♥ Aprons ♥

apron 016I love the look of aprons but I have to admit that I have only recently started wearing one more regularly when I am working in the kitchen.  It’s hard to believe I have been a full-time homemaker for 27 years and I am just beginning to see the benefits!

I love how it keeps my clothes clean when I’m cooking or baking ~ I must be messy in the kitchen! 🙂

But the thing that really surprised me was how much more industrious and set upon my homemaking I feel when I have my apron on! Does anyone else find this to be true?

Now I have decided that I need to find a couple more aprons for working around my home ~ one for cleaning ~ and one for when I’m working out in the garden!  Just think how efficient and productive this might end up being!

So how about you ~ do you wear an apron when working in the kitchen, cleaning, or when you’re out in the garden?

It’s the beginning of a brand new week again already ~ I hope it is a blessed one for you!

23 thoughts on “♥ Aprons ♥

  1. Good Morning Sharon ~

    I love your post! I love aprons…they remind me so much of my grandma! She always wore an apron. I have several aprons that hang over a chair in my kitchen…but I have to admit that I forget to put one on when I am working around my home or in my garden. It also brings to mind…the pretty straw hat that I have displayed at the top of my pantry…it seems that I forget to wear it when I am going out to my “little garden.” My grandma also always wore her straw hat when she was tending her chickens, hanging out her laundry or working in her yard and garden. ~*~ Such special memories! ~*~

    Hugs & Blessings
    Teri

  2. I started wearing an apron early in my marriage after I ruined some garments while cooking. Now that I am in the habit, I find that I am also more industrious when wearing one. I recently figured out that I unconsciously hold back from doing *any* kind of housework if I haven’t put on an apron. Yes, I started wearing one in the garden as well. Aprons definitely save on laundry!

  3. I love them too…and yours in the picture is so pretty….
    I used to wear them all the time..and plan to once again…just felt more *homemakey*…..and some are just soooo easy to make..don’t you think?
    Enjoy our sunshine..I hear we have a storm coming…

  4. Hi Sharon,
    I love your picture. The apron is so pretty, and so is your lace curtain. I don’t wear aprons, and never have. Though I think they are very practical. I am thinking of starting because I have ruined several tops this summer while cooking, and need to wear something to protect my clothes. Where would be a good place to buy an apron?

  5. I’ve always thought aprons were romantic. When I had Thursday morning pancake feeds at school a few years ago, I wore one of my mother-in-law’s old aprons. I think I’ll buy one, because I don’t feel like making one. Great post!

  6. I just started wearing aprons the past few years. I love them and it makes me wonder why I never did it before. I end up with everything down the front of me!

  7. I love apron so much that 2 years ago I started a web site selling them. I love wearing aprons and had a hard time finding ones I liked that were not too costly. When you have a minute, please take a look at my “apron collection” and let me know what you think? http:www.ethoughtfulthings.com

  8. I love the pale yellow apron covered in teapots!!

    I have been wearing aprons ever since I got married, going on 30 years ago … when I do neglect putting one on, you can be sure I’ll either *wear* something from what I’m making or if I’m baking, forget and wipe my floury hands on the front of whatever I’m wearing :o)

    Blessings!

  9. Hi Teri ~

    I loved all your homey thoughts! A straw hat would be nice for working out in the garden. I have thought about looking for a basket to take out to gather flowers in the garden ~ I guess I should have a straw hat and garden apron to go with it! 🙂

    Hugs & Blessings,
    Sharon

  10. Hi Gretchen ~

    I can see that an apron would be beneficial to me not only for cooking ~ but for the rest of my housework as well. A little extra motivation for cleaning and gardening is a good thing! I think it’s just like you mentioned!

    I hope you are having a blessed week!
    Sharon

  11. Hi Deby ~

    Yes, I think wearing an apron does make me feel much more *homemakey* and I love it!

    The rains have come here now ~ we had our first fire in the woodstove today. But haven’t we been so blessed to have enjoyed such a lovely summer and early fall weather as well ~ so many sunshiny days!

    I hope you are doing well and taking it easy!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  12. Hi Susan ~

    Thank you! I started noticing some stains too on some clothes and thought that it might be a good idea to start wearing my apron! Now I love it! You might try checking at a kitchen shop for an apron and also with the holidays just around the corner ~ you might be able to find one at a craft fair ~ also check online too!

    Have a blessed day!
    Sharon

  13. Hi Pom Pom ~

    I hope you can find an apron too! I am sure enjoying mine! It is saving my clothes and I love the industriousness I feel when wearing it!!

    Sweet blessings to you,
    Sharon

  14. Hi Terri ~

    I have sure enjoyed all of the comments! That is how I feel exactly ~ why didn’t I start wearing it sooner! No more stains on my clothes ~ yeah!!

    May the Lord bless you!
    Sharon

  15. Hi Maggie ~

    Welcome to my blog!

    It looks like you have a variety of aprons on your website ~ and quite a number of aprons on sale ~ very nice!!

    I hope your business is doing well!!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  16. Hi Dallas ~

    I really liked the teapot theme of this apron, but yellow is a color that doesn’t really look the best on me which is why I think I didn’t wear it much after I bought it! But since I’ve been wearing it ~ I love how practical it is and how much more industrious it makes me feel so it doesn’t seem to matter anymore! I wish I had started sooner!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  17. Hello Sharon, I liked you post on the humble apron. Myself and both my homeschooled daughters wear aprons all the time. None of our dresses have pockets so an apron is so usefull. We prefer a full apron (sometimes called a pinafore), or the Edwardian style apron.
    Our style of dress is very conservitive, see link
    http://www.plainlydressed.com
    Like you we have an assortment of aprons for different jobs around the house. From a light ,what you might call hostess apron to a heavy calico aprons for yard work. There is something about tying on an apron that says, “hello day, I am ready for work”.

    Blessings,
    Grace.

  18. Hi Grace ~

    Thanks so much for visiting and leaving a sweet comment! And thank you also for sharing the link with me!

    It is nice to have a variety of aprons ~ they really do help you feel ready to work! I love that! 🙂

    Sweet blessings to you,
    Sharon

  19. Hi Sharon,
    I stumbled on to your blog, so I thought I would give you my thoughts on aprons. Lke most of your responses I also wear an apron daily, but I wear mine as a uniform. I work as a maid and have my uniform supplied. I wear a, what you might call, traditional uniform. Below the knee dress and full length apron. For me, an apron says who I am and what I do , much like a housewifes’ apron.

  20. Hi all of you,
    Both my wife and I wear bib aprons with pockets. We never did, but after some expensive dry cleaning we are now wearing them on a daly bases. They motivate us in doing our chores, keep us clean and allow us to wipe our hands on the skirt of our aprons. They are a blessing
    Blessings to all of you, Bob

  21. Hi Bob ~

    Thanks for visiting and sharing! I think aprons are so handy too and I have found they really do motivate me! Now if only I could get into the habit of wearing one daily like you and your wife!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  22. Hi Sharon,
    Thank you for your kind response.Aprons are fun to wear and are so quick to put on and so easy to clean. Between the two of us, we have about 10 aprons we enjoy to wear on a daily bases. We have a few friends,who never like to wear them and feel embarrassed wearing them. Even,when we have guest we wear ours with pride. Please Sharon try to get in the babit wearing one! You get a lot more done
    in the house.
    Blessings to you, Bob

Leave a Reply

