Blackberry jam from our yard

My husband went out blackberry picking this morning and he came in quite happy with the amount that he had picked right here at home!  He was hoping that it would be enough so that we could make some blackberry freezer jam!

And it was!!

Abigail had the fun job of crushing the berries!

We made the jam with the no sugar/low sugar pectin, and added 1/2 cup of evaporated cane juice crystals to sweeten it!

What a blessing to find such a harvest in our own yard!  Along with the apples that I have been making sauce with ~ this is a wonderful provision from the Lord!

It is a sweet pleasure to be able to make things at home that I would normally buy at the store!

May the Lord bless you richly this week!!

14 thoughts on “Blackberry jam from our yard

  1. Oh that looks so yummy! We will be back doing more apples tomorrow as well! We have also been so very blessed with a bountiful harvest!

    Blessings,
    Traci

  2. Our old place had a huge blackberry bush in back. However, I haven’t had the time to go find a place to pick this year so I don’t think blackberries are in our future this year! 🙂 It looks so yummy Sharon. The nice thing is it’s free! 😉

    Love,
    Terri

  3. Oh that is a blessing indeed. My husbands Southern Grandmother kept blackberries on her back fense row. They were always made into jam…I miss her jams!!

    Glad you had a little helper! 😀

  4. Oh …I love blackberries too and we were so blessed with some wonderful ones last week (it’s posted on my blog)….we had some over angel food cake….and then froze some..they are abundant this year….
    Yummmmm…
    deby

  5. Dear Traci,

    I am back doing apples again today too! I had a break for a few days so that was good! A bountiful harvest is such a blessing! It will be a welcome treat this winter!

    Have a blessed day,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Terri,

    Yes, it is such a blessing to get the berries for free ~ they can be expensive in the stores. The jam we were buying in the store was going up in price too ~ so I am so excited to be able to make some! We tried it out this morning and it was very yummy!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Tammy,

    It is so much fun having blackberries at home! I have only made freezer jam ~ it is so easy and tasty too! I am thankful to have my little helper! 🙂

    Hope you have enjoyed a lovely day!

    Sharon

  8. Dear Deby,

    I had seen that you had gotten some blackberries recently ~ what a blessing for you! It sounds like such a wonderful visit you enjoyed!

    I am glad that you enjoyed some of the berries with angel food cake and were able to put some in the freezer too! A nice winter treat!!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Sharon,

    I enjoyed reading this post. Your batch of blackberry jam looks wonderful. I’m hoping to find time next week for strawberry picking and to try making strawberry conserves. Enjoy your delicious winter treat! Thank you for another inspiring post!

    Blessings,
    Kalianne

  10. It has been over 23 years since I’ve tasted blackberries as they are just not plentiful where we are.

    Once upon a time before we moved here and my eldest son was about 4, we were able to walk a short distance to railway tracks and blackberries were free for the taking! Enough for jam, pies, etc.

    Blessings!

  11. Dear Kalianne,

    We tried the jam out and it tastes really good! I think using less sugar makes it so you can really taste the fruit! I just purchased a different type of pectin at the natural foods market to try so I am hoping that we can get more berries to be able to make another batch of jam! It is so exciting because the jam we were buying is getting so costly at the store.

    I do hope you are able to go strawberry picking and can make your conserves! It is so much fun putting things up ourselves!!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Dallas,

    I’m so sorry that the blackberries are not plentiful there. I usually use them in pies ~ I haven’t made jam in a number of years but it just feels so rewarding so I am excited about making a little more. We have also been putting the frozen ones I did last year in fruit smoothies ~ something that I have been making once in a while for an evening snack.

    One of the places that we used to pick berries has been all cut back ~ so I am thankful for the small amount I can get here at home.

    I hope your week is going well ~ blessings to you!

    Sharon

  13. Sharon,
    Your blackberry jam looks yummy! We have blackberries in late spring/early summer and we gathered some this year, but they never made it to jam. We would eat them on our cereal, on our yogurt or ice cream. They were definitely enjoyed!
    I know you all will enjoy your blackberry jam!
    Thank you for your sweet words on my blog! I have been out of town for a while and have missed all my “bloggy” friends. I am glad to be home!
    May the Lord bless you,
    Miriam

  14. Dear Miriam ~

    I am glad that you are back and able to visit!! It always feels so good to be home again after being away! There is nothing like our “Home Sweet Home”!

    What a blessing that you could enjoy some delicious blackberries as well! I just love being able to pick berries and bless my family with some treats or just to use them like your family did!

    I know that we will enjoy this jam throughout the winter!

    It was good to visit with you today ~ thanks so much for stopping by!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

