Finding my home style

“I sense that there is a reassuring and renewed love of home…There is a reverence for the simple, quiet pleasures of living well and beautifully at home…And it is in our homes that we can become more truly ourselves by paying greater attention to the specific ingredients and finishing touches we select to change our homes into something that is uniquely our own…Life is too short for you to be the caretaker of the wrong details.”

Alexandra Stoddard ~ Living a Beautiful Life

In the chapter titled “Flower Arrangements” in The Hidden Art of Homemaking Edith Schaeffer shares this:

“There is no specific kind of house you must live in to be ‘spiritual’ – only the house the Lord has chosen for His chosen purpose for you, and the house with you in it. But whether it be a palace or a tree house, beauty is important, and this very simple form of producing beauty is really one of the most universally possible expressions of ‘Hidden Art’.”

I think it is a most wonderful and freeing thing when we see our homes as a place given to us from the Father’s hand and when our heart grasps that it does not have to look just like someone else’s home! I know that I can’t really be content and thrive in using my home for the Lord until I really get a hold of this ~ so it is something I have to continue to remind myself of! I am finding it is okay to be happy with a simple bouquet of garden flowers in a recycled juice bottle!

I hope you can find a way to bring some “hidden art” in your own style to brighten up the home that the Lord has blessed you with!

Have a lovely and contented day!

20 thoughts on “Finding my home style

  1. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such a simple and pretty bouquet that you have shared.

    Your post is so heartwarming! We each have different
    ideas for our homes ~ but we all seem to have the same
    object in mind as to want our homes to be special, simple,
    comfy and to use our special touches that are so pleasing
    to each of us and to our families. I want our home to be a
    place where we can come in from the outside world and
    have a peaceful and inspirational setting. ~ A place that
    we are proud to call our home! ~

    Sharon ~ thank you for sparking so much interest in so
    many areas of homekeeping! You are an inspiration to
    so many of us.

    Thank you again!

    Special blessings to you!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Thank you for sharing this, Sharon. I get into trouble when I start comparing and wanting my home to look or feel like someone else’s. I think we all have our own styles and have to figure that out!

    Terri

  3. I really enjoyed your thoughts Sharon as well as the two delightful quotes you shared.

    I’ve read the first book but I think I’d like to look around for a copy of the second :o)

    Blessings to you!

  4. Dear Sharon,

    I have both books but I have only finished reading one. I am, slowly but surely, learning to enjoy my house as is. I mean, to decorate it with the beauty of the garden, or the crafts that I am able to make.

    I truly enjoyed your post. Thank you for writing it 🙂

    blessings,

    mari

  5. Dear Sharon,

    I too enjoy Edith Schaeffer’s, “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” and Alexandra Stoddard’s books! They are full of inspiration and ideas. Thank you for sharing these quotes – I must get around to reading these authors again!

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Many blessings,
    Kalianne

  6. What a lovely peaceful post…and such a pretty little posie! Yes indeed, wherever we live it is a gift from the Lord…contentment is the richest blessing!

    love, Tina 🙂

  7. My husband’s family is Polish and they are all big into flowers in the house–much more than anybody else I have met. They insist on fresh flowers at all times and take great care in displaying and tending them. I didn’t realize how much beauty they add to a room until I saw this. Your post reminded me–I need to go pick some fresh flowers today. My rooms are looking a little bare!

    Kris

  8. This is a area of my life and HEART that is in progress…I know what I want to be contented in my head, it doesn’t always reach my heart…I am still working on it…
    Great post.
    ~~Deby

  9. Dear Teri,

    Thank you so much for sharing your desire for your home. It is a blessing and joy to add our own special touches to our homes that are meaningful to us and our families. Each home, although different, can be lovely in it’s own way ~ just like the family who abides in it!

    “Home Sweet Home” ~ what a wonderful thing!

    May the Lord bless you with a lovely day,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Terri,

    The Lord has made each of us so wonderful and unique ~ and blessed us with our own creative ideas, that it’s amazing how we tend to compare ourselves and feel like we have to make our homes just like someone else’s!

    It is freeing when we can find our own style and be happy with it! I know this is something I have to continue to work on!

    Have a blessed weekend,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Dallas,

    I found the book by Alexandra Stoddard on the “for sale” shelf at the library! I love finding books that inspire me in making my house a home!

    I hope your weekend is filled with blessings!

    Sharon

  12. Dear Mari,

    It seems like I have been learning ever so slowly to be happy and content with the simple things that make my home cozy and meaningful.
    The Lord has created so many beautiful things in the garden to use in brightening up our homes and gifted each woman with unique and wonderful ideas to make her house into a sweet haven for those she loves!

    Homemaking is such a joy!

    Have a very sweet day,

    Sharon

  13. Dear Kalianne,

    Good books really are such a blessing! We can learn so much from others to help us in our homemaking ~ lots of lovely inspiration and ideas!

    Blessings to you ~ and I hope you have a lovely weekend too!

    Sharon

  14. Dear Kris,

    I have been enjoying the blessing of flowers so much! My flower gardens are very humble but they are bringing me so delight ~ both outside and to bring inside to add a touch that makes me smile!

    I hope you were able to find some flowers to bring delight to your heart as well!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  15. Dear Deby,

    I understand how you feel ~ I know that I have to continue to remind myself of these things! He has so much work yet to do in me and in my heart! Isn’t it so encouraging to know that He is faithful to complete the work He has started!

    Blessing to you today,

    Sharon

  16. What a beautiful arrangement! It will make your home look beautiful. It makes you beautiful because it came from within.

    The words to your post are so true, we can make our homes to be whatever we want them to be but it must come from within and from a spirit of loving to be there.

    Thank you for this post, Sharon. It was lovely.

    Blessings on your life!

    Dianne

  17. Dear Sharon

    I have so enjoyed our little visits over the past few weeks. Your posts are so encouraging and I especially enjoy the conversational tone of your blog! I am going on holidays for three weeks and won’t be blogging while I’m away. I shall miss our chats! Until then may God richly bless in all your endeavours as a homemaker.

    Blessings & hugs,
    Kalianne

  18. Dear Dianne,

    Thank you so much ~ you are always so sweet and encouraging to me! It is so freeing to realize that we can can make our homes whatever we want even if no one else is doing it in the same way! Your thoughts on this have inspired me even more!

    Blessings to you ~ and may the Lord bless you with a refreshing weekend after your busy week with VBS! Thank you for coming and visiting with me today!

    Sharon

  19. Dear Kalianne,

    I, too, enjoy our visits so very much! I love hearing all of your thoughts and insights!

    It was so sweet of you to let me know you were going to be away on holiday! How fun! I hope that you have a wonderful time when you are away!!

    Praying that the Lord will bless you abundantly with rest and refreshment!!

    Hugs and blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

