It’s just “stuff”!

purple coneflower 010

“And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

Luke 12:15 (ESV)

This week as I was helping Bill pick up some church supplies, we saw a sign for an estate sale as we were leaving the Costco parking lot.  Part of the sign really stuck out to me ~ it said, “60 years of stuff”!  Maybe it wouldn’t have seemed so significant to me if it had said 60 years of treasures or even 60 years of memories ~ but in the end it’s just “stuff”!    It’s amazing how the Lord can take such simple things and use them to speak to our hearts! Oh, how I want my life to amount to more than an accumulation of stuff!

As we head into another weekend ~ “The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26 (ESV)

Blessings friends

6 thoughts on “It’s just “stuff”!

  1. Hi Sharon!
    Isn’t it so true? Sixty years of stuff that from an outsider’s point of view just looks like a pile of rubble,really. When my parents moved out of their last house and into a condo, my sister said the same thing about all their things. As I get older, I care less and less about accumulating things, but I admit there have been times I cared too much. I even wrote a little about that in my post yesterday. I hope you have a happy weekend!

  2. Oh how I agree. I think as we get older the accumulation of ‘stuff’ just hasnt got the same meaning as it once had. The memories live on in my heart.

  3. Hi Pom Pom ~

    I have to say that I have often cared too much about accumulating things as well. When my dad passed away and my mom decided to move from a house into a very small cabin ~ seeing her part with many years of things really caused me to think about things like this.

    I hope your weekend is blessed!
    Sharon

  4. Hi Elizabeth ~

    You’re right ~ I think the older I get, the more I realize how little I really need ~ and accumulating stuff just doesn’t have the same meaning.

    Sweet blessings!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

