Treasured pieces of memories ♥

Abigail has just finished hand sewing her first nine patch quilt block!

We have a bag full of precut squares and as I was looking through it today ~ I found that we have many memories stored away in there!

Memories of ~

One of my husband’s shirts that I had really liked

Gifts made with love

A treasured baby blanket

Sisters with matching dresses

Sewing and quilting entered in the State fair

I even found a few blocks that I had already finished tucked away amongst the pieces! So Abigail and I are going to work together now piecing squares and making even more sweet memories!

Little Bits of Fabric

Little bits of fabric
Sewn into a quilt
Form a warm and loving blanket
From which memories are built.
And when you seek peace and comfort
In the quiet of the night
It will keep you warm and snug
Until the morning’s light.

(Author: unknown)

The days go so quickly but what a blessing it is to have little bits and pieces to remember the sweet days that the Lord has given us!

Have a lovely week!

16 thoughts on “Treasured pieces of memories ♥

  1. The poem is lovely! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    This is one of the reasons that I enjoy quilting…I am able to remember where all those little bits and pieces of fabrics came from.

    many blessings,

    mari

  2. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such a heartwarming post! So, so sweet! I love the poem.
    Such cute pictures. You have such a special way with each
    and every post! Quilts make a home so warm, comfy and
    cozy! I love the old fashioned fabric. It is so pretty.

    Abigail has done a wonderful job and should feel very
    proud of her work. ~ Making mother/daughter memories.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Thank you, Mari, for stopping in to visit today ~ it is such a blessing to chat with you!

    We plan on making just simple quilts of these squares but I am excited to work on them together and to have all the little bits and pieces out where we can enjoy them once again! I think they will will be a blessing to wrap up in and enjoy! We may do a backing of flannel so they will be cozy for the winter!

    Have a blessed Tuesday!

    Sharon

  4. Dear Teri,

    Thank you for your sweet words! I think this will be a fun project to do along with Abigail. The quilts will be very simple but I think it will be fun to reminisce about the fabrics. Some of the fabrics were given to us by my sister-in-law and while we don’t have any memories attached to those ~ they are still very pretty to look at!

    Quilts do add a warm and cozy feel to a home!

    Thank you for stopping by to chat this evening ~ I wish I could offer you some tea!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  5. She did a wonderful job! I don’t know if I’d ever have the patience for hand quilting. I love the poem as well. Thank you for sharing, Sharon!

  6. Sharon, how lovely to remember such sweet memories…I have a little pram quilt I made with some of my daughter’s baby dresses. I passed on the ones which were of use to others but I made a little quilt with the rest. I sometimes look at it and I can remember holding her in her little dresses. I had the pleasure of tucking up my baby son in the same quilt when he came along!

    It’s lovely that you are working on this with your daughter, creating new memories together.

    Thank you for sharing, and for the beautiful poem too.

    God Bless,
    Tina xxx

  7. Sharon,

    Congratulations to Abigail on what she’s created :o)

    I can well imagine how special it must have been going through the bits and pieces and having special memories come flooding back :o)

    Thanks for sharing the delightful poem as well as the lovely photos!

    Is that last photo of you and Abigail?

    Blessings to you in your quilting and creating your own special memories together!

    BTW – I’ve left an *award* for you on my blog that I just received as well :o)

  8. Thank you, Terri!

    Abigail is working so diligently by hand ~ but I will sew her blocks together for her on the sewing machine.

    I have done hand quilting on only a couple of mini quilts myself! I think we will just tie these quilts with yarn instead of quilting on them.

    We made some sewing progress today!

    Have a lovely day,

    Sharon

  9. I think your pram quilt sounds so sweet, Tina! What a treasure you have made for yourself! Very sweet memories!!

    Maybe you could post a picture on your blog sometime ~ I would love to see it! It is so inspiring to hear what others have done! Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Have a sweet and lovely day!

    Sharon

  10. Thank you Dallas!

    I am hoping that Abigail will enjoy sewing! She hasn’t started using the sewing machine yet. We spent some time working on our blocks today. Thank you for all of your kind words!

    The last photo is actually my oldest daughter and Abigail. Annaleah made the matching dresses for the two of them and entered them in the state fair!

    And thank you so much for the *award*. I am blessed and touched by the kindness I’ve received!

    I hope your week is going well!

    Sharon

  11. Sharon,

    I had thought it might be an *old* photo or something … guess I sort of forgot just the age difference between them :o)

  12. Dear Kris,

    Thank you for your encouragement to Abigail!! I think we will really enjoy working on this together! Quilting is a wonderful hobby ~ so many lovely fabrics!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

