Blessings of encouragement

“Can you just imagine what would happen to a body of God’s people if each one was being encouraged by someone else every day – and each believer was encouraging someone else?” ~ Nancy Campbell from Above Rubies

teasures of encouragement 001

Does anyone else like to keep letters and cards they have received?  What a source of encouragement ~ a bit of sunshine to cheer even long after they have been received!

On Sunday a single woman at church shared with me that she now had a full work schedule again ~ an answer to prayer for her.  My first thought was that I should send a card to her and further tell her that I was rejoicing with her and to encourage her in God’s faithfulness ~ and then I started thinking that it just wasn’t necessary to send a card.  When I give in to thinking like this ~ this is when I miss out on being used in the ministry of encouragement.  It really didn’t matter if I had just talked to her ~ don’t we all know how we can use encouragement each and every day?  God really wants to use us as vessels of encouragement ~ So guess what I did today?

“As you wake each morning and spend time with God before you start the day, ask God to show you who He wants you to encourage this day.  Give God time for Him to speak to you.  As you wait, He will show you.  Then ask Him what He wants you to do.  He will show you creative ways to encourage that will change peoples lives.” ~ Nancy Campbell

And just think of the opportunities we have to be a blessing and encouragement to our husbands and children as well!

I hope you are encouraged to reach out and allow the Lord to use you in the ministry of refreshment!

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.”

I Thessalonians 5:11 (ESV)

“For I have derived much joy and comfort from your love, my brother, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed through you.”

Philemon 1:7 (ESV)

Blessings dear friends!

8 thoughts on “Blessings of encouragement

  1. I love this post..I have missed out way to many times on thinking…nah…don’t bother with the card..and yet I knew the Lord had put that person on my heart…
    I need this post today..THANK YOU, Sharon…
    think we will have to meet in person, one day…
    deby

  2. That is so neat, Sharon. I keep my cards too, but not as beautifully organized as you. I believe you have the gift of encouragement. I used to send a lot more cards than I do now. Thanks for this post today.

  3. Hi Sharon ~

    Thank you so much for sharing such a special post! You are such an inspiration to me. You have encouraged me in so many ways. I have a basket that I keep all of my cards, notes, gift tags and special keepsakes in. I love to go back and look through them. Many are homemade and have been sent with so much love in them.

    Blessings to you!
    Hugs ~
    Teri

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more! And, I”m trying to be more open to being used to encourage as often as the Lord lays it on my heart … whether or not I’ve just spoken to the person or even already told them.

    There is something very special about a note or card that can be picked up later and re-read and it lets the receiver know you were praying for them and thinking about them and something like that could just MAKE their day :o)

    Blessings to you!

  5. Hi Deby ~

    I can relate to just what you are saying! I also know I have missed many opportunities. Thank you for your encouragement!

    It would be a joy to meet you! 🙂

    Have a blessed day,
    Sharon

  6. Hi Cathy,

    I must admit that before I decided to post this ~ one of those piles of cards was stuffed away in a hutch! 🙂 I love the look a simple ribbon added. Now I think I can have them out ~ that way I can continue to be encouraged by them more easily and hopefully they will be a reminder for me to send more cards myself!

    Your sweet words have been an encouragement to me!

    Blessings to you today,
    Sharon

  7. Hi Teri ~

    I think a basket is a lovely way to store the cards you’ve received! While I don’t always keep everything I receive ~ I haven’t really known what to do with the ones I do keep. Like I told Cathy ~ I had one pile stuffed away in a hutch out of sight. I just may have to be on the lookout for a basket to store these treasures!

    You, too, have encouraged me so much!

    Have a lovely day,
    Sharon

  8. Hi Dallas ~

    I agree ~ there is something special about a card or note and the fact that it can be picked up later and re-read. Such wonderful encouragement long after it was received and read for the first time. I love sending cards but often I still find it is so easy to find an excuse to not do it. I am encouraged afresh to be more careful to do this as the Lord puts something on my heart even if like you said ~ I have just talked to the person.

    Thank you for the blessing and encouragement that you are to me!

    Blessings on your day,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

