My Christmas gift tags

I have had fun making some Christmas gift tags this year.  I had seen some fabric ornaments online and I decided to try and make some gift tags in a similar style.  I used fabric or felt on the front, and then I used pieces of  brown grocery bag to put on the back so I could stamp To and From on it.

It turned out to be a great handwork project to do in the evening!

My first Christmas present is wrapped!  This one is for my husband ~ I made this tag for him out of a piece of material that had once been one of his favorite flannel shirts.  Yay for recycling!!  I just used bits and pieces of things I already had on hand for these tags ~ the only thing I purchased was a new skein of embroidery floss!

Now we just need a Christmas tree to put the gift under!

Blessings to you this week!

22 thoughts on “My Christmas gift tags

  1. Hi Sharon ~

    Your Christmas gift tags are absolutely adorable! Thank you so much for sharing! You have such nice ideas that you always share!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  2. How thoughtful for your husbands gift. The ornaments are sooooo cute. Don’t you just love doing all the fun things getting ready for Christmas? I am so thankful to the Lord that he has allowed me to work with my hands.
    Thank you for showing us your work. It encouraged me to see a lady loving her husband and putting him first.
    Sweet!
    Blessings, Linda

  3. Oh I LOVE these! What a brilliant idea Sharon, and so beautiful!! If I get the chance after all my Christmas knitting is done, I would love to make some! 🙂

  4. I LOVE these…they came out so so cute..I have not mastered the blanket stitch edging..come out to my neck of the RAINY woods and teach me…
    deby

  5. Hi Sharon,
    Your gift tags are beautiful! You did a wonderful job with them. They will make all your gifts look so special. Thank you for sharing them. Have a lovely day!

  6. Those tags are great – yay for recycling indeed!

    Thanks for popping over to my blog and leaving your kind comment. Are you interested in our Pause for Advent thing? You will find the information on my sidebar.

  7. Oh Sharon, these handmade tags are SO adorable and will make each and every gift they adorn, unique and so special :o)

    As another visitor has already said, “You always have such wonderful, craft ideas!!!”

    Blessings on your week!

  8. Hi Terri ~

    I just cut out the front piece and then used the same pattern to cut a piece of brown paper. It worked well for me to just hold them together as I did the blanket stitch around the outside. It had been awhile since I had done the blanket stitch and my first ones definitely had a little bit of a primitive look to them! 🙂 I started out doing fabric ones and adding a thin piece of batting inside but it really was unnecessary and made it a little more cumbersome. Then I tried some in felt and I found it to be easier to work with than the ones I did in fabric. They were fun to make!

    Blessings to you!
    Sharon

  9. Hi Linda ~

    Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement!! It is so fun to be busy with our hands making things for our loved ones. What a joyous season this is ~ I do look forward to getting ready for Christmas!

    Sweet blessings on your day!
    Sharon

  10. Thanks, Deby! It is so nice to see you! It took me a bit to get the hang of doing the blanket stitch again. I looked it up online and watched a little video which helped. How fun it would be to get together and work on some stitching! It has been quite rainy in my part of the woods too! Perfect inside days! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  11. Hi Floss ~

    I was happy to be able to make use of things I had on hand to do these tags. They were fun to make!

    I will check out the Pause for Advent on your blog ~ thank you!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  12. Hi Dallas ~

    Oh, thank you so much for your sweet encouragement! I love making my gift tags each year and it was fun to try something a little different. I like to do my wrapping in a simple homespun style and I think these will work fine.

    Thanks for being a blessing to me!
    Sharon

  13. I hope you can make some too, Elizabeth! They were fun to make! I just saw some little stockings for sale in an advertisement to hold a place setting of silverware and I thought they would be cute to decorate my Christmas table, so I think I am going to use the stocking pattern to try and make some of those using felt on both sides.
    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

