day,

    Sharon

  5. Dear Kalianne,

    It sounds like you have sweet backyard memories too! When I was growing up it seemed that most of the neighbors knew one another at least to a little extent. It seems different today and I wonder how much we’re missing from days gone by.

    Yes, I think the ladies probably would chat about family and friends, pets and upcoming events! What wonderful opportunities to share and encourage one another!

    It has been such a blessing to me to have you come for a “visit over the fence” today! Hope to chat with you again soon!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Terri,

    I hope you are having a blessed day today! I always enjoy a “backyard visit” with you!

    It really is amazing being able to chat with people from far and near through blogging. There are so many women that we can share with and learn from! It has been such a delight for me. I am always so encouraged reading about women that are doing the same things as I am and enjoying it! Such fun!

    I hope you accomplish much today in getting things ready for your move.

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Dearest Sharon,

    Your posts are just so wonderfully uplifting and are an absolute blessing to me every day. How I wish you were over my backyard fence!

    You have such a gift for writing….when are you going to write a book??

    Have a beautiful day,

    Love, Tina xxx

  8. Dear Sharon,
    I am doing it again staying way to long at the computer! I allow myself this ever so often and just get caught up in some really great blogs. Yours is so welcoming. I am glad I found you. Your husband sounds like a very insightful man. I love the analogy.
    Sharon I also wanted to ask back on the 12th I think you mentioned a blessing basket. Would you please tell me a little more about this. Thanks, Deborah

  9. Sharon,

    I just loved your husband’s analogy of blogging being like chatting with neighbours over the backyard fence!

    The list you have is mine as well and I can’t think of much else to add.

    The *Anne of Green Gables* series is one of my favourites and I just loved the mini series done back in the mid 1980s.

    Have a lovely, old-fashioned day and weekend!

  10. Dear Deborah,

    It is so nice to have you visit! There really are so many lovely and inspiring blogs ~ it is very easy to get caught up with visiting!

    As for the blessing basket, you can put in “blessing basket” on my search box at the top of the page or just scroll down to June 3 to the post I did on it. I hope this helps!

    Looking forward to visiting with you again!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Dallas,

    I know ~ I thought the idea of chatting over the fence was such a sweet idea and was meaningful to me.

    The Anne of Green Gables movies are such favorites and I really love the scenery too! Prince Edward Island would be such a lovely place to visit!

    I so enjoy my “backyard visits” with you ~ I will be talking to you again soon!

    Have a wonderful day and trusting the Lord to bless your weekend as well!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Sharon,

    What a delightful post! How wonderful that your husband thought of blogging as visiting over the backyard fence! The photo you shared is just lovely! I love your list of things we can share, and like to think of it in the sweet old-fashioned way that you do!

    You are so encouraging and I always enjoy my visits with you. I love the quote you shared so much. How true that is! I enjoyed reading the books and seeing Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea movies.

    Have a delightful old-fashioned day at your Shepherds House!

    Blessings dear friend,
    Paula

  13. Dear Paula,

    Thank you! I always enjoy our visits “over the backyard fence”! You are such a sweet and encouraging friend! Thank you so much for being a blessing to me!

    I hope you enjoy an old-fashioned Sunday there in your sweet home with your sweet family!

    God bless you richly!!!

    Sharon

  14. I so so agree with this. In fact I was commenting on a post today …and said the *same thing*.
    I also find it a bit sad that although we, as women, feel the need to do this…that it is not being done in person.
    What I mean is, no one is barely home anymore to have this comraderie and mentoring with.
    So many young women are not home raising their children and the older women are still in the work force…beautiful homes often, but very empty.
    I am thankful for this blogging world and posts like yours that encourage me as a woman …
    deby

  15. Dear Deby,

    I so agree with you ~ I too find it somewhat sad that we aren’t able to get together for such encouragement. There is such a need for this! I have been happy though to find women online who share my love of homemaking!

    Have a blessed evening,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

