A sweet sight

My husband said that most people consider blackberries in their yard as a weed! I think it is so exciting to see them growing here! I would love to have a yard that is filled with many more edible plants! Bill and Abigail have been bringing me an abundance of apples each day that are falling off the tree. I think I have my work planned out for me for the next couple of days ~ turning those apples into yummy applesauce! It’s only supposed to be about 67° and raining today ~ the perfect weather to have homegrown apples simmering on the stove! More good things to be tucked into the freezer for enjoyment during the winter!

It seems like a good day to light a candle, put on some music, and enjoy a cozy day at home! Our house is even a little more snug with this rain today because we now have half of a new roof! What a blessing that is! Hopefully we will have a matching front half when the weather clears at the end of the week!

What are you enjoying at your home today?

I hope you have the sweetest of days!

20 thoughts on “A sweet sight

  1. I am enjoying watching my family eat the new sugar cookie recipe I tried. They are buttery, soft and hold together nicely for decorating–I love them!

    Our old place had blackberries everywhere that we actually tamed and trimmed so that we could get more delicious berries from them 🙂

    Kris

  2. Dear Kris ~

    Your cookies sound delicious! What a treat for your family ~ they are so blessed to have you! Are you planning on posting the recipe on your blog?

    I’m glad to hear there are others that see the blessing of having blackberries at home!

    Have a great day,

    Sharon

  3. Sharon, I agree – I love all kinds of edible things in my yard! I have some yummy rhubarb and a huge crab apple tree with probably about 10 apples on it – LOL!

    Today has been busy, busy just doing chores around the house. Busy but satisfying!

    Have a great day,

    Terri

  4. I would love to have blackberries in the yard…it would beat having to pick them in snake infested fields…LOL!

    I just finished the most excellent toat. It was made with Amish Apple Butter bread that I picked up this weekend…YUMMO!

    So glad to get caught up with you today!

    Blessings ♥

  5. How wonderful! I love making apple & blackberry crumble for dessert…especially if the fruit is free! I think it’s lovely that you are focusing on simple pleasures instead of complaining that you can’t get your roof finished…what a sweet lady you are!

    love, Tina ♥ xx

  6. Blackberries growing in my yard would seem like a bit of heaven but alas, I don’t have any growing anywhere near to me. Maybe, I should plant some…hmmm…now that’s an idea.

    Yesterday, I made three loaves of Bread. One is called “Daily Bread”, another is called “Everyday Health Bread” and an “Irish Soda Bread”.

    Today, I made an Apricot Bread. All four of these loaves are filled with good, wholesome, grains.

    I try to bake bread one day a week but if I bake too many loaves, we just refrigerate them and eat until gone then I bake bread again. I don’t usually bake more than three loaves at one time but I really wanted to try the Apricot Bread so I got carried away.

    Hope your day was Blessed Today!!

    Hugs,
    Dianne :)xxx

  7. Good Evening Sharon ~

    It is so nice that you have blackberries to pick and your
    homegrown apples to make applesauce. It sounds like you
    had a very ~ homey ~ day. The very best kind!

    You are going to have a new roof on your home. ~ So
    many blessings. ~

    Our day started out early today. We had an appointment
    at 8:30 this morning and then we went out for breakfast
    and had a few errands to take care of after that. So it was
    mid afternoon when we got home.

    We just finished dinner and dishes and put on a pot of
    coffee. Think we will just relax for a little while and enjoy
    some quiet time.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  8. Sharon,

    You are very blessed to have blackberries growing freely so close by :o)

    When we were first married, we could pick them nearby growing alongside some railway tracks but where we live now, I haven’t heard of them growing wild anywhere nearby so would have to buy them at the market and might I add, they’re quite expensive :o(

    One elderly I knew when I was a newlywed had 2 special pies she made ~ banana cream and a very yummy blackberry pie!

    Sounds like a very special day …

  9. I love the Blackberries that grow out here….I don’t have them nearby but my sister does…
    I am enjoying the rain today as I plodded on with a project of finally get a room in shape..something I have put off….it has been my Catch-all…and finally success…tonight…the recliner….
    ~Deby

  10. Dear Terri,

    Oh, rhubarb would be nice! I don’t think I’ve ever had a crab apple before ~ can you make a pie with them? We had raspberries when I was growing up and I loved that!

    Busy and productive days are good and satisfying ones ~ I hope you got a lot accomplished!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Tammy,

    I’m glad you could stop by to visit today!

    I don’t think the snake infested fields would appeal to me either! 🙂

    The Amish Apple Butter bread does sound really yummy ~ what a delicious treat to enjoy!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Tina,

    Your apple and blackberry crumble sounds delicious. I agree ~ free fruit is a good thing! We don’t have too many blackberries growing in our yard but they are free and such a blessing to me. Most of the ones we gather are found just down the road. I saw them in the store last year and they were expensive for a small amount so I’m happy to have somewhere close to pick!

    Hopefully our roof work should resume tomorrow or Friday. When they first started, it was delayed because it was too hot and then it was rainy. We’re learning to be flexible I guess! 🙂
    It will be a blessing to have it all finished up!

    Have a great day, Tina!

    Sharon

  13. Dear Dianne,

    Wow ~ you have been busy baking! Homemade bread is so good and all of the ones you made sound so delicious! Doesn’t it feel so good to make things with the wholesome grains and know just what is in what you’re eating? What a blessing for you and your husband! From the pictures you’ve shown on your blog I think your kitchen must be filled with lots of good and tasty foods!

    I hope the rest of your week is blessed!

    Sharon

  14. Dear Teri,

    Yes ~ it was a good homestyle day!

    Hopefully our roof will get finished up this week ~ this will be quite a blessing to us!

    It sounds like a busy day for you ~ accomplishing things that need to be done. I think Friday will be my day to be out doing some errands.

    It is such a nice feeling to have dinner and dishes finished up in the evening and to be able to relax a little. I hope you had a delightful evening!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  15. Dear Dallas,

    I really need to count my blessings that we can find the blackberries so easily for free ~ I didn’t realize that they weren’t plentiful in some areas. I enjoy having them in the freezer. We still have some left from last year. Pies are one of my husbands favorite desserts! Lately we have been making some fruit smoothies and I have been added frozen blackberries in those ~ so yummy and good for you!

    It sounds like you have been enjoying some lovely and productive days!

    Blessings Dallas,

    Sharon

  16. Dear Deby,
    The cooler day today was delightful after the hot temperatures ~ very refreshing!
    It sounds like you made great progress today on your room project. It always feels so good to accomplish those kinds of things.

    I hope you had an enjoyable evening resting in your recliner! 🙂

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  17. I’m glad you had a nice cool day.

    I love applesauce, and the homemade kind sounds great.

    I am enjoying my nice quiet peace as usual. Though yesterday, I enjoyed a wonderful day out with my grandson. Thanks for stopping by to read about it. :o)

    Blessings,
    Cathy

  18. Blackberries a weed ~ goodness, I guess those folks don’t know what they are missing!! Our bushes are reading for picking in May and June and I have already several batches put away for winter. Yum ~ blackberry cobbler!

    I hope you are having a wonderful day ~ I am still waiting on some cooler weather here!!

  19. Dear Lady Laurie,

    I agree ~ I am so happy to have even this small amount of berries growing in my yard! There are a lot of green berries still ~ everything seems to be a little behind here because of the cool spring and early summer we had.

    Blackberry cobbler sounds wonderful ~ so many treats to enjoy!

    I hope the cooler weather comes your way soon!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

