Home sweet home dreams

“A house is made of walls and beams;

a home is built with love and dreams.”

Source Unknown

“I was privileged in the spring, to visit a home that was to me – and I am sure to the occupants – a little piece of Heaven. There was beauty there. There was a keen appreciation of the finer things in life, and an atmosphere in which it was impossible to keep from thinking of God.”

Peter Marshall – former chaplain of the U. S. Senate

This quote is a portion of one of my very favorite quotes! The last line especially comes to mind as I work on the dreams I have for my own little home. It is one of my Shepherd’s House dreams that my home would be a place like this ~ that there would be beauty and simplicity and that it would have that “atmosphere in which it was impossible to keep from thinking of God.” It is my hope to create a home where guests would leave wanting more of Him and not focused on what I do or do not have.

Do any of you have special dreams for your home?

May the Lord bless you today!

12 thoughts on “Home sweet home dreams

  1. What a wonderful goal ~ to have any visitors who have spent time in my home, depart thinking more of HIM and nothing of my home decor or what I served them for tea or supper!

    That is what I would like my home to be as well ~ a place of refreshment and encouragement, where I am able to share with others, what the Lord has done for me.

    Thanks for reminding me that this! You wouldn’t think that I needed reminding myself because these very things that you have mentioned are what I notice about a home when I leave it :o)

    Blessings this week as our footsteps are directed by Him!

  2. I have lived in many places…but just yesterday my Husband complimented me…he said, “No matter where we live, you’ve always managed to make it homey”…I think that was a great thing to say and to accomplish.

    Great post!

    I hope you are having a beautiful and inspired day!☼

  3. Dear Sharon

    I am coming to appreciate more each day the beauty of simplicity. A home modestly and comfortably furnished with the comfort of family and guests foremost in mind is a haven. I especially enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of Christian homes and hope mine emulates this atmosphere too!

    I hope you don’t mind this long reply. I so enjoy our little chats and I think you will enjoy this.

    I ‘ve been doing a little research on the Victorian era, known as “the domestic age par excellence” from which modern homemakers may derive much inspiration. During Victorian era the home “was regarded as a haven from the busy and chaotic public world of politics and business, and from the grubby world of the factory”. A century or so later society still needs homes like these!

    I like this quotation from The Christian Miscellany and Family Visitor (1890) –

    ‘She [the housewife] is the architect of home, and it depends on her skill, her foresight, her soft arranging touches whether it shall be the “lodestar to all hearts”, or whether it shall be a house from which husband and children are glad to escape either to the street, the theatre, or the tavern.’

    A home may still attract or repel the family. You might enjoy this excellent post by Mrs Anna T “The Spirit of Home – A Blessing Rediscovered” – http://ccostello.blogspot.com/2008/05/spirit-of-home-blessing-rediscovered.html

    I understand that the Victorian era had it’s social and economic problems however I really appreciate the strong sense of purpose women had at this time.

    “The domestic sphere was a cultural expression of the female world”.

    “Their fashions, etiquette, domestic furnishings, social engagements, religious devotion and charitable activity all served to delineate a universe within which women could demonstrate their power.”

    At this time women were recognized and respected as a queen of their homes. They had a sphere of influence and blessing they could call their own.

    Homemaking and hospitality give me a great sense of purpose and meaning in my life – more so than my former career. Creating a home that binds my family’s hearts and brings honor to God is my idea of a dream home!

    Many blessings,
    Kalianne
    (all quotes from http://www.bbc.co.uk)

  4. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such an inspirational post! Thank you for sharing this. I
    hope that those who have spent time in our home, leave
    with a sense of peace and simplicity.

    Blessings at your ~ Home Sweet Home! ~
    Thank you again for another very special post to ponder.

    Have a blessed evening!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  5. I would like my home to always reflect the love of Christ. This is the dream that I would like for our little cottage.

    My children and my husband feel the same way. I hope this is what our visitors see and leave our home with.

    In Christ,

    mari

  6. Sharon, I love that quote by Peter Marshall and desire that for my home. One of my spiritual gifts is hospitality and that’s one of the reasons I absolutely love my new home. I can’t wait to use it to God’s glory by having lots of visitors!

  7. Dear Dallas,

    I agree with you ~ it is my desire that my home would be a place of refreshment and encouragement too! I’m sure there are so many wonderful opportunities that the Lord would want to bring our way to use our homes for His glory!

    I know that it needs to be less of me and more of HIM!!

    It is such a blessing to find other ladies that have similar goals and desires for their homes!

    Blessings on your week,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Tammy,

    I think that is a wonderful compliment that your husband has given you! Isn’t that such a blessing and an encouragement in your homemaking?

    I, too, love to make my house “homey”!

    I hope you are having a lovely day!!

    Sharon

  9. Dear Kalianne,

    I don’t mind long replies at all ~ I love visiting with you!! Your comments and the link you shared were very encouraging to me!

    What a delight it is to make our homes into a haven for our families and the ones that the Lord sends our way!

    I agree with what you said about homemaking and hospitality giving such a great sense of purpose and meaning ~ it is such a joy to work at building a home that is honoring to God!

    Have a lovely day!!

    Sharon

  10. Dear Teri,

    Peace and simplicity are also two of the things that are so important to me. I hope, like you, to have a home that radiates these things to my own family as well as those who come to visit here.

    What a blessing we enjoy being homemakers!!

    May the Lord bless you in all your works around your home!

    Have a wonderful evening, Teri!

    Sharon

  11. Dear Mari,

    It is such an encouragement to me to hear of the dreams that others have for their homes. Not just a desire for more things ~ but for things like you have shared ~ that your home would reflect the love of Christ!

    What a wonderful dream to have and it is such a blessing that your husband and children feel the same way!

    May the Lord bless your home with His love ~ that you would be a light in the darkness!

    Many blessings,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Terri,

    I am so excited for you!! I will look forward to see how the Lord will use you in hospitality in this new home that He has blessed you with!

    It is so encouraging and inspiring to me!

    May the Lord bless your hospitality for His glory!

    Have a wonderful evening,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

