Blessings from the garden

It that time of year again ~ Harvest time!!

I have been busy making applesauce ~ lots of it!!  Some days I hope that there can be just a little break ~ but my husband continues to bring more apples in to me!!  And I can see from my kitchen window that there are more still to come!  It is really a good thing and I sometimes need to remind myself of this!  Sometimes I tend to look at them as more of a burden than a blessing.  But with food prices rising, and apples being so expensive ~ this really is such a blessing from the Lord!

Abigail and I have started up with our hymn singing again in the mornings before she begins school.  This morning we came across a hymn that was new to us called “Count Your Blessings” by Johnson Oatman, Jr.

The chorus is an encouragement to me.

“Count your blessings, Name them one by one;

Count your many blessings, See what God hath done.”

Hasn’t the Lord blessed us in so many ways?

I hope you have a lovely day!

22 thoughts on “Blessings from the garden

  1. Good Afternoon Sharon ~

    Your basket filled with vegies and flowers look so pretty on your table.

    Your applesauce looks delicious. It seems like some of our work will never come to an end, but when it is all finished and everything cleaned up ~ it is worth all of the hard work and time that we have invested in those projects for our family. ~ Not to mention how good the applesauce will taste this winter. ~

    I also like the hymn ~ “Count Your Blessings.” ~

    Thanks for sharing with us!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Traci,

    It’s a blessing to have a visit from you ~ welcome!

    The hymn was one I haven’t heard before but the title caught my attention ~ I wish I knew the tune! I just love hymns!!

    Blessings to you!

    Sharon

  3. Dear Teri,

    This morning I finished up all the apples I had in the sink for a panful of applesauce. Then when Bill came home for lunch, he was out in the garden again and now there is a bit more. I think I am going to have to do them up as well so that I can scrub my sink up shiny and feel like I have accomplished something today! 🙂

    I do enjoy seeing the filled jars of applesauce and it will be very nice this winter!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day!

    Sharon

  4. I love that hymn too as I recount how the Lord has blessed in so many ways … each and every day!

    Homemade applesauce is much yummier than the store-bought version and you are blessed to have such an abundant harvest.

    By the way, those flowers are lovely, resting in the basket on your table :o) My small tomato plant yielded about 4-5 *infested* or *mouldy* specimens so I can only imagine how fresh and delicious home-grown ones taste ~ ~ ENJOY!!

  5. Looks yummy! I’m going out to try and get the apples off our tree today. The problem is the tree is very tall and it looks like most of the apples are at the top!

  6. Dear Sharon,

    Yes, as we continue to focus on the blessings, we realize how marvelous He has been through out our day, our week, our month, our year, our Life!

    Your apple-sauce looks yummy! Here in PA apples are starting to be picked and canned. If I feel well by next week – it will be my birthday week – the children and I will go apple picking. It has become a wonderful tradition for us as a family.

    Blessings,

    mari

  7. oh these look so good toooooo…I would guess that your home must smell delicious…and so autumn’ish too….
    I too love that hymn…
    ~Deby
    Do you come to the Big Fair?

  8. Dear Dallas,

    His blessings really are so abundant! I am very thankful for the bounty of apples this year ~ my family loves homemade applesauce!

    I am sorry to hear about your tomatoes. Tomatoes are one of my very favorites of the garden produce. Our plants are covered with tomatoes but they are turning red ever so slowly!! I may be looking for recipes for green tomatoes!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Terri,

    I hope you were able to get your apples today! Ours have just been falling off the tree and Bill has been bringing them in as they come down. We have to get them before the squirrels do! Our apple tree is very tall and somewhat unruly but it has been very fruitful so it is a blessing! I think we have some at the very top too!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Mari,

    Yes, that is so true and encouraging! The Lord has been so good and faithful!

