Rainy days

gingerbread-scones-017It has been raining here today so the coziness of home feels really good!  Despite the rain, Bill and I ventured out for a walk early this morning and came back drenched!  I think it was raining a little too hard for an enjoyable walk today! ) Everytime it rains though ~ I just can’t help but be reminded of the Lord’s provision of our new roof ~ and oh, how thankful I am!

When I came back home ~ I thought of the hymn “Sunshine in My Soul” by Eliza  E. Hewitt ~ a hymn that I had come across earlier this year ~

“There is sunshine in my soul today,

More glorious and bright

Than glows in any earthly sky,

For Jesus is my light.”

Simple encouragement for my day!

gingerbread-scones-010

It was the perfect morning for baking! I tried out a new recipe from Terri’s blog ~ “Hearts in Service“.  These Gingerbread Scones are very easy & so yummy!  And they made the kitchen smell so good!   Thanks, Terri!

“But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the LORD,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.”

Psalm 13:5-6 (ESV)

Blessings on your day!

16 thoughts on “Rainy days

  1. We have not had rain or snow yet…It is 59 degress right now. I better get out and go for a walk. The scones looked good. I can almost smell them (o:

  2. Hi Sharon ~

    Such a cozy picture! Your candle set is so pretty. ~ So warm and cozy. ~

    The Gingerbread Scones look so delicious!

    I am sure you have had a ~ homey ~ day!

    Simple blessings!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Hi Sharon,
    Gingerbread scones sounds wonderful! They look yummy! I wish my family liked gingerbread. I love it!! Glad you enjoyed them, and had a cozy day inside. They hymn sounds very pretty.

  4. I can almost smell the scones :o)

    We have had little rain and no snow yet … temps last week were very warm for this time of year and getting our snow tires has been put off for another 2 weeks :o)

    Blessings!

  5. Dear Terri,

    We love your recipes! I will be looking forward to your Christmas cookie recipes! 🙂 Rachel’s birthday is coming up next week and she has requested the sausage and peppers for her birthday dinner.

    We must have sent the rain your way ~ yesterday was clear and beautiful! 🙂

    Have a great weekend,

    Sharon

  6. Dear Teri,

    Thank you! The scones were delicious! They would be very good with a cup of tea! The house just smells so good when you bake something like that. Very homey! 🙂

    Blessings on your day,

    Sharon

  7. Dear Susan,

    Blessings to you today! I haven’t made many gingerbread treats but these were so easy and delicious. My family enjoyed them.

    I hope you have a lovely weekend, 🙂

    Sharon

  8. Dear Dallas,

    We really haven’t had too many rainy days here either ~ it has been a beautiful fall! I really am hoping for “no snow” this year! I’m glad you have been enjoying nice days too!

    The scone recipe is a keeper for us ~ they did smell yummy! 🙂

    Blessings,

    Sharon

  9. oh yes…we sure did have the rain..but today it is lovely..and my husband is outside finishing our Christmas lights….we are early but loving it…
    The scone recipe looks good..I would guess since it is gingerbread your house smelled WONDERFUL…
    ~deby

  10. Your pictures are so cozy looking. I can’t believe you went walking in the rain – just kids at heart, I guess. I will have to look up that hymn “Sunshine in My Soul.” Thanks for visiting me.

  11. Dear Deby ~

    How fun to get your Christmas lights up early to enjoy! My husband put some Christmas CD’s in the stereo, so we have been listening to some Christmas music here!

    It did smell very good ~ the only problem was that the gingerbread didn’t last too long!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

  12. Dear Cathy,

    Yes ~ kid’s at heart!! It really wasn’t raining too hard when we left on the walk ~ and we really like to get our exercise in ~ but it started raining really hard while we were out!!

    Blessings to you,

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

