An old-fashioned Saturday

I hope you are all enjoying a lovely Saturday!  It is really starting to feel like fall here now.  We are very happy to have our roof finished ~ it will be so nice and cozy for the rainy season ahead!  My sink was full of apples again so I was busy this morning making another batch of applesauce and an apple crisp.  I also made a loaf of whole wheat honey banana bread and put chili on in the crockpot to have ready when we come home from church tomorrow.  While I was working, Bill was outside chopping wood ~ what a nice sound!

I looked out the window this afternoon and saw Abigail swinging and reading!

I’m not sure how she can do that without getting dizzy!  This is a favorite spot for her!

This afternoon I took a little break and did a little shopping in a country spot!  It is one of my favorite places to browse!  I didn’t buy anything ~ I enjoyed just looking and it was a good feeling that there was nothing I saw that I really had to have!  There is joy in the simple life!

Here is a picture from the little shopping place!

I love the wooden sidewalks ~ such an old-fashioned feel!

I sewed a couple more nine patch squares for the scrap quilt I am making ~ it is coming along nicely and so colorful!

I need to go out and pick a rose as we are going visiting this evening!  We have been invited to friends for dinner so it should be a lovely way to finish the day!

“The attic and the cellar were full of good things once more, and Laura and Mary had started to make patchwork quilts.  Everything was beginning to be snug and cosy again.”

Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

I would love to hear about your Saturday!

Many blessings on the rest of your weekend!

8 thoughts on “An old-fashioned Saturday

  1. Your Saturday sounds lovely Sharon and I, too, wonder how Abigail can read AND swing without getting dizzy?! :o)

    My Saturday was pretty much like a regular weekday because my husband had a terrible migraine and rested in his recliner for most of it, hoping that stillness would help the pain decrease to a level that could be tolerated :o)

    I did laundry, a bit of grocery shopping since I was getting gas anyways right next door, had my bread machine making the dough for homemade pizza, sliced all the toppings and then assembled them, made a Greek salad for tomorrow.

    I also practiced *Fur Elise* on my son’s beautiful keyboard ~ I have no idea how to *really* play but this wonderful keyboard actually has the electronics so that I can choose to play only with my Right hand and have the keyboard play for my Left hand :o)

    It even shows me the keys that I need to play and tries to match my tempo while I’m learning!

    I realize that I’m cheating but since I wouldn’t be playing it otherwise, it’s still kind of fun and the idea is that eventually you are able to pick out the song without even looking at the prompts :o)

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day!

  2. Good Evening Sharon ~

    We have had a nice Saturday! We visited friends in a nearby town. They gave us a tour of their new home in the country. It was very pretty and had a screened in porch and the breeze was so nice today. We enjoyed coffee, tea and cookies that she had just baked. We had a such a nice visit.

    On our way home, we stopped at a little restaurant and had lunch.

    Then when we returned home ~ my hubby decided it was time to do a little yard work. He mowed the lawn and I worked in our small garden and tidied up a bit and picked the produce that was ready. We still have tomatoes and green peppers. We sat on the porch and relaxed for awhile. It is nice to have our outdoor chores finished for the long weekend.

    We still are enjoying the hummingbirds!

    Abigail looks like she is enjoying her Saturday. It sounds like you have had a busy, but very productive day. Such a nice shopping area for you to enjoy. Your hubby is getting ready for the fall and winter with his wood chopping. So glad that you have your new roof finished. It is always nice to have those big projects completed.

    Simple blessings to you and your family!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Dear Dallas,

    I hope you are enjoying a restful Sunday! And I hope your husband is doing better today!

    It sounded like a productive day yesterday for you also. We had a very delicious dinner and nice time of visiting with our friends last night. They live a ways away so we don’t have a chance to visit with them too often. It was a spur of the moment invitation ~ they are a wonderful example to me of hospitality!

    I think your keyboard playing is great! We also have a keyboard but I’m not really familiar with all that it can do. It must have some similar features as Abigail said that she learned to play Twinkle Twinkle Little Star by following along!

    I think it is great that you can enjoy playing like this! Keep up the good work!! 🙂

    It looks like a quiet and peaceful Sunday afternoon here for us.

    May the Lord bless your week,

    Sharon

  4. Dear Teri,

    I hope you are having a relaxing day ~ do you have any special plans for this holiday weekend?

    It sounds like a wonderful visit you had with your friends ~ we had an enjoyable time visiting last evening too. My friend showed me the quilt she is making ~ it is beautiful! It was rich fall colors and will be large enough for their bed. I am hoping to do a little more work on my nine patch quilt today. It is very simple compared to my friends! But I am happy that I can make use of these fabric scraps that I had here at home.

    Both of our older girls are busy today so only Bill and Abigail and I are home. A quiet and restful day! The sun is shining but it seems very fall like out!

    I’m glad to hear you are still enjoying the hummingbirds! We are too! We stopped on the way home from church so Abigail could get some more suet for her feeder. I saw a squirrel eating at my suet feeder this morning!

    I have more apples to work on. Our tomato plants are covered with tomatoes but only a few have turned red so far! They are so delicious!

    I do hope you are enjoying the day ~ blessings to you!

    Sharon

  5. Dear Sharon

    I’m back from my lovely holiday break and home sweet home. It’s been a pleasure as always to catch up with you today!

    Your Saturday sounded delightful so quaint and restful doing family things. As for me, normally we would go to church on Saturday but this weekend stayed home with two sick family members (old man winter flu has struck).

    On Sunday we meandered over to Old Petrie town a historical village that I think you would love. I will share some photos later in the week. So lovely to see you again!

    Many blessings
    ~Kalianne

  6. Dear Kalianne,

    Welcome back ~ it is good to have a visit from you! I hope that you had a restful time on your holiday trip! And I hope everyone is feeling better there today!

    I do think that I would love visiting the historical village that you went to. I really enjoy places like that and will look forward to the pictures that you share!

    Thanks so much for stopping by to visit today!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Saturday we made some trips to our local Home Improvement store to get a few things for the kitchen project…
    I have been going through magazines…cutting out pictures and such for future journal pages….I so enjoy doing that.
    ~Deby

  8. Dear Deby,

    I have a small pile of magazine pictures for my journal too! I don’t complete pages too often but I when I get it out to do it ~ I always enjoy it! I especially enjoy looking back through it!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

