Flowers…for pressing

flowers-for-pressing-009

These sunny little flowers are growing sweetly in a flower pot in my backyard.  I have been interested in pressing some flowers to use and I think these will be perfect!

We watched a DVD last week called Homestead Blessings:  The Art of Candle Making.  Have you seen it?  I would love to try making some handmade beeswax candles! The beeswax smells wonderful and how fun to make some at home!  One of the projects used pressed flowers so it has inspired me to get out the book on flower pressing that we found at the thrift store and give it a try.  I’m sure some pressed flowers would be lovely on handmade bookmarks and cards as well!

Blessings to you as you begin a fresh, new week!

10 thoughts on “Flowers…for pressing

  1. you’ll have so much fun!:-)…i use an old crock pot to melt the wax, so it doesn’t get too hot!…and pressed flower cards are a ton of fun to make!:-)…don’t forget bookmarks, they make great little gifts!:-)

    rebekah:-)

  2. Those pansies would be very pretty pressed. Since I love flowers so, I need to try it myself. I guess I am just too involved with the music writing.

  3. Hi Sharon ~

    So bright and pretty! It sure makes us think of ~Spring~Sun~Warmer temperatures! They would sure be pretty pressed. It sure sounds like a fun project! The candle making project sounds like fun also.

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  4. Hi Rebekah ~

    Thanks for visiting and for the tip about the crockpot ~ I never would have thought of that! I am excited to get started pressing some flowers. We also have some ferns growing in the backyard which I think I will try as well.

    Thank you for your encouragement!!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  5. Hi Cathy ~

    I think flower pressing will be such fun! What a sweet way for us to enjoy our flowers a little longer! I hope you have a chance to try some too! But keep up with the good work of your music writing ~ you are so gifted!!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  6. Hi Teri ~

    Seeing the flowers blooming is such a blessing! I love this time of year! Spring seems to be a little slow in coming to our area ~ although today was sunny and warm and beautiful!!

    I think I will really enjoy pressing some flowers!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

