Happenings at home

christmas-program-and-cookies-011

We have snow at our house and everything is so white and pretty!  The sun was out today and the skies were blue and beautiful but the temperatures are very chilly ~ in the 20’s now ~ which is pretty cold for us!

christmas-program-and-cookies-018

While Bill was out chopping wood this morning he noticed this hummingbird sitting up in the sunshine!  The hummingbirds seem to be here all year long and it has been so enjoyable to watch them fluttering about.  It is nice to be able to provide food for them ~ especially in these cold temperatures.

I have been making some Christmas treats today…

christmas-program-and-cookies-0222 batches of Sled cookies

christmas-program-and-cookies-027Penuche

christmas-program-and-cookies-030Peppermint patties

Now I’m making some homemade chicken noodle soup for dinner ~ and Bill has started a fire in the woodstove.  I think we can settle in for a cozy homestyle evening on this chilly night!

What’s been happening at your home today?

I hope this week will be filled with blessings for you!

24 thoughts on “Happenings at home

  1. I didn’t know hummingbirds stayed around in cold weather. The treats look so good. I need to stay away from baking after all the goodies I ate on this trip. I had the family over for soup tonight. The four granddaughters stayed longer while their parents went out for a bit. It was a wild night. They have also been on a vacation and were all wound up. Now I am a tired Grammy.

  2. Oh Sharon! These look delicious and oh! SO fattening :o(

    Believe it or not, I’ve still got wrapping to do! The ones done I’ve already done were packed in parcels and shipped away last week.

    Now I’ve got to try to get the ones for at home wrapped tomorrow since I have no chores to do away from home and will be here *all day* ~~ I’m looking forward to it.

    I’ll probably use my 3 very ripe bananas and make a batch of jumbo muffins with added walnuts and coconut and use them as gifts for those who are not able to eat fudge and macaroons because of diabetes.

    Today was a day of driving people here and there for various appointments so I spent most of it *on the road* it seemed :o)

    Blessings to you and yours …

  3. Hi Sharon ~

    We have some snow also. But it was so cold here today. It is 9 degrees tonight. It was colder than that earlier today. We don’t have as much snow as you have. We are supposed to have some snow tonight and tomorrow.

    It certainly looks like you have kept busy in the kitchen today. All of your Christmas treats look so good.

    I didn’t realize that the little hummingbirds would stay around when it is so cold.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Hugs~
    Teri

  4. What a lovely post Sharon…it made me feel all cosy inside! I love the way you always write so cheerfully, whatever the weather, etc. It is an encouragement to me whenever I visit you!

    Have a Blessed and happy day,

    Please save me some of your delicious baking! 😉

    love, Tina xx

  5. Homemade soup and a fire in the woodstove sounds so warm and cozy! Your treats look so delicious! And the snow is so pretty. (I’m listening to White Christmas as I type this!)

    I finished up my Christmas shopping today…and sent out Christmas cards! (Yay!) Have a wonderful evening!

  6. Hi there Sharon, What wonderful goodies you’ve been making-I’ve never seen the top two before but they sound yummy! Today I went to my daughter’s to help with two of her three when the nutritionist came by for her middle daughter who has health issues. Then we came home, had lunch and I rushed off to my hair gal for a cut & color. Errands after that-I’m ready to kick back a bit. Our temps have been in the negatives but still beautiful.
    Blessings to you.

  7. I’m not familiar with penuche, but your goodies do look tasty!
    We’ve had a morning of seeing old friends, who popped by to visit, which was lovely. now all is quiet as my husband takes a little read/rest! and I catch up with letters.

  8. Sharon,
    It snowed here last weekend! How blessed we are to have a warm home to come in from the cold!

    I thought hummingbirds went far south for the winter. I love watching birds especially hummingbirds. God is so amazing to create so many different animals!

    Your goodies look so yummy! Will you be sharing the recipes?

    Have a blessed day!
    🙂

  9. Hi Pam,

    I just found out this year that we have one type of hummingbird that stays here during the fall and winter. I just don’t know if they can survive freezing temperatures for long.

    Sounds like a busy day for you. It must have been a wonderful trip you had!

    Have a blessed day,
    Sharon

  10. Dear Dallas,

    Yes, fattening is probably the right word!

    Your jumbo muffins sound delicious! What a nice treat for those who can’t have the other things during the holidays.

    I enjoy hearing about your days!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  11. Dear Teri,

    9 degrees is very cold! I hope you are keeping warm and cozy on these chilly days!

    Even though it has been so cold, I have still seen hummingbirds at the feeder ~ we just have to keep it from freezing!

    Blessings on your day,
    Sharon

  12. Hi Terri,

    Thank you! This is my first time making homemade peppermint patties. They are so good but mine do not look near as pretty as the picture on the recipe! I didn’t use the shortening in with the chocolate for the coating so instead of being able to dip them in the chocolate, we had to just kind of frost both sides. I don’t think it altered the taste any ~ very yummy! 🙂

    Have a blessed day,
    Sharon

  13. Dear Susan,

    That is such a wonderful accomplishment finishing up your Christmas shopping and cards! 🙂
    I still have a few cards to put in the mail today ~ and I have a project that I am working on for a Christmas gift!

    Have a sweet and blessed day!
    Sharon

  14. Dear Noreen,

    A busy day for you! How nice that you are near by to help your daughter out ~ that is such a blessing when there are little ones! I hope you were able to relax a bit!

    Your temperatures are oh, so chilly! How is your quilting coming along? Keep warm and enjoy these last days before Christmas!

    Sweet blessings,
    Sharon

  15. Dear Elizabeth,

    Penuche has a fudge like texture but it is made with brown sugar instead of chocolate so it has more of a carmel kind of taste. I remember my Grandma buying it when I was a girl and I found this recipe in a magazine many years ago. My family loves it!

    I loved hearing about your day!

    Sweet blessings,
    Sharon

  16. Dear Miriam,

    A warm home does feel so good when it is cold and snowy out!

    We have the Anna’s hummingbirds here all year long but our temperatures have been quite cold now and I’m not sure how they survive in that. We’re trying to keep our feeder unfrozen and there was a little one at it this morning ~ so cute!

    If there is a recipe you would like ~ I will be happy to share! 🙂

    I hope you are enjoying a sweet and blessed day!
    Sharon

  17. Sharon, I love Penuche fudge. It has such a wonderful flavor. I enjoyed reading about your snow (believe it or not). I didn’t think that I would ever care if I saw snow again after leaving the North Country but I have to admit, it is beautiful to look at especially when the sun is shinning. It’s amazing that you still have hummingbirds hanging around in that cold weather. Thanks for the nice cozy thoughts. It almost makes me wish I were there with you!

  18. Dear Dianne,

    Yes, it really is so beautiful to look out and see everything covered in such a pretty white blanket of snow! It snowed again yesterday and last night and most of the day today! My husband had to put chains on to go out today! 🙂 I am happy with snow as long as we don’t have to leave home!

    Wish you could by and visit ~ we could have some penuche and tea together! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  19. Hi Senkyoshi!

    Here is a link to a recipe for peppermint patties:

    http://homecooking.about.com/od/candyrecipes/r/blcandy6.htm

    The ones I made used 2 Tablespoons of butter and 2 1/2 teaspoons of peppermint. All the other ingredients are the same. I just melted the chocolate chips without adding the shortening. They seemed a little hard to dip so we ended up just “frosting” one side and then the other. They didn’t turn out quite as pretty but I don’t think it affected the taste.

    They are so good! We just keep them in the freezer and you can eat them just like that! I hope you can find all the ingredients there so that you can enjoy them too!

    Blessings to you!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

