An afternoon in the kitchen

It was an afternoon for baking at our house today!  The men’s Bible study at church was starting up tonight and Bill asked me if I could make a snack for them to have.  So I made up some Apple Bars for them!

While they were in the oven baking, Abbie and I made up some chocolate chip cookie dough.  A man at our church is involved in a prison ministry, and in addition to their regular work there, two times a year they have a major outreach at the facility.  They will need hundreds of dozens of homebaked cookies!  They like to have cookies baked with love…and covered with prayer! They will be taken to the prison and given out to the prisoners and staff.  So we baked the chocolate chip cookies today ~ and tomorrow we are planning on making some peanut butter cookies.  This is the first time we have made cookies for this ~ and it was a joy to do it and to be able to pray together that the Lord will touch the lives of whoever receives the cookies we made!  I just love the practical things we can do to make a difference from right here at home!  I pray our cookies will make a difference for His glory!

“Remember those who are in prison, as though in prison with them…”

Hebrews 13:3a (ESV)

I hope you all have enjoyed a lovely day!  Mine was especially sweet! I was reminded once again what a special gift “today” is!

“The LORD bless you and keep you, the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you, the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26

♥ Blessings to you dear friends!

14 thoughts on “An afternoon in the kitchen

  1. What a wonderful way to show love to others…I pray that the people in prison will be touched by this deeply and will reach out to the Lord as a result.

    Your apple bars looked very yummy too!

    love, Tina xx

  2. Dear Kalianne ~

    This was a fun outreach project for us to do right here at home! I will look forward to doing it next time they need cookies.

    Thank you for stopping by to visit with me today! I hope you are enjoying a lovely day ~

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  3. What a wonderful idea! I can well understand enjoying the practical things you can do right from home ~ I know just what you mean :o)

    I made my 1st bread pudding today …. 1/2 to eat and the rest to give away ~ I guess you could say it was a successful experiment :o)

    Blessings …

  4. Good Evening Sharon ~

    I bet your home smells wonderful! ~ And all for such a good cause! ~ I would love to have the recipe for your apple bars sometime. They look delicious.

    Have a blessed evening!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  5. Dear Dallas ~

    It was a blessing for us to make the cookies for this outreach. We pray the Lord will use them for His glory! I actually thought of you while I was making them ~ you are such a great example of making things in your kitchen to share!

    I’m glad to hear your bread pudding was a success!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Terri ~

    This was such an easy thing for us to be involved in right here at home ~ I look forward to the next time they have it so we can participate again!

    Have a lovely day,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Teri ~

    We finished up the cookies and took them to church last night so they would be ready for the outreach. I hope they will be a blessing to the prisoners and staff ~ it was a blessing for us to make them and I even had a few for my family to enjoy!

    Blessings to you!!

    Sharon

  8. Your apple bars and cookies look delicious! Sounds like a wonderful outreach. You are right about every day being a special gift. We just have to remember to open it!

  9. Dear Susan,

    Thank you! ♥ It was fun to bake for this outreach. Every day is such a wonderful gift ~ It think oftentimes I forget to really live it to the fullest!

    I hope you enjoy a blessed and lovely day!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

