New on my bookshelf

new-books-021

I have been waiting for about a week for the sunshine and temperatures in the 50’s  that were supposed to be coming our way ~ but today it has mostly been an off and on again foggy kind of day!  The sunny spot is that I just received a gift of two new books to add to my library ~ books that I have had on my book wishlist!  Very sweet!  It is the kind of day for a fleece blanket ~ some tea ~ and a good book!  I think I need the inspiration from both of these books!

Having you been taking any time out to read an inspiring book?

May your day be blessed with simple pleasures!

20 thoughts on “New on my bookshelf

  1. I’ve read, A Life That Says Welcome and it was excellent. Right now I have The Hidden Art of Homemaking by Edith Schaefer. It’s not quite what I expected but again, I’m only on chapter one.

  2. Sharon,

    *A Lilfe That Says Welcome* sounds like a good read that I should look out for.

    I’ve heard about Noelle Piper’s book ~ let me know how you enjoy it OK?

    A question for Terri and you if you’ve read it — would either of you recommend *The Hidden Art of Homemaking* or would you suggest some other book that has been more recently published? I’m trying to decide …

    Thanks and blessings as this week winds down!

  3. Sounds like a wonderful time…tea, a warm blanket and a good book! Enjoy reading them. Let us know what you thought of them. God bless.

  4. Hi Sharon ~

    I hope that you were able to enjoy reading your new books, curled up with your fleece blanket, with a cup of tea!! Sounds like a wonderful way to spend a little quiet time.

    Thank you for sharing! Simple blessings for your weekend!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  5. They do look like good books. Sometimes I get to stuck in the habit of reading novels and forget about the other great books out there.

  6. I love to read inspiring books…in fact I only choose books which uplift, encourage and inspire. Your books look lovely. I’ve missed being in blogland….hope you’re well. xx

  7. Hi Sharon! What beautiful-looking books! I love to read books by other Christian ladies too. Have a Blessed evening.

    Love, Tina 🙂

  8. Sharon,

    They sound like wonderful books! I love to be cozy under a blanket with a good book!
    Hope your day was wonderful.
    I have read “The Hidden Art” by Edith Schaeffer and still glean so much information. As women we are to be creative because we come from a Wonderful Creator!
    There is another book that I bought from Institute for Basic Life Principles(IBLP) it is a book called “The Power of Hospitality” by Chuck & Kathie Crismier. Have you heard of it? It is full of good information, too.
    Please let me know what you think about Noel Piper’s book.

    Have a blessed week.
    🙂

  9. Hi Terri,

    I’ve heard good things about “A Life That Says Welcome” so I’m glad to finally have a copy. I’ve only read a little so far!

    I hope you are enjoying a blessed week!
    Sharon

  10. Dear Dallas ~

    I am always encouraged by the life of Edith Schaeffer and in my homemaking I have also been inspired greatly by the books by Emilie Barnes.

    Blessings to you this week!
    Sharon

  11. Dear Elizabeth,

    I found a copy of “Beautiful in God’s Eyes” at the library on the “for sale shelf” for $.25! I enjoy her books. How sweet that someone sent you a copy! Enjoy!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  12. Hi Teri ~

    It’s always fun to get new books ~ I had heard good things about “A Life That Says Welcome” and was disappointed that our library system didn’t carry it. These books will be nice for quiet moments on these days of winter!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  13. Hi Miriam ~

    I agree ~ and I think that’s something I like about Edith Schaeffer…she used what was available around her to be creative with. I know I need to do that more!

    I haven’t heard of the book you mentioned but I love books on hospitality ~ it is an area that I want to grow more in!

    Blessings on your day!
    Sharon

  14. Dallas, I just saw your question. I really like it and I think there are many truths in there that are timeless, so I would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

