Simple blessings

This morning Bill and I went to a church holiday bazaar.  I love going to bazaars this time of year! Bill purchased this doily there and came home and put it on the kitchen table as a surprise for me! I love it ~ and think it is so pretty for fall!  I thought it would look pretty with my sunflowers from the garden! Oh, how I wish I could make some of these myself ~ however, at the present time I am slowly working away at an easy dishcloth pattern!!  When we came home, the mail was waiting and there was a package for me ~ a friend had sent me a variety of tea bags along with a little note saying she hoped I could sit down and relax with a cup of tea! That is so perfect to go along with another gift I received in the mail recently!  About a week and a half ago, I was surprised to receive the loveliest “apple” fabric coasters in the mail!  Sweet and simple blessings! Now when I sit down for a cup of tea ~ I can think of these two sweet ladies and the blessing that they are! The Lord is continuing to stir and encourage my heart these days ~ about reaching out and being a blessing ~acts of kindness really mean so much!

I hope you are enjoying a day filled with simple blessings!

“Now may our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God our Father, who loved us and gave us eternal comfort and good hope through grace, comfort your hearts and establish them in every good work and word.”

II Thessalonians 2:16-17 (ESV)


10 thoughts on “Simple blessings

  1. Good Evening Sharon ~

    Such a very special surprise from your husband! How sweet of him to do that for you. The doily looks so nice with your flowers. We are so blessed to have such thoughtful husbands. I think that the little things that they do for us, mean the very most.

    I love the way that you add a Bible verse to your posts. You are such an inspiration!

    Simple blessings to you!
    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. Dear Teri,

    Good evening to you! ♥

    I thought it was so thoughtful of Bill to do this for me. The little things do mean so much! The doily looked really cute with my little wagon sitting on it but I like it with the sunflowers too. But the sunflowers were the last thing out in the garden area and now I miss looking out the kitchen window and seeing them! 🙂 Bill pulled out the plants and now the garden is empty.

    Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words ~ you are such a blessing to me!

    I hope the rest of your weekend is lovely! ♥

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  3. Sharon, that is beautiful. I love the little flowers in it and it goes perfectly with the sunflowers. I have a friend who is always bringing me little things when she comes over and is so thoughtful that way. Sometimes it’s teabags, sometimes it’s flowers from her garden. But often the little things mean so much more!

  4. What a sweet thing for your hubby to do..I love the doilie…I too love things like that, but that kind of handwork is far above my abilities so I love when I can find such beautiful handwork.
    Deby

  5. Dear Terri,

    Thanks ~ I am enjoying both the doily and the sunflowers in my kitchen ~ although I do miss looking out the kitchen window and seeing them ~as they were one of my few blooming flowers.

    It is so sweet of your friend to do those thoughtful things for you ~ those little touches of kindness are such a blessing.

    I hope you have enjoyed your weekend and that you have a blessed week!

    Blessings and hugs,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Deby,

    I just love the doily ~ and was touched by my husband’s thoughtfulness.

    It would be so nice to be able to make such lovely handmade items. My great aunt used to make lovely doilies but she is gone now. I don’t think I could learn something like that on my own! Right now I am working on a very simple dishcloth!

    I hope the week ahead is filled with blessings for you!

    Hugs,

    Sharon

  7. What a sweet surprise. My husband would never think of that. Motor oil maybe…lol… The flowers are great too. You have been blessed.

  8. Sharon,
    What a cherished memory to hold in your heart from your husband and your friends!
    You ought to take that picture and frame as a gentle reminder(Sunflowers and dollie). Sunflowers like daisies seem to always seem to say a friendly “welcome”.
    Miriam 🙂

  9. Dear Pam,

    It was a sweet surprise! The flowers are starting to fade now but I have enjoyed them so much. They have been a such a blessing!

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  10. Dear Miriam,

    I love your idea to frame the picture as a reminder! I could put it on my nightstand!

    The sunflowers have been such a cheery addition to my kitchen ~ I can hardly wait for next year to plant some more!

    I hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Blessings,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

