Enjoying today

“But Laura lay awake a little while, listening to Pa’s fiddle softly playing

and to the lonely sound of the wind in the Big Woods.  She looked

at Pa sitting on the bench by the hearth, firelight gleaming on his

brown hair and beard and glistening on the honey-brown fiddle.

She looked at Ma, gently rocking and knitting.

She thought to herself, “This is now.”

She was glad that the cosy house, and Pa and Ma and the firelight

and the music, were now.”

Abigail and I have started reading the “Little House” series for our read aloud time in the afternoons.  We are almost finished with Little House in the Big Woods.  Last night while I was waiting for Bill to arrive home from the conference he is attending, I was looking through the part we have left to read.  The above quote is on the last page of the book.  The line “this is now” caught my attention and it made me wonder if I always enjoy right now!

I love to plan ahead and think about dreams for the future, but I don’t want to miss all of the blessings of  today!

Have a lovely today!

24 thoughts on “Enjoying today

  1. My favorite third grade teacher would read to us from the Little House books each day after recess…this post just took me back…

    The picture of the mums reminds me I need to go make a purchase ;D

  2. Dear Tammy,

    I just love the Little House books! The first time I read them was when our older kids were young and we read them aloud as a family. So it’s been awhile since I’ve read the series through ~ so I’m enjoying it.

    I just purchased two mums this past weekend ~ so now I have a little touch of fall!

    Blessings to you ~ I hope you enjoy a lovely fall day!

    Sharon

  3. Sharon,

    What a great post! It is a good reminder to enjoy today; right now!
    I love the picture of your Chrysanthemums ~ fall is here!

    Hope you have a blessed day!

    Miriam 🙂

  4. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Your mum is so pretty. I like the color. I have a yellow mum that I put on my table on the front porch and then I have one that I planted in my garden last year and it is full of buds. It looks like it is a burgundy. I really didn’t remember what color it was.

    I just love the “Little House” books. I need to read them again sometime. This winter when the snow is blowing and it is so cold that I just want to stay in, I will sit down with a cup of hot tea or hot cocoa and enjoy them again.

    Have you read the Love Come Softly Series? They are so good and I think your older girls would enjoy them.

    I sure am enjoying your fall posts!

    Simple blessings & Hugs ~
    Teri

  5. What a delightful quote from a wonderful series of books!

    I can second the recommendation for the *Love Comes Softly* series of books by Canadian author, Janette OKE … they will love them!

    Blessings :o)

  6. This was a great quote….*now*…that is all we have isn’t it…to live in the moment and to redeem the time…
    excellant post….
    Deby

  7. Dear sharon,

    Enjoying today, this very moment is so rewarding…and it is guilt-free, because it is what we are living right now!

    I think it is lovely that you are sharing those delightful books with your daughters.

    My boys did not enjoy them as much…too many females they said 🙂

    Oh, but I did. They were so uplifting.

    Thank you for sharing your mums with us,

    mari

  8. Dear Miriam,

    Yes, fall is here! I notice that it is getting a little cooler now too! I will be looking forward to cozy fires in the woodstove soon! It seems I always need to remind myself to enjoy the special moments that are “now”!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Teri,

    I purchased two mums for the front porch to brighten it up a bit. I also put some dried corn and a small pumpkin in the little cottage holder that held roses back in the summer. I think it makes it a little cheerier! I think your front porch sounds lovely with the yellow mum on the table.

    The Little House books are favorites! We have purchased some of the Love Come Softly books at library sales. We have some of the DVD’s as well. I haven’t read the books myself but I think they said the movies and books aren’t exactly the same. I think it’s sometimes disappointing to watch the movie and find out it doesn’t exactly follow the books!

    Fall is such a lovely time ~ there are so many wonderful scents and sights to enjoy!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Dallas,

    The Little House books are wonderful ~ I am happy to have the opportunity to read through them again. It has been awhile! I think this is the perfect time of year to read through a series like this.

    I haven’t read the Love Comes Softly books myself ~ I have only seen the movies. I’ll have to check into just which ones we have here at home!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  11. Dear Deby,

    Yes, now is all we have! I do want to grow in learning to treasure each moment and redeem the time!

    We have been given so many blessings and things to enjoy!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely day!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Tina,

    Thank you! It seems like I am always having to remind myself of things like this! The time passes by so quickly ~ I want to make the most of it and enjoy all the little blessings from the Lord each day! They are many!!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  13. Sharon,

    The *Love Comes Softly* series is even better than the movies because as you can imagine, they always leave something out and they’re just never as gosple oriented as the books although the movies are very well done and great for families to enjoy togehter!

    Blessings…

  14. Dear Dallas,

    Thank you! Yes, I know my girls who have read the books were saying that things were different in the movies than in the books. I did find “Love’s Enduring Promise” on my bookshelf so I’ll have to see which ones my daughter has! I just might have to read them now!

    Thanks for sharing about them!

    Sharon

  15. Dear Mari,

    Yes, it is such a blessing when we take the time to enjoy the moments and treasure each day to the fullest!

    The Little House books are wonderful and uplifting books. I am thankful to have someone young enough to enjoy them with!

    Did your boys enjoy Farmer Boy a little more?

    Blessing to you! 🙂

    Sharon

  16. Dear Elizabeth,

    I hope you are able to re-read them again. Maybe your library would carry copies or could get them for you. This is such a wonderful time to settle in for reading something like this!

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  17. Dear Sharon,

    What lovely thoughts from the Little House. I often get caught up in tomorrow and it’s plans too but life can only be lived in the now. We may not know about tommorrow or the day after, God gives us one day at a time. What a blessing! I shall try to live today to the full and give glory to God who gives us life and so many blessings. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us today! Have a wonderful day dear friend!

    Blessings,
    Kalianne

  18. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Dallas had mentioned in her comment that the movies didn’t follow the books. I felt the same way. I enjoyed the detail of the books. The movies are very good, but moves along much faster. Also, if you want the titles of the series, I would be glad to list those for you.

    Have a nice evening!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  19. Dear Kalianne,

    You have encouraged me even more! Yes, God only gives us one day at a time! What a wonderful way to live everyday ~ living life to the fullest and giving glory to God!

    It is always a blessing when you come to visit and share your thoughts! I am so thankful to get to visit with you! What a sweet friend you are!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  20. Dear Teri,

    That would be so sweet of you! I’m thinking we probably have most of them here at home but that would be great if you could list them ~ and that way others who might be interested in reading them could see it too!

    Sweet blessings! ♥

    Sharon

  21. I loved those books growing up and I’m trying to get Emily interested in them. However, it doesn’t seem to be working! 😦 Oh well, maybe in a year or two.

  22. Dear Terri,

    Abbie hasn’t ever read the whole series through and she is 11. So maybe Emily will be interested in a year or two. She has read Farmer Boy on her own and read all of it ~ she loved that one best of all she’s read so far in the series. So maybe you could try that one first! 🙂

    I hope you are enjoying a great fall day!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

