Watercolor fun

I made some Thanksgiving cards last week using one of the techniques I learned at the card making party I went to last month.  I stamped the cornucopia onto some card stock and colored it in with our watercolor pencils.  I enjoyed this bit of coloring fun! Then I used a watercolor brush and water to paint over my coloring.  My artistic skills are quite limited ~ and this was such an easy way to feel like a real artist!

If I can find a Christmas stamp to color ~ I would like to make my own Christmas cards too!

Blessings to you all as a new week begins!

20 thoughts on “Watercolor fun

  1. These cards are lovely! Amazing to think what you can do with a stamp and some crayons!

    What effect does the brushed on water have on the colouring?

    Blessings to you ….

  2. Good Evening Sharon ~

    You did a wonderful job on your homemade Thanksgiving cards! Very, very nice!

    I like your new look on your website! ~ Nice! ~

    I love the little produce wagon with the corn. So simple and perfect for fall.

    Thank you for sharing!!

    Simple blessings!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Blessings to you this Tuesday! I love the cards-I used to make my own cards so it brings back memories and you did a great job. At first, I thought they were coasters for glasses. Love the small wagon and corn. Love the new look your blog has. Enjoy the changing weather.
    Hugs,
    Noreen

  4. They are very pretty. Looks like a lot of work. I always have good intentions then life gets in the way. Coloring…that is good. I Remember when I did that as a child and it actually filled up hours of free time. I never had that giant box of crayons, but had friends that shared (:

  5. Dear Dallas ~

    Thank you ~ this is such a fun way to make cards! And it makes it easy for me! Brushing water on the coloring blends the colors giving it a watercolor effect. I used mostly watercolor pencils on these, but I had used watercolor crayons at the party. I think the card I made with the crayons actually looked more like it was watercolored than these.

    I hope you are enjoying a blessed week!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  6. Thank you, Teri!

    I had fun working on the cards! Thanks also for mentioning my new look! I can’t make it look too much different ~ but I was ready for a little change!

    I found the little wagon at the thrift store two years ago and I just love bringing it out for fall!

    Sweet blessings to you!

    Sharon

  7. Dear Noreen,

    Thank you so much! I enjoy making cards and these were such fun ~ coloring the design and then using the brush to give the watercolor effect.

    I am enjoying the beautiful weather. Isn’t everything just so pretty this time of year? We go walking in the mornings and it is starting to be quite chilly!

    Sweet blessings & hugs,

    Sharon

  8. Thank you, Deby!

    I thought it was relaxing too! This was such an easy way for me to enjoy watercoloring ~ I just need to try and stay in the lines!! 🙂

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  9. Dear Tina,

    Thank you! My daughter had been using the watercolor pencils for her art ~ I didn’t know how fun it was! As long as I have a design that I can just color in ~ it’s good!

    Sweet blessings,

    Sharon

  10. Thanks, Pam!

    They really weren’t too much work at all ~ just coloring in and dabbing with water to blend! 🙂 I always loved fresh new crayons ~ this gives me an excuse to color again! 🙂

    Many blessings,

    Sharon

  11. Thank you, Elizabeth!

    I appreciate your kind words so much! It really was so enjoyable and relaxing to work on these! But I love to send cards too, so it will be a double blessing when I put them in the mail!! 🙂

    Have a sweet day!

    Sharon

  12. Sharon,
    What talent! Beautiful !
    We went to the Smokey Mountains and there were so many fall decorations in yards; not to mention the leaves changing for the fall designed by our Creator! I’ll have to post the pictres on my blog.
    Blessings,
    Miriam

  13. Thank you, Susan!

    I found the little wagon while browsing at the thrift store a couple of years ago. I enjoy bringing it out in the fall ~ sometimes I’ll add a pumpkin and a gourd too! Fall is such a wonderful time of year!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

