The library is one of my favorite places

I have been gathering up ideas for handmade Christmas gifts the last couple of days. I love making things ~ and Christmas will be here before we know it!  The library really is such a wonderful source of information!  I have a found a couple books that have given me some ideas and I have two more books on hold!

One that I checked out last night is “Sew Pretty Homestyle” ~ it has a pair of cute slippers that I think would be fun to try and make!

I just love the idea of a very simple homespun Christmas!

Is anyone else planning to make handmade Christmas gifts?  Have you found any helpful books?  I would love to hear all about your plans and ideas!

Blessings on your day and the weekend ahead!

18 thoughts on “The library is one of my favorite places

  1. Good Afternoon Sharon ~

    The library is one of my favorite places also. Yours is so nice and it looks like fall in your town with all of the colorful trees. They sure are pretty.

    I need to visit our library and take a little extra time to look through some of the Christmas craft books. When I was there the other day, I just picked up a book that they had waiting for me.

    It is so nice here today. My husband has been doing some yard work. I mixed up sugar cookie dough and am baking sugar cookies. The house smells so good. I think it is time to put on the coffee pot.

    Simple blessings for your weekend!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. I am *hoping* to hand-make some Christmas gifts and I love the idea of a *home spun Christmas …

    I don’t have too many ideas just yet as I haven’t started thinking in earnest just yet … but I better get seriously started because as you say, it will be here before I know it :o)

  3. Good morning Sharon. Every year, most of the gifts I give to extended family are homemade. I get ideas from books, magazines craft stores, etc.

    One year, made all the nieces and nephews tote bags filled with craft supplies. Another year, I made them each a neck pillow shaped like an animal (the body wrapped around their neck and the legs hung down), another year I gave all my inlaws table runners and place mats. Last year, I made homemade dish cloths and homemade jam.

    It’s kind of fun to try and come up with something different each year.

    Love,
    Terri

  4. Dear Tammy,

    I just loved the colors of the trees at the library too!

    I know I won’t be able to make all of my gifts but I hope to try and make as many as possible. I guess I need to get busy!! 🙂

    Blessings on your weekend,

    Sharon

  5. Dear Teri,

    The trees are just beautiful right now as you drive into the parking lot of the library. I was really excited when Bill showed me the sign on the door about the upcoming book sale next Saturday. I love the book sales! Another library has a big book sale on the 25th ~ so fun!

    It must smell so good when you have sugar cookies baking ~ can I come over to your house? 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Dallas,

    I am going to try and make as many things as I can but I know I will probably have to buy a few things as well. A simple homespun Christmas sounds really nice to me too!

    I know I need to get started so I can avoid the stresses and just be able to enjoy all the joys of the season.

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  7. Blessings this day to you Sharon,
    I absolutely love the pic of your library-especially the trees, the reds I miss most now that we are in CO. As for Christmas, I was just out today with hubby getting fabric for the newest baby quilt and actually got some pretty feminine rose fabric for a quilt for all three girls to snuggle under on the couch. I am also making two other quilts for family and two small doll quilts for cradles my hubby is making. Today I told hubby I wanted a homespun Christmas in which the gifts we gave our daughters and their families were all homemade. I know I”m going to be sitting at the sewing machine for hours each day in preparation but it should be fun making things instead of buying them. Have a great time planning. The holdiays will be here very soon.
    In Him,
    Noreen

  8. Hi Sharon ~

    You are invited to come over anytime! I would enjoy that very much.

    Have a blessed weekend!
    Hugs ~
    Teri

  9. Dear Elizabeth,

    I think your idea of the cross stitch Christmas cards is lovely. I was thinking of making my own Christmas cards this year. I know that I always appreciate the lovely handmade cards we receive.

    Thank you for your sweet offer to share some patterns! I think I have some small Christmas patterns too so I think I’m okay for now, but I so appreciate your thoughtfulness!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Terri,

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely Saturday!

    Thank you so much for sharing what you have made. You amaze me by how much you accomplish…all the things you have to do at home and church…and you find time to make all of these gifts as well! I love all of your creative gift ideas!

    I think it is fun coming up with the different ideas. I would love to hear what you decide to make this year!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  11. I would love to tell you, Sharon but I know my mother and other relatives read my blog and others as well, so I’m afraid that they might get wind of it. I’ll post pictures once Christmas is over! 😉

    Love,
    Terri

  12. Dear Noreen,

    Blessings to you today! Yes, the holidays will be here before we know it!

    I love what you are doing ~ it should make for a lovely homespun Christmas for your family.♥ I enjoyed just reading about your plans! It will take more time working away at home on the projects, but won’t it be such a blessing for us to work on these gifts of love! ♥

    May the Lord bless the work of your hands!

    Have a lovely week ahead,

    Sharon

  13. Dear Terri,

    I will look forward after Christmas to find out what you have made! 🙂

    Last week I made two of your recipes ~ the sausage lentil soup and the granola in the crockpot. You are becoming popular at our house! 🙂 I was thinking this morning that you could make up a family recipe booklet of some of your favorite recipes for your relatives ~ I think that would make a wonderful Christmas gift!

    I hope you had a great weekend!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  14. Dear Sharon,

    A homespun Christmas sounds wonderful! I’ve been flicking thorugh craft magazines but haven’t settled on anything yet. Isn’t the library a wonderful resource. I might go and check there for some more ideas! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Happy crafting!

    ~Kalianne

Leave a Reply

