Give me Jesus

He really is what I need!

I love the song “Give Me Jesus” sung by Fernando Ortega ~ it has became one of my new favorites.  After I first heard it, it could be heard here playing over and over and over many times during the day!  I really hope I’m not the only one that does that! lol!!  But I found that it really spoke to my heart…I really need more of Him and less of everything else!

One morning when Abigail and I were using the hymnals, I found this hymn by Fanny Crosby with the same title.  What a wonderful hymn it is!

Give Me Jesus

“Take the world, but give me Jesus
All its joys are but a name;
But His love abideth ever,
Thru eternal years the same.

Chorus

O the height and depth of mercy!
O the length and breadth of love!
O the fullness of redemption
Pledge of endless life above!

Take the world, but give me Jesus
Sweetest comfort of my soul;
With my Savior watching o’er me,
I can sing tho billows roll.

Chorus

Take the world, but give me Jesus
Let me view His constant smile;
Then thruout my pilgrim journey
Light will cheer me all the while.

Chorus

Take the world, but give me Jesus
In His cross my trust shall be;
Till, with clearer, brighter vision,
Face to face my Lord I see.”

Chorus

Praying you’ll have a day filled with more of Him!  Blessings dear friends!

11 thoughts on “Give me Jesus

  1. Yes, dear Sharon…I only need Him to get through my day. Moment by moment.

    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    mari

    ps: Fernando Ortega’s song is also, one of my favorites.

    mari

  2. I had to look up the Fanny Cosby tune on the cyber hymnal as I had not heard it.
    This is the info they had on that song:

    “Fanny was talk­ing to one of her neigh­bors, who com­plained bit­ter­ly of his po­ver­ty. “If I had wealth I would be able to do just what I wish to do; and I would be able to make an ap­pear­ance in the world.” Fan­ny re­plied, “Well, take the world, but give me Je­sus.” She was here in­spired by her own words to write a hymn with that ti­tle.”

    I have a link to the cyber hymnal in my side bar if you ever want to use it.

    Blessin’s!

  3. Fanny Crosby is a favorite hymn writer along with Isaac Watts. This is an excellent hymn for congregational singing. The harmonies are beautiful and the swell of many voices lends power to the words. This hymn is like a prayer and a pledge – a beautiful tribute to our Jesus Christ our Lord. Thanks for sharing! It’s lovely to meet someone who loves the old hymns too!

    Blessings,
    Kalianne

  4. Dear Mari,

    How true that is ~ how often I rely on myself rather than just looking to Jesus moment by moment. He is the one we need!

    Blessings to you ~ I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Sharon

  5. Dear Tammy,

    Thank you for sharing the information you found for that song ~ I especially like to hear the stories behind the hymns. It is so interesting to learn more about the hymn writer and what inspired them to write it!

    Thanks for letting me know about your cyber hymnal link too! Cyber hymnal is a great resource!

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Kalianne,

    I do love the old hymns! My youngest daughter and I like to sing the ones we know, but I love finding some new ones too. Even if I don’t know the tune or how the song goes, the words are just so rich and encouraging!

    A couple of songs I recognize by Isaac Watts are “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” and “Joy to the World” Some hymns by Fanny Crosby that we sing are “Pass Me Not”, “Blessed Assurance” and “To God be the Glory”.

    What a blessing hymns are!

    I hope you have a lovely weekend! I am so glad to get to visit with you today!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  7. I will like to know what made Fanny J. Cosby blind. I loved her unknowingly but I love her truely now.GOD BLESS HER.

Leave a Reply