    I do pray that you will feel well to be able to go apple picking next week! What a wonderful family tradition! And an early “Happy Birthday” to you!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Deby,

    I think it smelled especially good on the days I made an apple crisp along with the sauce! That was delightful ~ but I can’t do that every day! 🙂

    It has been many many years since I have been to the Big Fair. My son and daughter-in-law are going tomorrow and are taking our youngest daughter. Fun!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Sharon,

    ‘Count Your Blessings’ is one of my very favorite hymns! It’s so cheery and a wonderful hymn for young people too! Apple sauce intrigues me. I know American’s love it as I have an American friend (married to an Australian and living in Australia) who misses apple sauce very much. Apparently the version available in Australia is not very good. I agree as I’ve never been able to take to it. Your sauce looks golden and delicious – very different to the pale watery puree I’ve seen on supermarket shelves. One day I must try authentic apple sauce! Best wishes with the bottling! You’ll be so glad of the effort come winter!

    Hugs & Blessings,
    Kalianne

  13. I know what you mean…it’s funny how sometimes a large harvest of fruit or veg comes at the busiest time, when preserving/canning is the last thing we want to do…but oh, how lovely to dip into the goodies when the weather has turned for the worse and the garden is empty!

    Have a Blessed day!

    love, Tina xx

  14. Hi there, Blessings to you this day. I love reading your posts; they are so full of His grace and abundance! How blessed we are as a people whom the Lord loves.
    I loved seeing your pic’s of the apples and the applesauce. My daughters and I have always canned fruit and made jam but somehow never applesauce until this year. We don’t have trees so we buy them but we love fresh applesauce. My oldest is hosting a harvest/autumn get together next week and we need to make some for gifts to give. I’ve got a cold steamer but we’ve never made enough to can. Do you put it in a water bath like other fruit, such as pears and peaches, after you’ve cooked it or do you just put it in the jars and invert them? Any tidbits of info would be helpful.
    Keep writing dear one.
    Blessings to you and yours.
    Noreen

  15. Dear Kalianne,

    It seems so many of you know the hymn “Count Your Blessings”! I wish I could hear how it goes!

    Most applesauce in the stores here is pretty much a puree as well. My family likes it with actual pieces of apples in it! It will be a blessing to pull out when the days grow cold this winter!

    I hope you enjoy a lovely day ~ hugs to you!

    Sharon

  16. Dear Tina,

    You have encouraged me to keep pressing on! It is a wonderful feeling to know I am putting something good away for the winter!

    I am already missing my lettuce and spinach from the garden!

    Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

  17. Dear Noreen,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! Yes, the Lord has bestowed so many blessings upon us!

    The fresh applesauce is so delicious ~ we have been enjoying some of it! I’ve never actually canned my applesauce ~ I put mine in jars and freeze it. When we did pickles, we did a water bath as well as when we used to can peaches and pears many years ago. I looked it up online and they showed using a water bath for applesauce as well. I wish I could be of more help to you! I am interested in your cold steamer ~ I have never heard of that before!

    The harvest/autumn get together sounds like such a fun thing! I hope you all have a wonderful time making sweet memories!!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  18. Your basket from your garden looks so lovely with the beautiful roses and fresh produce. It makes such a wonderful picture.

    Your applesauce looks so wonderful, too! Just wait til this winter when you open up a jar of that wonderful applesause to have with your favorite meat…like roast pork…yum. Then you will indeed be counting your blessings!!!

    I love that old song…I wonder why we don’t think to count our blessings more than we do when God is so good to us. Most of the time, we kind of get up and get into our days without thinking of all the things he provides us with…and we don’t even have to ask Him for them. Like our life, the very fact that we breathe….we never give that a thought or that our hearts keep on beating. We are truly blessed!!!

    Hope your day keeps on Blessing you on and on into tomorrow!

  19. Dear Dianne,

    You always encourage me so much with your comments. I love all of the insights that you share ~ it is such a blessing!

    We do have so many blessings and you are right ~ oftentimes we do just start into our days without thinking about all of the Lord’s provisions.

    Thank you so much for encouraging me!

    I hope you have a blessed week ahead!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

