A pickle making party

We had a family gathering this afternoon ~ a time of pickle making!!  Our pickle making instructors were a lovely couple from our church who have been doing this for about 34 years!!  They did this last year for Nathan ~ and Bill and the girls and I went over to watch ~ this year they had us do more of it so we would be able to do it on our own!    We are so blessed to have their help!   I think I have it down now!!

We prepared the jars for the pickling cucumbers!

The jars ready for the brine!

I didn’t take any pictures of the finished product ~ but the results are so rewarding!!  Wouldn’t this make for a fun family tradition!?

I hope your weekend has been filled with blessings!

18 thoughts on “A pickle making party

  1. I love making pickles. However, I just had a big, “DUH” moment. I never thought to put the onions, dill and garlic in the jar first. I’m always trying to cram in down in between the cucumbers.

    I guess I need visual aids – LOL! Thank you for sharing, Sharon and it looks wonderful.

    Love,
    Terri

  2. Believe it or not…I am SO jealous about this one…pickles are a FAVORITE of mine…I mean a real favorite..I even drink the pickle juice or make a salad dressing with it…I LOVE pickles..and have even been giving pickles for gifts…so when I say I am JEALOUS…you understand why….
    ~Deby

  3. How great that you had someone to show you how….I always remember how to do things better if I’m shown, rather than read it in a book.
    I’m sure your pickles will be delicious Sharon!

    love, Tina xxx

  4. Good Morning Sharon ~

    It is nice to have someone to help you through the steps of doing something new. It is much nicer than just getting the information out of a book. The fellowship makes all of the difference in the world.

    ~ Nice pictures! ~

    Have a blessed week!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

    P.S. I left a second comment on your last post!

  5. Hi Terri,

    Me too ~ I definitely need the visuals!! Making pickles was fun! I am looking forward to trying it out on my own now. They put the garlic and dill along with the salt and sugar in the bottom of the jar and then they said to put the onion on the side along with the cucumbers and not flat on the bottom of the jar. We did stuff some dill in at the top of some of the jars.

    I love learning new things like this!!

    I hope you have a great week ahead!

    Sharon

  6. Dear Deby,

    The pickle juice would probably be good for homemade salad dressing! These homemade pickles are delicious!

    They showed us an interesting thing about the older canning jars ~ they had the year they were made on the jar. They brought a jar of pickled asparagus to try and the jar had a 50 on it ~ that jar was made in 1950. I didn’t know they used to do that and thought it was pretty neat!

    I think home canned things makes such nice gifts! The lady who was helping us said she gives them away as gifts as well!!

    Such fun!

    Blessings on your week,

    Sharon

  7. Hi Tina,

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day!!

    It was such a blessing to learn from this dear couple! They just recently did 80 jars at another house!! It really helps me to see something done as well! We have written notes now to guide us next time!!

    It was a great time for fellowship and learning!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  8. Dear Teri,

    Good morning~ Yes, I think the learning along with the fellowship was so sweet. It was so kind of this couple for their willingness to do this!

    If I have to learn new things from reading and figuring it out from a book, I tend to not do it at all! I must be a visual learner! And isn’t everything more fun when you have a friend to share it with!!

    Blessings on your week as well!

    Sharon

  9. Dear Cathy,

    It was a blessed and fun time that we had together!

    These homemade pickles are so delicious! Just this morning I started thinking about the salt in them myself! We try and limit our salt use here so I will be keeping that in mind when the pickles are ready!!

    I hope you have a blessed and sweet day,

    Sharon

  10. What a wonderful time it must have been! Dill pickles have always been a favourite of mine but since I’ve been following a very low-sodium diet for so many years, can no longer enjoy them :o(

    Have a wonderful week!

  11. Dear Dallas,

    I’m hoping we can do this as a family every year. It was a warm day yesterday ~ so very warm in the kitchen doing canning in a 4th floor apartment!!

    This morning I did start thinking about the salt content ~ we do try and watch that too!

    Have a lovely week!

    Sharon

  12. Dear Tammy,

    These pickles are very good. You should try canning if you have an opportunity! My husband and I used to can peaches and pears in the early years of our marriage and it was fun! I do think pickles seem so much easier!

    We were really blessed to have this learning opportunity!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  13. Dear Sharon,

    What a wonderful opportunity! You must have a lovely church family there! What an excellent skill for you and your children to learn and a fun activity to share in together! I’m sure those pickles are absolutely delicious too!

    When I visited Mum recently some ladies at her church ran a cookery demonstration. I went along and learned to make some delicious, healthful family meals. They even demonstrated how to bottle tomatoes! Maybe I’ll try it this year during our summer.

    A wonderful post! Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    ~ Kalianne

  14. Sharon,

    I am not too big on pickles, but seeing yours, have given me a hankering for them 🙂

    I am going to have to try growing them next year and try them. Who knows, we might get to enjoy them…

    blessings,

    mari

  15. Dear Kalianne,

    Learning new things like this certainly is more manageable when you can watch someone doing it and ask questions! It was a blessing to learn from them!

    How neat that you could observe the cookery demonstration ~ and see how to bottle tomatoes too! I have never done tomatoes before! I hope you can give it a try sometime this summer ~ that would be fun!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  16. Dear Mari,

    I like pickles ~ but I have never cared for the taste of home canned pickles until I tasted these last year! They are really good ~ and I like that I know just what is in them!

    It would be neat if you could grow pickling cucumbers and try some pickles! 🙂

    Blessings Mari!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

