Good deeds ♥

“Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned.”

Peter Marshall

We had a praise and prayer meeting last night at church and one of the things that was brought before the Lord was that we would be drawn together more like a family ~ that we would be looking for ways to reach out and help and encourage one another! And that we would want to spend time really getting to know one another beyond just the casual greetings on a Sunday morning or Wednesday night.This really is very exciting because I think it is so needed in the church today ~ that we would really love and care for one another! It is an encouragement to me to be about good deeds the Lord has planned for me!

The book of Titus is an awesome book! It talks so much about good deeds! Just listen to these encouraging words in chapter 3 from the English Standard Version:

vs. 1 says “…to be ready for every good work

vs. 8 says “…so that those who have believed in God may be careful to devote themselves to good works

vs. 14 says “And let our people learn to devote themselves to good works, so as to help cases of urgent need, and not be unfruitful.”

May the Lord use us as we step out to touch the lives of others through the good deeds He has planned for us!

Blessings!

12 thoughts on “Good deeds ♥

  1. I absolutely agree…and not with just church friends, but with anyone who needs some encouragement, support and friendship. Sometimes the only way we can witness effectively is by just being ‘real’ with people and offering to lend a hand with something, or provide a meal for a neighbour. It’s the small stuff that reaches people’s hearts for Christ. Great post Sharon!

    Have a Blessed day,
    love, Tina xx

  2. Good Morning Sharon ~

    Thank you for your post. At church last Sunday evening, we also were discussing
    how to reach out and love and care for each other. Our church is very small ~ so
    we usually are able to visit and know if there are special needs.

    I think alot of times people are so busy that we do not take the time to even know
    if our families, friends or neighbors need us. It seems our neighborhood has grown
    closer in the past year. We spend more time visiting and helping one another. I
    think with the price of gasolene ~ we are home more and we are enjoying each other
    more. Our family and friends have always been close and know what each other
    needs, but neighborhoods have lost that old fashioned togetherness. It would be
    nice to have that happen again, also.

    Enjoy a blessed weekend!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Sharon,

    I love your new blog decor!

    What an encouraging message and time that was …. I agree so very much that this is more needed in The Church – body of Christ – everywhere and also in the individual gatherings of His people worldwide.

    More *reaching out*, more care, compassion and genuine love and interest beyond the casual “Hi! How are you?” a couple of times a week. More practical *outreach* to dear souls that are unsaved, that we come into contact with along the path we trod …

    May the Lord help me to love like He did and does …. just a little!

    Blessings and have a great weekend :o)

    BTW ~ where did all your links go? I no longer see them when I view your page …

  4. I agree, Tina ~ there are so many ways inside and outside the church that we can reach out to others and minister the love of Jesus to them.

    I am encouraged and challenged to look for small things that I can do to reach out more! This really is one of the benefits of slowing down and simplifying our lives because we can become more aware of the needs that are out there.

    Blessings to you! Have a great and restful weekend,

    Sharon

  5. Dear Teri,

    I love it that the same thing seems to be on the hearts of those at your church as well!

    My husband pastored a very small church for a couple of years and that was one of my favorite churches! I loved it because you knew everyone! It is easier in a small congregation to know if there are any special needs. It was a little difficult for us because we didn’t live in the community and we had to travel by ferry to get there.

    I think people do lead such busy lives and often everyday living sometimes consumes us with distractions instead of being able to clearly see the opportunities all around. This part of the country is very independent and I don’t think that helps either. It sounds like a wonderful community that you live in!

    I certainly am challenged to look for opportunities to reach out more!

    I hope you enjoy a lovely and relaxing evening!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Dallas,

    Thanks for your compliment on my blog change! I feel bad that I had to go back to my old blog design! I just couldn’t get used to the new one! 🙂 Maybe I will still try and see if I can find something that will work! I could see the links on my end ~ can you see them now that I’ve changed back?

    I am very encouraged to find practical ways to reach out more to those who need the Lord’s touch. I know He would want to use all of His people in these good deeds.

    Blessings on your weekend, Dallas,

    Sharon

  7. I so agree with this….I think there are so many that are *left out*….and so many with needs that just are going undone.
    I have been blessed by meeting a local blogger in person and we have coffee now and then, it is nice to be more REAL….
    Deby

  8. This has been a recurring theme of our church this year as well. Hospitality, loving one another, friendship, reaching out beyond a smile and handshake on Sundays…these all can make a huge difference in somebody’s life. As well as blessing our own!

  9. Dear Deby,

    Wouldn’t it be awesome if the Lord could use us to reach out to those who are left out and to meet some of these unmet needs! I pray He will give me eyes to see!

    How fun that you can get together with a fellow blogger!

    Blessings Deby!

    Sharon

  10. I think the thing that is really encouraging to me is that the Lord seems to be speaking to the hearts of His people in different places about the same thing!

    It is so true ~ when we reach out to be a blessing ~ we are blessed ourselves!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

