Homemade ice cream ~ L’Abri style

homemade ice cream 014

One of my favorite books is L’ABRI by Edith Schaeffer.  It was probably one of the first books that I read after becoming a Christian and has had a lasting impact on my life.  In the book Edith shares a sample menu on one page that’s dated August 11, 1968 ~ 41 years ago!  Included in the menu is a recipe for ice cream!  We had made it a number of years ago and just recently my husband had been mentioning it again.  So the other day when we were out ~ we picked up some heavy cream and he made us some homemade ice cream!  Such a wonderful treat for the summertime ~ only I think our summer is quickly fading away here leaving us with days that are starting to have a little bit of that fall feeling!

I hope you are enjoying days filled with sweet and simple pleasures!

6 thoughts on “Homemade ice cream ~ L’Abri style

  1. I wanted to call to you and say.’yes! my favourite book too!’ I think my copy is over 30 years old and I can still gain so much wisdom from her writings.

  2. I just bought “The hidden art of homemaking” by Edith Shaeffer, on amazon. Can’t wait til it comes. Your ice cream looks wonderful! 🙂

  3. Hi Elizabeth ~

    I am so glad that we got the book out to make the ice cream because I’ve decided to read it again! I have just started and have been encouraged already! It really is a favorite!

    And we enjoyed the ice cream too!

    Blessings on your weekend,
    Sharon

  4. Hi Tina ~

    We really enjoyed the ice cream! Edith Schaeffer is one of my favorite authors ~ I hope you enjoy the Hidden Art of Homemaking when it arrives!

    Blessings to you & Hugs,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

